We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton New Orleans Riverside to your Saves list
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 60% on Breakfast
Ranked #70 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersGold level
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

In town for Saints game. Arrived early and was able to store bags and after brunch was able to check in. Check in was fast and painless( although 2 conventions, a college football game, and pro game was all going on.
Room was very nice and clean. Beds comfortable, had a drink or 2 at the downstairs bar and the bartender was very nice.
The location was good, not too far to walk anywhere . If in New Orleans again will stay here . Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
GWhite,

It is good to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and our team was able to make your stay a pleasurable one. Lots of sport fun planned here in New Orleans in early 2013 with the Sugar Bowl and Super Bowl. Hopefully you can find some well deserved R&R time to come back and enjoy the fun and magic with us!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    1,148
    571
    222
    109
See reviews for
430
717
134
1,362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'll give info in chronological order. When driving up we were confused where to pull up. To the side of the hotel is a narrow street/alleyway were you valet. We used valet end because we had so much stuff to take up to the room. Valet area was hectic, slow, and confusing--but this is a hotel issue. The valet employees were hustling as fast as was safe. Nice lobby and check-in on second floor (up a ver visible escalator) was fast and courteous. We were hosted by Harrah's Casino, but their hotel was full and this is a partner hotel. Room was large, clean, quiet, and had comfortable beds. Casino is just across the street, easy access, well lit, lots of people. Did not eat at Hilton be amuse had comps at casino. Check out was easy. Valet manager, Daniel, met us, pointed out a nail in one tire, filled the tire with air, gave us easy directions to a Firestone that was no more than a mile away if that. He could tell our distress (we had to drive 12 hours) from New Orleans), and gave us his cell phone in case we couldn't make it to tire place or got directions mixed up--wow, what service! Fortunately, it was a slow leak, we got it fixed, and were on our way. But if had not been for Daniel, we would have been on I-10 with a flat in pouring rain. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Fran,

Thank you for the very nice review. Your comments have been shared with the team and with Daniel . Happy to hear that your tire situation was recognized before you had problems on the road. Daniel and his Valet team do an awesome job and we are happy to have them as part of our team. Lots of fun planned in New Orleans for early 2013 and we hope you both have an opportunity to come back and enjoy the magic of Mardi Gras with us. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to assist you in planning your next stay.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here after staying in another hotel (for a technical conference) on business. It is a bit farther of a walk from the French Quarters but still manageable walking distance from most attractions.

We booked online and got a reasonable rate (non-smoking room with a view of the mighty river). It is next door to Riverwalk Marketplace (shopping and fast food places) and is about a 10 minute walk from the French Quarter and Jackson Square (St. Louis Cathedral).

Room Tip: Ask for river view if you can - quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
stargazer-edm,

Thank you for the very nice review. I have shared your comments with the team and all were most appreciative. We certainly enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back ot New Orleans. The best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Really recommend joining hotels frequent programs - no cost so why not. We stayed here with a conference. Conference rooms were in a 2nd building in back - make sure you don't accept a room there. Because we were freq. program we were in main bldg and got bumped up. Room was large, we requested and got Mississippi River view, just refurbished our floor so everything was new with fresh paint, curtains, rugs, etc. The restaurant in lobby - Drago's is a New Orleans restaurant and not a hilton. Food was wonderful - Go and forget it is in your hotel!
Has nice location that makes it easy to get any where. Staff including housekeeping and conceirge were very friendly.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in main bldg, ask for high floor with view of Mississippi River - or if you like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Molly,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton New Orleans Riverside as your New Orleans destination and thank for the wonderful review. Your comments have been shared with the team and all were most appreciative. There are lots of fun events scheduled here in New Orleans in early 2013 so when that opportunity arises take a take a winter vacation, keep us in mind. Our Reservations and Concierge teams will be happy to help you plan your winter getaway.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was in town for an Organo Gold convention and at first had such a difficult time getting a room for the duration of my trip but lucked out with Priceline at the last minute. I stayed in Room 704 and I arrived at the hotel around 10am and to my surprise I was allowed to go right up to my room. There were so many people in New Orleans, I didn't realize it would be so busy. At first glance I was extremely happy with the room. The carpet in the hallway was stained really bad but the carpet in the room was okay. The bed is always my first place of inspection and for one of the first times, it passed. There weren't any stray hairs in my bed. My second place of inspection is the bathroom and there was something black on the outside of the toilet. I proceeded to take a tissue and remove it, thinking it was a sticker and ewwwwwww it wasn't and God only knows what it was. The supervisor came in and cleaned it off but there was still some residue left ewwwwwwww! The view of this room is the parking garage but over that you can see Harrah's. One of the elements I loved about this hotel was the fact that the Riverside mall was literally attached to the hotel, so that made finding something to eat very easy and in my downtime somewhere to walk around. The hotel is very close to Canal Street and Decatur Street, where you can find many eateries and horse and carriage rides. The staff were very friendly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Ladiinred,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans. Hopefully your next visit will be without the hurried pace of Conference business. The problem with the bathroom has been addressed and our sincere apologies and we appreciate you alerting us to this issue. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to assist you in planing your next stay with us.

Best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family!

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recently stayed here for a family wedding for 3 nights. Entire staff from Fred Sawyers on down were great. He has a very "can do" team assembled. Special thanks to Tony Abadie for the many accomodations he made happen. The view of the Mississippi River, the close proximity to Harrah's Casino, the convenience to all Nola night life, close to convention center, the trolley that travels the riverfront, and of course the Char-broiled oysters etc. at the famous Drago's Restaurant made this stay very memorable!!
Stan H

Room Tip: get a river view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed having you here and happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Your nice comments have been shared with Fred Sawyers and with Tony Abadie and both say ' Thank You". Lots of fun times ahead down here in New Orleans with Sugar Bowl, Mardi Gras 2013 and the Super Bowl just around the corner. Hope to have you celebrating these awesome events with us.


Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After a shaky stay earlier this year, I returned on business to this hotel with relatively low expectations. This stay was MUCH better in every possible way. The staff has been unbelievably helpful and friendly -- a big change from the last experience. The room is lovely; the in-room dining has been very good, and the charbroiled oysters at Dragos downstairs are NOT to be missed. Actually my favorite thing to eat in New Orleans, and there are a lot of good places to eat here! Very comfortable bed, quiet at night, and the best water pressure in the shower I have ever experienced. Wow, these guys really turned things around in the last 6 months! Very pleased. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel now. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
problemdoc, Manager at Hilton New Orleans Riverside, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for coming back and giving us a second chance. We enjoyed having you here and it is good to hear that we were able to change your mind about us. I have shared your comments with the team and all are most appreciative. Keep us in mind later this year when you start making your New Year's Eve plans. New Orleans hosts an awesome NYE party and we would enjoy ringing in 2013 with all of our friends. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to help you plan your next stay.

Best of the upcoming Holiday Season to you and to your family.

Executive Office
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton New Orleans Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Address: 2 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New Orleans Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visiting the Hilton New Orleans Hotel Riverside will not only bring back fond memories, but can open up new areas to explore in New Orleans, Louisiana. Enjoy the 90,000 sq. ft. Health Club by Hilton featuring tennis, racquetball, full weight training circuit, the Precor® cardio theater and more. Stimulate your palate within Drago's Seafood Restaurant, a New Orleans dining institution. Upgrade your accommodations to our exclusive Executive Level. Try your hand at Harrah's Casino or take in a round of golf at TPC Louisiana. New Orleans is still one of the world's most unique destinations and is at your doorstep when staying at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton New Orleans Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Riverside New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton New Orleans Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.