We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #68 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We decided at the last moment to spend MLK wekend as a girls getaway in New Orleans, so I was a little concerned about what kind of affordable hotel we would be able to get. This hotel was in a decent location and at a fairly good rate. It was clean, convenient, although not friendly, it was at least not filled with rude people. Nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    227
    77
    28
    31
See reviews for
168
195
33
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This was our second time staying at this LaQuinta; both times, we visited for New Years. The location is perfect, just 2 blocks from Canal Street and close to Bourbon Street. The only 1 thing we had an issue with was the air conditioner; it stated it was 68 degrees in the room, but we both felt it was more warm than that. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel room, and had already unpacked, so we didn't worry about it and just dealt with it.

But there were many bright sides to this hotel that will bring us back for a 3rd time this year. The location is perfect; and even better, they have a 'carport valet' that you can pull your car into. When we've stayed at other, cheaper hotels in New Orleans, but it gets very frustrating when you have to park your car in the middle of the street and stand by it so you don't get towed, while waiting for the valet to come move your car. At La Quinta, you have a driveway you can actually pull into for the valet. It is about $26/night, with in and out privileges, but well worth it. If you call 5 minutes ahead, they will have your car waiting for you downstairs.

In addition, the breakfast is pretty good, and the hotel is very clean. We have never brought a pet here, but we saw plenty of pets; and for a hotel that allows pets, La Quinta was very clean and pristine. I never would have guessed they allowed pets!

The beds and pillows are very comfortable, and we love the flat screens on the walls. We had a great view from the 14th floor, facing Harrah's and the bridge. We also needed directions several times, and the front desk associates were very helpful and took the time to ensure we understood the directions so wouldn't get lost.

I can't say enough good things about this La Quinta location. It's a great value, great location, and an overall fantastic experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed here during the french quarter festival in April 2011, while the hotel is the nicest La Quinta i have stayed in the service was remarkably bad. Our hotel room was robbed while we sleeping. When I reported it the GM (probably not the GM but a suit) had no idea how to help me or what to do. Then tried yo b.s. me. What he did do was blame myself and my girlfriend for the robbery. My shorts (with all my money, phone, wallet, etc) were stolen and he actually said, " It wouldn't be the first time someone lost there shorts in New Orleans. We had two bags and a pair of shorts stolen, we had no money and were in New Orleans. This manager and his staff made the worst impression and I will never stay at any La Quinta again. Despite the fact that the night before in Kenner, LA we had the best stay and had decided to choose La Quinta whenever we could. That feeling lasted 24 hours. Luckily, we had a jar of quarters and since the staff was zero help and accusatory and the police never came, we made it all the way to Sanibel, Fl on a jar of quarters. They had an opportunity to make us life long La Quinta stayers or not. We're not.

Room Tip: *Watch yourself in New Orleans, its all predators. Go to vegas instead,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

first they triple the price of the rooms on some nights, then they don't vacuum, then there is no parking but valet at $30+ per day (not noted on website), then the bedbugs which they deny until after finally five days the general manager responds to calls, he did comp two of the cheap days at least. Stay away!

Room Tip: stay they if noise in the halls doesn't bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November due to a conference at the Sheraton which was just a block away. The prices were incredibly cheap and we did appreciate the fact that there was no charge for bringing our dog. In fact, we saw quite a few dogs while we were there. However, like other reviewers have noted, there isn't any grass really nearby. It is a good 2 block walk if you have a dog like mine that needs grass to do her business.

Anyhow...we stayed on the top floor in the 2 room suite. The room was incredibly spacious and we largely avoided the noise from the street by being up so high. The room through was far less clean than I like. There were gobs of dust piled on the air unit and there were stains on the couch and the such. However, if you are looking for a cheap getaway, this is your place. It's the ability to stay near Bourbon without the smell or hassle. Also...there's a GREAT wine/tapas bar just a few doors down.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor...much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Located within very close walking distance of Bourbon Street and all the fun. Rooms are very large, modern, and CLEAN. Very nice hotel, above your typical La Quinta.

Room Tip: We traveled with children and had a king room with sofa sleeper. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The best thing about the laquinta inn and suites in the French quarter is definitely the location. It is close enough to bourbon street to walk easily there but far enough away to be able to sleep out of the noise.
When we first checked in we were given a room on the second floor. When we looked out the window there was no view whatsoever and in fact it looked out onto a service courtyard with high walls. There were two problems with this, first of all no natural light and second of all there appeared to be seats out there for smokers that looked right into our room. I went downstairs and asked to have the room changed and was told there was none available at present but there would be in the morning. After spending the night in the room we were really wanting to change as we realized it was a disabled room and therefore the shower was open and let water all over the bathroom despite the curtain and everything in the room including the hanging bar in the closet was lower and therefore we could not effectively hang full length garments.

In the morning my husband asked about the room change and was told it was not possible as they were short staffed and couldn't clean the extra room! We weren't happy with this response so asked a third time later in the day and we were assisted by a very helpful woman who asked 'did you request a disabled room?' She immediately a moved us to another room on the 8th floor. This room had a better outlook from the window and the bathroom had a shower in a bath which prevented the water going over the floor.

The rest of our stay was great. The breakfast was adequate for our needs and the wifi was fast.

Although the service wasn't excellent I would definitely recommend the hotel for its modernity, prices and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and be aware that some floors are pet friendly so you may be greete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Address: 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites New Orleans French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
La Quinta New Orleans
New Orleans La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.