We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, one fatal flaw” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   345 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value, one fatal flaw”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just spent some weeks at this hotel. Staff is great, breakfast is predictable- not great but edible. Rooms are spacious enough, very corporate & bland, but comfortable. The biggest problem is the paito area. they have just completed a nice renovation, but left in place the truly horrible 70s era plastic globe lights which shine into your eyes (and your room) no matter where you sit. These lights have now been outlawed in many municipalities. they are beyond unpleasant and ruin what would otherwise be a lovely outdoor area. i sincerely hope the corporate powers that be will replace these horrid lights with directional lighting and transform this place into a truly great value place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    212
    50
    28
    16
See reviews for
167
73
18
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent a couple of days here. The rooms are clean and big with a fully functional kitchenette. The hotel folks were efficient yet hospitable. The complimentary breakfast was well spread and left nothing to be desired. Located pretty much in the heart of the city I am definitely going to stay here the next time I visit New Orleans.

Room Tip: Insist on complimentary breakfast. Its well spread and delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
univ. of fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Check in was painless except for we requested two beds & got a single. Everything worked except we had to wait for the phone to be turned on, and it was turned off early on check out day.

The next morning we were awakened by the staff vacuuming the hall outside our door at 8:30 am - so much for do not disturb. & on Sunday morning at 9 am, we were awakened to the sound of boxes being broken down. The courtyard door was next to our windows & some of the laundry carts would hit the wall.

We missed the manager's cocktail, but weekday breakfast was a shambles between burnt coffee, & having to find someone to let the kitchen staff know that guests had been waiting 30 min. for orange juice & sausages.

Room Tip: The hotel will try to send you to the parking lot down the street which is small & cramped when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of space in our room at this site. The staff was very responsive and friendly. There is a nice patio area and pool. Breakfast is served in a community room each morning. Happy hour M-Th. While this hotel is many blocks from the French Quarter - it is quite close to the River Front Street Car and several really fine restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited NOLA last week and stayed at this property. It is in the warehouse district and pretty close to Bourbon St...around 10-15mins walk. However all the fancy restaurants and neighborhood bars are always happening. The hotel was overall good value for money.
Check in was smooth- The front desk staff did their job well, not too friendly but my expectations weren't that high so it was fine.
Rooms- The interiors were very modern, spacious and felt like living in an upscale condo.
Breakfast- Decent options for free breakfast and definitely convenient.
Pool- The pool was a good feature but the only downside was it could have been cleaner and the pool chairs could have been updated.

It was safe to walk back to the hotel even late in the night. The convention center is only a 5mins walk and there was a nice place to lounge outside late in the night. We had an early flight and the staff helped us getting a cab.
If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good amenities and a few blocks away from the craziness, this is a good option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent nearly a month here while condo hunting and rode out Hurricane Isaac. Those of the staff who were able to make it in did and a few stayed at the hotel for the duration of bad weather. At no time did we flood or lose power. The skeletal staff was able to perform limited housekeeping services and turn out breakfast and evening munchies. I think they did a very good job under stressful circumstances. The staff was friendly and helpful. Fiorella at the front desk was able to address all my concerns and Carmen in housekeeping did a nice job and was always cheerful.
The parking is across the street from the hotel and there is an additional charge of approximately $20 a day. This isn't unusual for downtown New Orleans.

Room Tip: The ground floor near the laundry room is very convenient for meals, laundry and walking a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed one night pre-cruise. Didn't like the fact that you have to walk for your parking & pay $22.40 p/d for the exercise. The breakfast was so-so. The comforter on the bed had some unexplained staines, so we called down & requested another comforter.Eventually, they brought up a thin blanket. I realized I left my weeding band in the room and called back & they checked and found it, I told them I had made it to the port & they held it in the safe until we returned. So, thanks for that. If, in NO again for 1 night may give them a try again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#72 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown

Address: 345 St. Joseph Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere, Marriott, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.