We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Included!
Ranked #69 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Clean ,Relaxing, Romantic, Great location. Priced fairly except $40/ Night for parking is ridiculous< despite being the going rate. Room service and restaurant food were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    948
    479
    195
    96
See reviews for
339
588
127
1,158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel was most helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean, and the location on the river front is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed here for three nights during the Mardi Gras weekend leading up to Mardi Gras day. Hotel was very busy with parade participants, families, and other revelers. THis did not present any problems for the two of us - we enjoyed seeing so many people in festive Mardi Gras attire.

Our room was in one of the low-rise buildings, not the central high-rise tower. The room was quite a walk from the lobby, but the view was worth the walk. We directly faced the river. I noticed that other rooms may have had less desireable views of courtyards or other buildings, so be aware.

Room seemed a bit larger than the industry-standard room size. Bathroom size was also was good. Of note, the bath tub had been removed and replaced by a nice, glass-enclosed shower stall. This worked well for us, but if you like to take a bath you should contact the hotel to see if any rooms still have a bath tub.

As usual for these reviews, the photos placed by Tripadvisor users are more accurate and useful than the professional photos. In fact, I think the Expedia photos are out of date - the hotel seems to have been redecorated since those photes were taken.

Location is good, but for our needs and preferences, the location of the Marriott, Sheraton etc. up Canal St. is just a little bit better. The Canal St. location straddles the French Quarter and the Warehouse District, whereas the Hilton is more in the Riverfront/Warehouse district., and a bit farther from the Quarter. But, if you value actual river views, the Hilton has the better location, just be sure to ask for a riverview room.

We used the Hilton only as a place to sleep; we did not use any of the services at the Hilton, so I cannot comment on the food & beverage outlets, the concierge, the business center, pool, parking, etc.

miscellaneous information: there is a Chase bank ATM near the front desk and guests can check-in for flights and print out boarding passes for free at the bell stand kiosks.
This hotel fits my definition of 4*, and I would consider staying here again as a leisure traveler if the price is "right".

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I had stayed at this Hilton property on many occasions in the past but it had always not been up to par. I think they finally got it right. Very quick check in. I was recognized immediately as a Hilton Diamond Member. Room was updated with comfortable bedding. All areas of the hotel were very clean. Every staff member we had contact with was helpful and friendly. This hotel is connected to the Riverwalk which has come back to life since I was there last year. If you like to gamble you are located right across the street from the only casino downtown "Harrah's" Easy five block walk down to Bourbon, Hopefully next time I stay things will be just as nice

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I stayed here for three nights with my husband who was attending a conference. The best thing about the hotel is that the beds are extremely comfortable.

For a conference/business-oriented hotel, they should be ashamed. Cell phone service was very spotty -- people had trouble reaching each other to arrange to meet! The internet service is not wireless and costs over $15 a day. It also dropped connections a couple of times on us. I wanted to print out some restaurant recommendations a friend sent me -- the instructions in the room said go to the business center and hook up to the printer. However, in the business center there, were are no instructions on how to do this. I had to go to the front desk, e-mail the document to the personal e-mail of the woman behind the desk, who then printed it for me.

There was no yellow pages in the room, so my husband asked the concierge desk to look at the yellow pages -- he wasn't allowed take it to a chair to look through in comfort, but had to stand at the desk. When I went to the "concierge" desk , the only thing they were doing was booking people on Grayline tours.

There is a pool and hot tub -- but you have to walk through the convention center and there is no changing room or towels!

Our room on the 16th floor had a nice "realtor's" view -- if you stood by the window you could see the Mississippi river. The room was spacious, but noisy, being located by the clattering ice machine. The last night, some people checked into the adjoining room and you could hear their cell phones ring!

We had a marvelously spicy New Orleans style barbecue prawn appetizer. The other food my husband had at the conference was bland and small servings. However, the hotel is on the edge of the Arts/Warehouse district and you can walk to some good restaurants and bars nearby -- Ernst's is an old-style New Orleans bar, La Boca is Argentinian food and open late.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

the hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. The hotel was in a very good location close to shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend the Hilton River Side.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

An excellent choice of hotel for our business team. The amenities and location made our week long stay extremely comfortable. The hotel staff was courteous and eagerly shared information about local attactions and dining options. The hotel's accessibility and knowledgable staff were favorable to all of our travel needs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.