We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park View Guest House
7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I have stayed at many hotels, B&B's and guesthouses in New Orleans. This particular location is fantastic to get a realistic perspective of NOLA living. It is located right on the streetcar line on St. Charles Avenue in the Uptown region on Audobon Park.

The house itself has been recently renovated and still requires a little work but nothing to complain about. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully outfitted with antique beds and high ceilings. The linens were excellent.

We never made it to breakfast.. we are in New Orleans afterall, but the staff was always courteous, gracious and always willing to help you out.

My inlaws also stayed in another room and loved their experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
25
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The Park View transports you back in time when you step into this beautiful house. The location is convenient to Tulane and convenient to the St. Charles Streetcar which can take you right downtown. The property is quiet even though it is on St. Charles. Our room on the third floor was spacious and had a large bath. We did not eat breakfast there, but we did enjoy some afternoon wine and cookies. I recommend this hotel highly. We travel often to NOLA since we have a daughter that lives there. We stayed in a tiny room at Le Pavillon during our last trip and this property was much better. It was so nice to relax on the beautiful porch overlooking Audubon Park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I stayed in the Parkview Guesthouse while on a business trip to New Orleans in January. I enjoyed this stay so much my wife and I invited two other couples for a weekend in March.

The facility has a warm friendly atmosphere tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques and that personal touch from all employees. The location is wonderful with a street car stop in front of the hotel, very convenient. (The street car was convenient and a pleasant experience, therefore we did not have to travel in our car to downtown New Orleans.)

Our room was decorated with beautiful antiques and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with a large variety of food, and the breakfast room overlooked Audubon Park.

The personnel was very friendly and helpful in every way. Checking in and out was very easy and quickly. A nice touch was the availability of New Orleans coffee, cookies in the evening, and other special amenities available which made our stay wonderful.

I would recommend the Parkview Guest House to each and every person wanting to stay in the New Orleans area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

I had friends in town for a wedding this past week end who were staying at the Park View Guest House. They raved about it and said there was a flat screen tv in every bedroom, the beds were not only beautiful but comfortable and the antique in the Public Rooms were magnificent. They also added that there were extra unexpected amenities such as complimentary wine, sherry, popcorn and cookies in the afternoon.The quiet location of the Guest House on Historic St. Charles Ave and Audubon Park was the" perfect get away" after the busy wedding celebration activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The location is the main thing going for it. It's just caddy-corner from the main entrance to Tulane. Stayed here because my son did an overnight visit with a student at Tulane, and it was the most convienient for the student to meet us since he doesn't have a car. The only other thing going for it is that it was nice sitting on the porch and taking in the scenery. If you can't deal with noise, such as a window unit A/C and street noise from St. Charles St., don't stay here. The bathroom was smaller than those on a cruise ship and the toilet had to be filled manually from the sink. The TV in the room was only a 9" and was across the room and couldn't be seen. The breakfast was very basic for being touted as a Bed & BREAKFAST. The property was clean and the staff was friendly. Bottom line; for the price, not even close to getting your money's worth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We were here for a college visit and staying @ Park View Guest House was our highlight. The complimentary sherry & wine was an added touch, as well as the freshly baked cookies. Just sitting in the parlor, imagining life in this house in the 1880's was surreal. Our room was large, overlooking the park, and the beds were amazing ... we only wished we could have stayed longer. This B&B is decorated beautifully with exquisite taste and a genuine personal touch. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

We wanted the charm of New Orleans away from the noise and bustle of the French Quarter, and that's just what we got! The location on the trolley line was perfect to get anyplace we wanted to go. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And best of all, the room was beautiful, filled with lovely antiques with a large balcony facing St. Charles Ave. As an unexpected bonus, we had a separate TV room. If I return to New Orleans, I will definitely stay at the Park View Guest House again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Guest House

Address: 7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park View Guest House to your Saves list