We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house, right across from Tulane University” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park View Guest House
7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house, right across from Tulane University”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Park View was a lovely guest house, directly across St. Charles from Tulane and next to Audubon Park. The park is very large, with a zoo at the back, and lots of birds. There is a trolley stop right across the street and getting in to downtown New Orleans was easy. THe staff was helpful, and the room was quite large and comfortable. Breakfasts varied everyday and were also quite good. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    16
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
25
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ncbeachlover5
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We held our first ever family reunion at the Park View the first weekend in November. It was a great choice for all of our families! There were a wide selection of rooms to choose from that met everyone's needs. The breakfast in the morning was great and the happy hour in the afternoon was a treat. You truly felt like you were staying in someone's home. The rooms were clean and quiet. The bathrooms had all of the expected necessities.The location on St. Charles Ave is unbeatable, directly next to Audobon Park and across from the street car line. Tulane University of was across the street and a great place to walk through in the morning. We will definitely stay there again during our next visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I arrived at the park view after a particularly difficult travel day to nice glass of wine in the parlor, my lovely daughter who walked across the street from Tulane and a cosy room tucked in the eves of the house on the third floor. The location on the st Charles street car line makes downtown very convenient and a charming ride, there is ample on street parking, walks in the morning in Audubon Park are amazing (keep walking at the end of the park to the right of the Zoo entrance to reach an overlook of the Mississippi.) This is the closest accommodation to Tulane so you will likely breakfast with interesting speakers visiting the university. Breakfast is amazing.

Room Tip: Third floor front rooms, one has a balcony and king size bed, the other, the cheapest in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is our 5th visit to the Park View Guest House. Each time we feel the same...very nice and clean, wonderful breakfast, helpful staff, great location near Tulane and Loyola Universities, and so accommodating. The staff is friendly and professional and the food is always available...snacks...cookies...lemonade...candy...popcorn...chips...sodas...all afternoon and evening...We will always stay at the Park View if they have room. That is our only complaint...sometimes the Guest House is full. We wish it were more of a secret so we could always get it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our extended family and friends gathered at Park View Guest House in October, 2013 for my daughter's wedding at Audubon Zoo. The diversity of our mob offered quite a challenge to an inn. We brought babies, children, one teenager, several revelers, several silence lovers, outdoorsmen, a gourmet club, our disabled grandma, wedding paraphernalia, some food allergies and two people who weren't feeling well.

The Park View Guest House made everyone happy! The location is ideal. The furnishings and amenities are spectacular. The staff is sooooo nice. Various groups of us gathered in the dining room and on the wonderful outside porch that faces St. Charles Avenue to visit. When we wanted privacy, we escaped to the beautifully furnished rooms and balconies that overlook Audubon Park. The staff offered advice and historical information about New Orleans. The Audubon Park right next door is like a big, big backyard. (The zoo wedding, by the way, was great too.)

The Park View Guest House doesn't necessarily want to gain fame as a wedding party hotel. I'm just saying-- It must be good, if it could wow everyone in our diverse group.

Room Tip: A first floor room was perfect for our disabled grandma. She loved the convenience and elegance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Park View Guest House far exceeded my expectations for a most comfortable 4 day stay. The beauty of the location on historic St. Charles Street offered a relaxing and peaceful setting, overlooking the Audubon Park. From the moment our party arrived, we felt immediately welcomed with the grand entrance and kind staff. The proprietor, Liz, was onsite most of our stay and she was an amazing woman of hospitality. The beds were amazingly comfortable and I slept like a baby every night I was there! One of the highlights of the stay was the delicious breakfasts! From a very special Almond Croissant Casserole, Shrimp and Grits to Eggs Benedict on Sunday, the breakfasts were homemade crazy good!! I would book this "inn" again and hope to be back within the year. Overall, my stay in New Orleans was great fun and the Park View Guest House made the trip extra special!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Park View Guest House is a wonderful place and I hope to return soon. The Park View is beautifully decorated with antiques, including an interesting collection of antique clocks. My second floor room had a fabulous view of Audubon Park, an updated bathroom, a flat screen TV, and lovely linens and furnishings. The breakfast was delicious and definitely exceeded expectations. In the afternoon and evening there were complimentary snacks, wine, and soft drinks available. The staff was very accommodating and made fantastic recommendations for meals and activities. I loved the location as it is in a beautiful area of town, just steps away from Audubon Park, Tulane and Loyola. The Park View is the epitome of New Orleans charm and hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Guest House

Address: 7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park View Guest House to your Saves list