We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, convenient to trolly system and riverwalk.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Included!
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, convenient to trolly system and riverwalk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Room was great. We payed to be on the business floors and enjoyed breakfast up in the smaller business area. Great view of river. Trolly station in front goes to Jackson square with connectors to the canal street trolley and Charles street trolley. Cheap for 24 hours of travel but multi day passes available. Harrah's across street. Drago's was good. Looking forward to next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Firegirl834,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and thank you for the very nice review. The team enjoyed having you here and we all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back this way. Have a wonderful Summer season and we hope to see you soon.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    986
    498
    204
    99
See reviews for
360
630
128
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had a great time in the City of New Orleans. The food is varied and great. There is something for everyone in the family to do. The city park is large and clean. The jazz bands can be heard all around the town. Take the trolley and get a good look of all the potential sites you find interesting and then go for it. I took a cooking class, tour bus guide of the neighborhoods and an easy boat down the river complete with food and drinks, EXCELLENT! The hotel was my recovery room everyone went above and beyond to make our stay a good memory.

Room Tip: You can't lose with a room on the higher floors even if it s a view of the city as opposed to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
SouthJerseySulio,

It sounds as though you certainly enjoyed your time here in New Orleans and we all enjoyed having you here. Maybe we can be part of your Holiday plans. New Orleans hosts an awsome New Year's Eve party and we would all enjoy having you here to ring in 2014 with us. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to plan and to customize your next stay with us.

Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. Have a wonderful Summer season!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotel is right across from Harah's Casino, so if your into gambling then this is the place to stay. It is also quiet as opposed to other hotels located closer or on Bourbon St. Our room was clean, and comfortable. It is a bit of a walk from here to Bourbon St but no big deal. The pool area was big and nice...good sun. Friendly bartenders and strong drinks lol! Some areas need minor touch ups (paint, cracks, etc) but overall a pretty decent hotel. I would stay again because the hotel is nice, clean, and a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Steff486,

Thank you for the very nice review and it is good to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. The team enjoyed having you here and enjoyed hearing your very nice comments about your stay. With the Holiday Season fast approaching, we certainly hope that we can be part of your Holiday plans. New Orleans hosts an awesome New Year's Eve party and it would be fun to have you here to ring in 2014 with us. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to assist you in planning your next stay with us.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not too much local personality at the hotel but it is on the Mississippi River so get a room with a river view. Check in lines were long, not unusual for a city business hotel. Several conventions and conferences going on in the city and at the hotel while we were there. The hotel handles the crowds fairly well. As members, we were able to use the Hilton Honors check in line which didn't have a wait. Desk agent was not able to give us our preferred king bed room so we had to stay in a room with two queens. This made the small room seem even more cramped. But we did get the high floor (22nd) and river view that I requested so it was fine for our short four night stay. Other rooms I saw were much larger than ours, we had the corner room at the end of the long hallway. They let us check in a few hours early. However they would not let us check out a couple of hours late without paying a ridiculous per hour fee (even as Hilton Honors members they would not waive the fee).

The room service menu didn't have much selection to our liking and the better restaurants are a distance away in the French Quarter. We did go to the small branch of Cafe Du Monde in the adjacent shopping mall, good beignets and service. The mall itself is practically empty. The few shops that were still open looked like they were about to go out of business.

Location of the hotel is good if you want to be near the convention center, the casino or downtown. It's about a 15 minute walk to get to the French Quarter but there is a nice riverside walkway through the park next to the hotel. Otherwise, if your main interest is tourism and the French Quarter it would be better to stay in a hotel actually in the quarter itself.

Room was clean and comfortable, housekeeping was fine. Small single cup coffee maker, replenished daily, empty mini fridge to put our own drinks and snacks. We enjoyed having morning coffee looking out at the river. No robes but they sent them when I called to request.

Our only real complaint was the night some of us from our convention group wanted to have late night drinks at the hotel bar. At first they seated us, then told us the bar was closed, then said they would keep the bar open for us. Took our drink order and made us pre-pay before the drinks were delivered. Then it took 45 minutes for the disinterested waitress to serve us (we were only a group of eight people). I was really sorry we gave a generous tip but since we prepaid we didn't know how poor the service would be.

Overall, a decent hotel for that area of the city. Not the place I would choose as a tourist but fine if you are going to a convention.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room on a high floor overlooking the river. Try to not get a corner room as those a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
babygoon,

Thank you for your review . It sounds as though you enjoyed your time here and we all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration and we appreciate the feedback. Don't forget us when making your Holiday plans, New Orleans hosts an awesome New Year's Eve party and we would certainly enjoy ringing in 2014 with you here with all of us. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to help you plan your NYE time here in New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is great. Clean rooms. I had a problem checking in because my room wasn't available but they more than made up for it. Sent me champagne and chocolate covered Strawberries and cupcakes to the room with vouchers for free breakfast. This hotel cares about the guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Kim D,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The team here certainly enjoyed having you here and hopefully you can find time to come back and enjoy some well deserved R&R time with us later this year. New Orleans is always a fun destination and our concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to plan your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellant service from the all the members of the hotel staff. My family and myself enjoyed our stay at your hotel. We were treated very well my each and every member of the staff that we came in contact with. We especially enjoyed Dragos restruant and there signature char grilled oysters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Anthony M G,

Thank you for very nice review and we were happy to have you here. Your nice comments about Drago's have been shared with the team and were met with smiles. We look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back this way. Have a wonderful summer season.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was here for a big convention/meeting, and I think that hotels hosting these sorts of events fall into two categories with very little middle ground. They either herd people like cattle and promote a sort of "shared misery" vibe or they do everything right and have their game on point. Luckily, this Hilton falls solidly into the latter category. Check-in was speedy and friendly, my room was great (definitely try to get a high floor river view--totally worth it), and the staff (check-in workers, bar staff, housekeepers, etc.) couldn't have been nicer. I enjoyed the stay and was reminded yet again of why I seek out Hilton properties whenever possible when I travel. I am one of the small group of people in the US who don't think that New Orleans is the greatest thing since sliced bread (I know, I know...it's just not my kind of place), so I was grateful to have a bit of a refuge from the non-stop nonsense going on in the French Quarter (just a sort walk from the hotel, if that matters to you, but not so close that you'll be kept awake by all of the revelry). I wish the internet access were a little more reliable, but I know that can be a crapshoot at almost any big hotel, so I'm not going to knock off too many points for it. All in all, a great place to stay and professional from top to bottom.

Room Tip: High floor, river view is the way to go. Room numbers ending in "36" seem to be good ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
TMaxATL,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination. The team here at Hilton New Orleans Riverside enjoyed having you here and we look forward to your return. I am happy to report that our Internet issues have been resolved. Our apologies for any inconveniences it may have caused you while you during your stay. Have a wonderful summer and looking forward to your next visit.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.