We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% on Parking
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for the first weekend of Jazz Festival. Hotel is huge - one of the largest Hotels I have ever stayed at. Rooms are clean and bed was comfortable. We checked in and the only room that was available was a King Size Bed - Smoking. . . . no way. We made these reservations months ahead of time. The lady behind the desk got us a dual Queen Deluxe with a river view . . . . way cool and thank you. We dined at two of the Restaurants in the Hotel . . . . Drago's and Le Croissant Express. Drago's was OK and Le Croissant had a good breakfast buffet. I think the only complaint I had was the parking. If you stay here take a cab and avoid the onsite parking. We paid $105 for three nights of parking - This is just crazy stupid expensive. We got there late and I guess I didn't notice what it cost. For what we paid for the room the parking should be free. All in all a really good stay but when we left I was a bit shocked at what we paid for parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Travel574,

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we understand that you were unsatisfied with our prices for parking. We can assure you that we do all we can to create a great experience for our guests and this includes looking for ways to keep costs low while offering enhanced services. Again we thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    895
    455
    183
    94
See reviews for
330
569
126
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel is pretty expensive, location is good if you're going for a business/vacation. Lots of restaurants around the hotel, I went down there for a tourism conference and I went to 3 different seafood restaurants, they all were good. Check in was quick, they had all my info ready when I got there, staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean, nothing out of this world. Would come back !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Maurice L,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team enjoyed having you here and we all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back this way. Have a great summer and thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The location is fine, it is a few blocks from the quarter and that suites me just fine. I like to walk. The property is 3/10ths of a mile to Cafe Du monde for some morning Beignets, and right on the Riverwalk, which is a great place for a morning run. (Work off the Beignets)

The room we had was super quiet, and very clean. We checked in late so check in was not a problem, however I did notice very long lines at check in when passing by the front desk. A four star property should add staff to the front desk during busy times, like Jazz Festival. Hotel bar is a nice atmosphere and the bartender mixed a great martini. Overall, a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Johnp1126,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your New Orleans destination. We appreciate your very nice review . Your comments have been shared with the team and all your comments were met with smiles. We certainly look forward to your next visit and if the team can assist you in planning that next stay, please do not hesitate to call upon us. Have a great summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile


I do agree with previous evaluation, Actually, for a hilton, it was nice, just second to hilton san dieago, superb place on the river, new furniture
Enough elevators, comfortable sound proof room.... All are great
Dragons sea food restaurant is outstanding, the best oysters i ever tasted in the whole worled, the char grillied oyster .. mmmmmmm, same for lobster and other food., also. free fast Internet with promotional code since i am attending a conference.
The room prices was 270$, for a riverside room that is ok.
But
the only thing that is some what uncomfortable is that i have to pay handling fees for stuff mailed to me at the hotel , which is some what expensive, almost 16 dollars per item, i payed almos 100 dollars, all other hotels i know never done that, only one in sanfrancesco charged me 2$ per package.other hotels will deliver it automatically to my room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Navigator0,

Thank you for the very nice review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here. We do understand that you were unsatisified with our package handling fees and you found them too expensive. We sincerely apologize for this and we can assure you that we do all we can to create a great experieince for each one of our guests. We are actively looking for ways to keep costs low and to offer enhanced services for our guest's convenience and we will keep your review in mind.

We do thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. We hope to see you back again with us next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Overall, I'd give this property a 3.5 if that was possible. My room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. As a Hilton Rewards member, my profile specifies a room away from the elevator, but I was placed one room away from the elevator (I didn't bother to switch). The room was well appointed, and I found the hotel location convenient to the convention center and the area attractions. Trolley car service right outside of the hotel for the riverside and canal street lines was a plus. The hotel is a bit worn and dated, but not excessively so. Dinner at Drago's was a major disappointment. Breakfast was also a problem - huge lines for the restaurant and the café. I'd be okay staying here again, but I would also look around to see if there's a better option.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
cinncitraveler,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you found our room to be clean and comfortable, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

We truly apologize if found the quality of our food was not up to par and that you thought our property was somewhat dated. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and we sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, we will assure you that we will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I recently stayed here on business and really enjoyed the Hilton. The location sits right on the river including the beautiful Riverwalk. We walked down to Bourbon Street/French Quarter every night which took about 10 minutes. I liked that this hotel is away from the fray of Bourbon and the rooms are really nice. They are also attached to a mall and across the street from the casino. Within 10 minutes you have everything you need. I saw a lot of people going to the Aquarium which is next door. If you are looking for a clean, convenient hotel, this is a great pick.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
shoegal20,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again soon. Your wonderful comments have been shared with the team and all were most appreciative. Have a great summer!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very nice rooms, many with a view of the city or the river. Close to French Quarter and Convention Center. Next to Riverwalk Mall and the Aquarium. Great place to stay if you can get a reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Frequatra,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The team certainly enjoyed having you here and we all look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back this way.
Have a great summer and if we can be of assistance to you in the future, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.