We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe 3.5 really” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Included!
Ranked #66 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Maybe 3.5 really”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is largely what you'd expect- a big Hilton, mostly professionally run, pretty busy, but comfortable. It's centrally located, making it very easy to get to the French Quarter by food and many other areas by trolly car, a longer walk, or a cab. The house-keeping was a bit slow and not at the very top level- I came back to take a rest one day at 3:30pm to find my room not made up yet, and the tea for the in-room coffee maker was never replaced after I used it for the first time. But, it was mostly fine. If what you want is something reliable, comfortable, and centrally located (though without any special atmosphere or the like) this is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Matthew L,

Thank you for choosing us as your New Orleans destination and thank you for the very nice review! I have shared your Housekeeping concerns with our Housekeeping management team and we are very sorry that these issues occurred. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    986
    498
    204
    99
See reviews for
360
631
128
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend stay seeing the sites and running the half marathon
Location good for walking to several locations and restaurants. Pleasant staff, helpful in all interactions. Room clean, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
nancydto,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the recent marathon. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Our team will be happy to assist you in planning your next visit to New Orleans-just give us a call when you are ready to return.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to our Royal Caribbean cruise in late January. The weather was great the city was buzzing with Mardi Gras and Super Bowl preparations. We were able to walk everywhere, including to the cruise ship port which saved us a taxi fare. Had some of the best fried shrimp at the hotel restaurant, Dragos! Super comfortable beds in the room which overlooked the Mississippi River. It was our second time staying at this hotel and it was just as good as we had remembered from the first stay. Can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
jamhud,

We are happy to hear that we were able to make your vacation that much more pleasurable. We certainly enjoyed having you here. Hopefully your next visit will be during a much more quiet time so that you all can enjoy all that New Orleans has to offer. I have shared your comments with the Drago's team and all were most appreciative. Next time you will have to try their famous charbroilled oysters - even if you are not a fan of oysters I know you will enjoy these gems. When you all are ready to enjoy a Big Easy weekend - give us a call and our team will be happy to assist you in planning that next New Orleans vacation.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverisde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First and foremost, I've never stayed in New Orleans before, so I can not compare it to the 1000 other properties around the area.

All I can do is comment on my stay this past Saturday. First, we arrived around 1030-11am - WAY before check-in time. Yup, they allowed us to check-in upon arrival. To boot, they also permitted a 1pm late check-out right on the spot!

My only concern about check-in, was there were only two CS agents at the desk. This was a problem, as there were numerous people in line that were arriving for one event or the other (2 cruise ships were in port, 20K+ runners were arriving for the Rock n' Roll marathon, there was a cheerleading competition that appeared to have more participants than even the run. There was apparently also a volleyball event) needless to say, 2 were not enough....

The room was not awesome, but certainly better than average. Great view of the port and ships (1930). The bed was awesome, though the feather pillows were not for me.

The BEST part, was the water-pressure! I could only DREAM of that kind of water-pressure at home or any where else I stay! I'd stay at this property again for this alone.

Room Tip: Make sure to give them your parking ticket upon arrival, and that you have your room key with the pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
wrk2hrd,

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your check- in comments with our Front Desk management team and they are working on ensuring that these check in issues do not happen again. Next time you are here you can certainly request a pillow change - our Housekeeping team will be happy to switch feather pillows to foam pillows for you. Lots of fun scheduled later this Spring here in New Olreans with our Heritage and Music Festivals - so if you have an opportunity to come back to enjoy them - give us a call and we will be happy to assist you in planning your next visit.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenberg, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent the weekend in New Orleans.Took the two girls with us. This hotel was very easy to get to and very clean. Started off with valet parking, a little expensive but really about average for parking anywhere in New Orleans. Hotel check-in was fast and painless. Room was very nice and clean. Had great view of the river, so the girls enjoyed watching the boat on hte river. Hotel is conviently located near mall and Convention Center. Had breakfast at the hotel restaurant both mornings, again a little expensive,but food was ok for breakfast. Overall I would rate this hotel high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
hrtbrk7186,

Thank you for the great review and we are happy to hear that you and the family enjoyed your time here. Our team enjoyed having you all here and look forward to seeing you again next time you are back in New Orleans. Hopefully your daughters will come back with you. Our Concierge team will be happy to book a riverboat ride for you all on one of our famous Paddlewheelers and maybe a Carriage ride around the French Quarter. What a fun day to be had!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful and the staff very friendly. However the charges for parking, room service, and the breakfast buffet were horrendous. 70 dollars to park for 3 days! That is too much for parking. Talking to the staff and the quality of the room were the best parts.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Tanky1at,

Thank you for the nice review and I have shared your comments with the team. I am certain they enjoyed their conversations with you as well. Your comments regarding parking are appreciated and will be considered. Our guest feedback is always welcomed - especially when it give us an opportuntiy to improve our in house guest experience. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was clean but they charge for everything: hourly charge for internet usage, $12 per person to visit the fitness room, $22 for a breakfast buffet, $17 for a movie. We stayed at the Hampton Inn (also a Hilton) in the French Quarter for less money plus a free breakfast and free internet. With a AAA discount, our room was $179 compared to the rate offered at the Hilton. (We had a discount of $199 due to a conference rate which was better than the AAA rate.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Connsu4s,

We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges you incurred during your stay. I apologize if there was any misunderstanding and if some of the charges including our internet and breakfast charges were not clear at the time you booked your reservation with us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you went through and would be more than happy to discuss this further with you. Your satisfaction is our main concern and I make myself available for any questions you should have.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.