We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on St. Charles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park View Guest House
Save
You added Park View Guest House to your Saves list
7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Living on St. Charles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a beautiful place. Not only are the accommodations beautiful but they are homey and comfortable. Each room has its own charm and sitting out on the porch looking out over the park and st. Charles is wonderful. The breakfast is good with a great variety.

Rooms are clean and very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
28
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ridge, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located across street from Tulane University and next to Audobon Park, this is a charming 19th century hotel with amazing service and a bountiful free breakfast with hot food, cereals, pastries, yogurts. Rooms are clean and have beautiful views of the park, staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance (longish walk) to St. Charles streetcar that takes you to French Quarter in about 20 minutes. Would not stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This guest house was awesome! The "new lady" that assisted us was kind, helpful, and informative. The place was convenient, clean, spacious and beautiful. The free goodies of snacks, drinks, alcohol, breakfast and parking was a great bonus! We'll stay here every time we visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights while visiting Tulane. It is the only inn within walking distance of Tulane & Loyola, and sits right on St Charles next to Audobon Park. The service and location were excellent, the breakfast (included) was good as well. Parking is available on the side street (Walnut). It is quite a hike up to the 2nd floor because of the tall ceilings, and even more so to the 3rd floor, since the 2nd floor has the tallest 2nd floor ceilings I have ever seen. We stayed 2 nights in room 10 on the 2nd floor, and one night in room 21 on the 3rd floor. The second floor room was the most charming room I think I've ever stayed in, beautifully decorated and overlooking the park. The 3rd floor room was fine, but a letdown after rm. 10... smaller and less charm. But still fine, and a great stay. Would definitely return, a perfect location and a beautiful place. Complimentary wine, sherry & homemade lemonade each afternoon a treat as we sat on the porch watching activity on St Charles!

Room Tip: stay on the 2nd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennings, La.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I hesitate to write this review. It is hard enough getting reservations without encouraging others to partake of this charming hotel. Our youngest daughter is in school in New Orleans and we visit quite often. A couple of years ago a friend told me about this hotel. We have not stayed anywhere else since then. We were lucky enough on our first stay to get a room that we have fallen in love with. We request it ever time we go and are usually able to get it.( I won't reveal the number for selfish reasons). I kid with the staff that this is our room and we just let them use it when we aren't in residence. In a city full of great hotels, Park View stands out. I will never stay anywhere else as long as there is a bed available here.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms. No elevator. Third floor rooms can be a little exhausting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginian
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been staying at the Park View for years, through hurricanes, renovations, graduations and weddings. It is our favorite pace to stay in New Orleans. Right next to Audubon Park, close to Tulane and Loyola, the location is ideal for exploring all of the city. The hotel itself has considerable charm and character. It has been up scaled in recent years and I sort of miss the 'genteel shabby chic' of days of yore, but the improvements in bathrooms, beds and breakfast have been wonderful. The staff is friendly, helpful and welcoming, the breakfasts particularly sumptuous and plentiful and they are gracious and generous with the late-risers. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: While of view of the park and/or St. Charles is nice the back rooms are wonderfully quiet. Great sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The house is on avenue St Charles, in the garden district. It overlooks the nice park Audubon and the old XIX c tram. The rooms are small, but comfortable. People at front desk are charming and very helpful. There is a good breakfast in the morning and afree flow of drinks and snacks during the day. Overall, a very good choice for discovering the beautiful garden district of New Orleans.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Guest House

Address: 7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.