We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-a-way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Included!
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Castleberry, United States
1 review
“Great get-a-way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great place to go, great accomodations and convenient location to Casino's, Riverwalk, and Bourbon Street is just a hop, skip, and a jump away. Taxi service is always available with rarely a need to wait.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
KristalS,


Thank you for the very nice review and it is good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully you can find some well deserved R&R time later this year to come back and enjoy New Orleans all over again. Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and we hope to see you again soon.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    986
    499
    204
    99
See reviews for
362
631
128
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a convention. Check in was smooth and the room was large and well appointed. Noise of the train at night and early morning was not as bad as expected. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the French quarter but you can take the street car. Casino is right out the front door. Had a nice view of the Mississippi River. Was on the executive level and the breakfast and evening appetizers were very good.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
kmc1021,

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it is the most important tool that we have to measure our successes. I have shared your comments with the team and everyone is most appreciative. We all look forward to that next opportunity when we can welcome you back once again.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Nice hotel from when you walk in and see the restaurants and shops to your room which is very clean and neat. Employees are dressed well and professional. Good place for families and business. Wireless was weak. Maybe it was just my room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
John P,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing us here in New Orleans. With Spring here there are many heritage festivals happening here downtown and we would certainly like to be your headquarters for the French Quarter Festival or the Jazz Festival. Whether parking or an accomoodation, let us be your Festival destination for 2014.


Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

overall experience was good. I arrived about 11:30am and was able to check in, was given a room facing the river which was great. The price for wifi is totally outrageous (12.95/day). one other issue I had was I came back late to the room one night and orderd pizza (didnt feel like room service). the pizza delivery guy called me stating I had to go down to the guest drop off area as the pizza delivery guys are not able to bring pizza to room. after walking around in french quarter, i was relaxing and was not pleased that I had to go down to pick up my pizza. other than these issues, hotel was good. if you are a light sleeper, as for a room AWAY from the railroad tracks.

Room Tip: if you dont want to be disturbed by the many trains that go by all night, ask for a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
rrl5199,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. We are happy to hear that you were able to check in as early as 12 noon. Our apologies for any miscommunication regarding HSIA and outside food deliveries. As a convention tier hotel, High Speed Interent Access is not a complimentary service in guests rooms or in meeting space. Our fees for this ancillary service is comparable to other convention proeprties both locally and nationally. As a additional service to our guests we do offer complimentary WIFI in both our lobby area and in our Coffee Shop located on the 2nd floor along with 5 computer work stations for our guests to use free of charge.
Outside food service deliveries are not permitted beyond our 1 st floor lobby area for safety and sanitary reasons. We do not feel that it would be in the best interest of the hotel nor our guests to allow outside food vendors to walk our guest room floors to deliver food. Our in house food services can provide our guests with any food items they request within reason. Again our apologies for any inconveniences these issues may have caused. We appreciate your business and look forward to the next opportunity when we can welcome you back once again.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We were there for a 6 day conference and had the unfortunate luck of experiencing multiple downsides. The first room we checked in was in the old building overlooking the train railroad & dumpster. We upgraded for a small increase in charge, to a second room with a river view. This view is totally worth the up charge but the cleanliness is a disgrace. Ants were crawling all over the bed, bathtub and sink. Again, we had to change rooms once more. Stayed for two more days only to be left with no water in the room because of construction damage to pipeline (at least that's what we have been told). Switched rooms AGAIN but this time to the tower. This was definitely better. The rooms are cleaner with somewhat newer furniture. Unfortunately we only stayed their on our last night of our stay. Furthermore, their were mice, yes multiple, in the conference room, which were a huge distraction. As well as rats in the garage. Also, housekeeping is another disgrace. We ordered a meal to our room and after 4 days the tray was still laying outside our room, despite calling on a daily basis.

In summary, being as objective as possible, location is probably the biggest if not the only advantage of this facility. The staff were nice, respectful and apologetic. The view is only worth if you are on the riverside. Cleanliness is a major major issue. Furniture is convenient but old & poorly maintained. Rooms are of decent size. Bathrooms are reasonable size. Lobby is well decorated and updated especially compared to the rooms in building 3. Restaurant was good. Garage is easily accessible and available but expensive. Also, Warning, major health risk, rats in the parking garage.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
LB-Was-Here

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur and we have reviewed your comments with our staff and promise the situation has been addressed. If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.



Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylacauga, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Check in was excellent, speedy and courteous. Exactly the service and facilities I expected from Hilton! Room had a great view and wonderful bed! The only thing I didn't like was the sensor on the AC that cuts the AC off when no one is in the room or you get still at night! I like a cold room to sleep in, and that was not the case because of the sensor. Otherwise, excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: River View room was only $25 upgrade when I stayed and well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
woodrow35150,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destiantion. We certainly enjoyed having you here and hope to see you all back again sometime in the near future. If we can assist you in planning your next stay with us, let us know and we will be happy to assist you.

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

For $300 after taxes and fees, I was expected to be blown away. I was not. The location of the hotel is great for proximity to the casino, the French Quarter and the conference center but there were a couple of things that bugged me. First off, I was forced to stay at the hotel for the nearby conference I was attending otherwise I would have had to pay an extra $250. If the hotel was connected or at least across the street, it wouldn't have mattered. But to get to the conference center you had to walk outside and down a block to get there which took anywhere from 5 to 10 minutes depending how fast you walked. It was raining one day so that was fun trying to stay dry. The second experience is that I had paid a modest upgrade amount to get what I thought was a deluxe room with a river view. I was pretty confident that is what it said on the website when I made the reservation but upon check in I was put in the Riverside building but on the first floor with a lovely view of a wall. I tried to talk to check in but they refused to change my room unless I paid an additional $20 more per night. Unacceptable... Finally, there were a couple of other minor annoyances which just added to my impression: the weak flushing toliet which I had to be very careful not to clog and the fact that every time I turned the tv on, the signal would cut out after a few minutes and I would be staring at a blank tv for 5-10 minutes at a time. This happened at least 3 separate times. I gave up after that and didn't bother to turn the tv on. Everything else was fine. Drago's is a great restaurant and all the service people I encountered were helpful except for the check in person. The bed was comfortable and the room was plenty big enough. Liked having the mini-fridge in the room. Shower pressure was good and the towels were very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
epsharon,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. We thank you for bringing them up in your review as feedback is one of the most important tools that allows us to improve the quality of our services and products. We will certainly use your comments to identify areas where we can improve our hospitality. With regards to conference rates, these rates are negotiated when the contracts are signed and we will share your concerns with our meeting planners in hopes of avoiding any miscommunication going forward. Your business is extremely important to us and we sincerely hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon. Have a wonderful Spring Season!

Jim Thibodeaux
Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverisde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.