We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Save Saved
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% on Parking
Ranked #63 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wish I stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple days on a business trip and I wished I would have stayed longer. The property was beautiful, valet was a cinch, great service, great bar. As a HHonor member, I've tried out some other Hilton properties in the area and this is by far my favorite. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Intrigueace,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It means so much to us that you look forward to your next visit. I have shared your review with the team and everyone is most appreciative. Have a safe and fun summer season and we hope to see you again soon.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    869
    440
    176
    89
See reviews for
324
551
124
1,028
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Despite having a room across from the elevators, I slept well. My husband and I spent 1 night at this hotel. The room was very clean and the view of the Mississippi River was fantastic. This hotel was too large for me. There were people everywhere. If you are looking for a hotel that gives you an escape from being overcrowded at the French Quarter, this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
kfont,

Thank you for the great review. We hope to welcome you both back for another gtreat stay. All the best and have a safe and fun summer season.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have been to New Orleans at least 5 times and I've stayed in a different place everytime. This is by far my favorite place to stay. Upon arrival they were very kind and accomodating. They gave us a room with a dual view of the river and the city. They were so sweet to my 9 year old daughter and even sent her a package of sweets, coloring postcards, and a water bottle free of charge. The location is perfect for the aquarium. No other place in New Orleans compares to the Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
KGarey,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am happy to share your great comments with the team and it is nice to hear that your daughter enjoyed her time here too. We appreciate you choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a huge property with several towers of rooms. The large size lends itself well to its location right next to the Convention Center.

Stayed 5 nights in July in a double queen room overlooking the Mississippi River towards the bridge and cruise ship terminal. It was fun to watch the cruise ships come in and out and lots of barge and steamboat traffic too! Room was clean, well equipped with a small fridge, excellent toiletries, coffee and tea. The beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows! Elevators at this hotel are excellent, they offer 5 for lower floors & 5 for upper floors out of the main entry building so very speedy service.

Location is just outside the French Quarter within very easy walking distance. Cable car stop right outside the hotel. Taxi cabs always available day & night. Connected to the Outlet Mall that offers decent shopping and a nice food court also. Easy walking to the Aquarium and you could almost literally walk right over to your ship if you are heading on a cruise! Excellent location.

This hotel also boasts a huge indoor court facility for squash & tennis. There is an extra charge to use the courts unless you hold a certain membership level with Hilton Honors. I visited one of the pools and it was nice, but very small and no shade.

Many dining choices inside the hotel also; Starbucks Coffee Shop, Dragos Oysters & Restaurant, Sports Bar and also a small market that is very overpriced.

I would not hesitate to stay again the property was well located and served our needs very well.

Room Tip: River view rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
momtravelswith3,

We appreciate you taking time to post such a positive review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels and I have shared your review with the team. Have a safe and fun summer and we hope to see you all again soon.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Mississippi River. It is close to the Riverwalk and great shopping. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. It was a great location to see all the fun parts of New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with view of the MIssissippi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Joyce M,

Your gracious comments are most appreciated and I have shared your kind words with the team .We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Have a wonderful summer season and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very nice hotel in a good location within walking distance to many attractions. It was great that the outlet mall was so close with several restaurants right there as well. Hotel staff was friendly and checking in and out was a quick process.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Michelle M.,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the service our team provided. Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we hope to see you again soon !

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed for a convention and loved being within walking distance of the French Quarter and Bourbon St! The Hotel is right next to the river and has a great riverwalk. The bus stop for the Hop on-Hop off bus tour was right across the street! We also were pleasantly surprised that there was a large outlet mall attached to the Hotel. The food in the Hotel restaurant, Drago's, is wonderful and couldn't believe the price of a whole lobster dinner was under $30.00! There is also a casino across the street. This is the best centralized hotel in New Orleans! We had a great time and would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river. The lights at night reflecting on the water make it very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Denise D,

Thank you so much for your great review. The team enjoyed having you here and we thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Hopefully we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Enjoy the balance of the summer season!


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.