We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but nosy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap but nosy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You know going in that LaQuinta is a budget hotel, and my room was clean, the location convenient and seemingly safe, and the hotel staff very pleasant. The room was kind of depressing, though: bad lighting, soft mattress, lousy water pressure, shampoo the only amenity, and a heating/cooling system that ran in noisy cycles of off or full-blast. But it was the noise outside my room that got to me, and after two sleepless nights I moved to a different hotel. In my room on the second floor, I got all the street noise--including construction and dumpster-removal, plus the sounds of a 24-hour city. The hotel itself was also noisy, because I was next to the service elevator and on a floor that was mostly devoted to housekeeping and the physical plant, with doors opening and closing all night. That also meant the floor itself was a mess. I didn't go to NO to stay in my room, but this hotel needs some work.

Room Tip: The higher floors may be less noisy. Avoid the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    261
    98
    34
    39
See reviews for
187
222
40
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olive Branch, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my first time staying in a LaQuinta and it is now on top of my list for pleasure/vacation hotel to use. I received a very warm welcome and wonderful room selection. The breakfast was wonderful and I will be returning to LaQuinta and particularly this New Orleans French Quarter location again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

OMG... I've been coming to New Orleans for the past 5 years and stayed at other hotels paying way more money. King rooms have a sofa. The hotel lobby was extremely clean and staff was friendly. I stayed in room 810 and the rooms are extremely large to be in New Orleans. OMG, the bathroom is nice and large. The beds are comfortable, don't forget the microwave and fridge. Couldn't believe this was a La Quinta Inn... Didn't eat breakfast but I did see the set up... Nothing fancy simple hotel breakfast, toast, muffins, bagels, boil eggs, cereal, jucie.. you get the picture..

Location is awesome, 2 blocks to Canal, 3 blocks to Harrah's. I will be back....

Room Tip: get a king size room if possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very well located at the periphery of the french quarter, walking distance of many very good restaurants and the river side. The property is very clean and the staff very nice, given us brochures of restaurants and things to do on our arrival. The room was clean, usual size (for 2 double beds), but the mattresses were very confortable. My bf has back problem so it is always on issue when we travel but he tolerated well these mattresses so this says a lot. The breakfast consisted of toasts, bagels, waffels, some fruits, and some muffins, which is enough but if u stay there for a long stay you will get bored by it. New Orleans is a fantastic city for history, architecture and food and staying at the La Quinta Inn allowed us to be confortable away from home to enjoy all there was to see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just off the central downtown Canal Street, this hotel offers a great location and a highly professional service. Staff were always very helpful and friendly. "Mist" shower in bathroom somewhat troublesome (it covers the bathroom floor in water). Otherwise, room was relatively spacious.
Finally, this is nothing to do with the hotel, but... book a shuttle to/from the airport *more than 24 hours in advance* in order to avoid high-ish taxi fares.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best hotel I have stayed at in a long time. It was clean, roomy, close by to attractions and safe. The staff was very kind and helpful. The beds were even better then my personal one T home... which is hard to beat! The room was spacious and updated. I will be back to this location as well as other La Quinta Inns in the future. Thank you for a great home away from home stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.