We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Stay in an historical home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park View Guest House
Save
You added Park View Guest House to your Saves list
7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coppell, Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Stay in an historical home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

What a wonderful experience in Romantic New Orleans. Could not have been more pleased with the Park View Guest House. We will return here many, many times in the future. The quiet B & B is situated right next to Audubon Park on the beautiful St Charles Ave. The Oak lined streets and Majestic Mansions were a site to behold.

Stepping into the Park View Guest House bed & breakfast was like stepping back in time. What a truly beautiful, historical home. Loved the vintage pieces & decor. We stayed in room E, which was located on the first floor with a queen bed. The ceilings were 14 feet tall and the ornate wooded mansion bed had to have been 12 feet tall. The Bed was rather comfortable and the sheets were of good quality and were very soft to the touch. The ensuite bath had white beadboard and small black & white octagon tiles on the floor. Bathroom was a good size and came eqipped with a jetted tub.

The Hospitality and Service at the Park View Guest House was amazing. We married that weekend and the staff & management were exceptionally accomodating & friendly to me & my husband. We will return here for our anniversary.

What would a B & B be with out a breakfast review. We had three different mornings to enjoy the food and it was far better than any continental breakfast you are served at a Hotel. The food varied slightly daily, they had some of the basics: Bagels w. dream cheese & danishes, assorted cereals & little cinnamon rolls. But there was also Biscuits & gravy, grits, bacon, sausage, boiled eggs, croissants with jam, Fresh berries and even a spinach egg & cheese Quiche. YUM! I would reccommend this wonderful Bed & breakfast to anyone. It was a truly a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower level have the more ornate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    18
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
30
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendora
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Beautiful southern home with very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfasts are especially good, not just your muffins and coffee. It's located next to a Audubon Park and across the street from Tulane and Loyola Universities, with the trolley in front that takes you uptown or downtown New Orleans. Love that everything is so convenient. Picture perfect neighborhood!

Room Tip: All stairs, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

All around absolutely amazing. The staff is so great! The stay feels like a great aunts house... warm cookies at night wine any time of the day, warm breakfast and it feels like they WANT you here not just another hotel business.. Beautiful furniture and decorations. Clean and beautiful roms. Great but simple breakfast. Staff is great. Pretty much centrally located to either french quarter or Uptown attractions. The trolly out the front door will get you anywhere for cheap... overall peaceful and quiet. Wonderful old time feeling. Owners are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have a very pleasant stay at the Park View Guest House In New Orleans. The large home with about 20 rooms has a pleasant staff and comfortable common areas and rooms but like New Orleans a little worn in some spots. It is location in the Garden District on St. Charles Avenue right next to Audubon Park and adjacent to Tulane and Loyola New Orleans and near some of New Orleans Synagogues and JCC. A street car to the French Quarter stops almost at the front door.

There are some reserved parking spaces on the side of the house but it works even better for those without a car to worry about.

For the price, we thought the accommodations were fine and would use the property again but it is not a top quality B&B.

Some pluses are free wine, cold drinks and cookies for guests and very nice wrap around porches.

Room Tip: Believe rooms on upper floors may be quieter if you can handle the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Park view has so many wonderful attributes. The B&B is nestled among the most pristine area of new orleans and right next door to audobon park. If you love to run and are looking for a quiet upscale place to stay in new orleans with easy access to the streetcar, then stay here. I stayed in room 5 and absolutely loved the cozy bed and linens. The breakfast was wonderful and wine is available every afternoon. I will definitely come back, but after the wifi is improved. If you don't need wifi, then all is great! Although, the library seemed to have the best wifi access in the house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Booked 3 rooms several months early with Brian, who was great help in answering all my questions. Easter weekend 2012 we arrived (all 6 of us) . The rooms were very clean, well appointed with very nice antiques, as was the entire hotel. No cheap Knock-offs here- very nice decor. The bathrooms were updated but still had an antique feel. Fresh paint most everywhere. The staff was very helpful. Hotel style air conditioners instead of el-cheapo window units.The breakfast both days we were there was exceptional. Plenty to eat (even if you get there closer to the end of their serving times) Wide selection of food also. A little something for everyone. The front porch was nice to just chill out and watch the people and the trollies go by. The trolly goes by regularly and there is a stop just steps away from the hotel. You can use this cheap transportation and look at all the beautiful homes as you make your way down to the "Quarter". Audubon Park is next door, so you have a place to quietly walk among Live Oaks with Spanish moss, exercise or take pics of ducks, squirrels etc. in the pond. This place made us feel very "at home"!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed two nights here and had very different impressions. The room we had the first night was beautiful and comfortable and we absolutely loved it. The house itself is gorgeous with antique furniture and a charming Antebellum ambiance. We had to change rooms the second night and the second room was totally different. There was no ceiling fan so we either froze or sweated depending on whether the AC was on. Worst of all, the bed squeaked horribly with the slightest movement, so nobody in the room got any sleep. We left the next day feeling rotten as a result. A guest experience will either be 5 stars or 1 star depending on which room you get.

Room Tip: It would be better to sleep outside than to stay in Room 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Guest House

Address: 7004 St Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Park View Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.