We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did the job, but wouldn't go back.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added O'Keefe Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
O'Keefe Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   334 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Sleep Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Branson
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“It did the job, but wouldn't go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I'll start with the good. Clean, Excellent quick breakfast(muffins, waffles, pastries, bananas, juice, coffee, oatmeal, etc.). Quiet as far as the hotel noises. Soft beds, soft pillows.

Not so good. Got there at 2:50(checkin is at 3) was told I couldn't check in until 3 because they were in the middle of switching shifts, Waited until 3 and room wasn't ready. Expensive for what it is, WAY overly priced parking which other business use for a parking lot as well (wasn't told about $5 parking across street), No bathtub only shower, pocket doors to bathroom that wouldn't shut easily, loud street noises. A couple blocks from bad area of town

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkeefePlaza, Front Office Manager at O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Our hotel is not expensive, we have reasonable pricing. Due to recent renovations the pricing for rooms have increased. Our standards are better than before. As for parking the front desk attendant does not know the price of parking for lots in the area. Our parking lot is safe and secure with video and security monitoring. We are not held responsible for parking lots in the area. In contrast, we have bathtubs in the handicap rooms only. Thank for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    58
    43
    86
See reviews for
42
70
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Room was clean, bathroom was a little small, but great shower. We were dreading the stay because of other reviews we had read but we didn't have any issues. The beds were new, very comfortable and there were NO BUGS. We thoroughly inspected the place before we unpacked. Although this wouldn't be my first choice, in a pinch it was just fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkeefePlaza, Front Office Manager at O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear former guest we do have a lot of new items in the hotel; Such as carpet, beds, pillows, tile, a business center and etc. This month the new furniture comes. We and our guest are excited about the new changes of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I booked this hotel online. We were going to be in New Orleans late in January just as the city was gearing up for Superbowl & Mardi Gras and rooms were at a premium. After booking I read the reviews & became quite apprehensive about what was going to greet us. Maybe I stayed at a different O'Keefe Hotel because we found our room to be clean and comfortable, with obvious recent renovations. The T.V. was new and the shower clean & large. We found the front desk to be very helpful and friendly. The free continental breakfast was more than adequate. This is not a five star hotel so why expect 5 star amenities? Overall we could not complain about the value we received for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkeefePlaza, Front Office Manager at O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate the great review you have given us. Our hotel has been under renovations for a few months. We are happy that you enjoyed the recent renovations of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived at O'keefe plaza..told check in is 3pm,arrived at 4pm.."Mario" on front desk didn't even look up and asked what I "want"..said I was checking in, he said room not free yet,then turned way to talk to someone,I had to interrupt to ask when it's free..he said at least 30mins.. More to be updated

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkeefePlaza, Front Office Manager at O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We do apologize for the behavior of the front desk attendant. I can inform you that all attendants must communicate with the housekeeping supervisors to insure the rooms are vacant and inspected. Each room must be updated in the system so that the attendant can see that it is available. We are sorry that the rooms were not complete on time and for the lack of communication; but we can insure our guest that each room is 100% clean to accommodate each guest to the fullest. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend (for the Rock n Roll Marathon) and was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews below. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and didn't have any issues at all. The location was fine; we were a quick walk to the Superdome (saw a Hornets game while in town), a few blocks from the start line to the marathon, two blocks to the St. Charles streetcar, and a short walk to Canal Street, Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. Proximity to so many areas was very helpful to us. Continental breakfast, free wifi, and our room had a fridge and a microwave.

Tip - book the airport shuttle from the lower level of the airport (near baggage claim) if you'd like a cheaper alternative to cabbing it to/from the airport to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkeefePlaza, Front Office Manager at O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the O’Keefe Plaza Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was convenient for you. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in a large group (family) last year headed for a spring break cruise the following morning. The hotel didn't seem like it was in the greatest neighborhood but never had ONE problem... After reading the reviews on here you would have thought people paid an arm and a leg for the room... It's over $100 cheaper than the last place we stayed and just as nice. For what we needed this place was fine. Food was just ok, but with the kids we had, we needed to take food back to the room. Again not bad for the price... People get over it... It's not the Ritz.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkeefePlaza, Front Office Manager at O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank for choosing the O’Keefe Plaza Hotel. The sales depart tries their best to keep our rates at a reasonable price. We are happy that our price accommodated your budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked this thru hotwire; and that part went smooth, the actual hotel was bad. The only thing it had going for it, was we could get a room there, during Superbowl weekend. The location is good. a few blocks to the french quarter, and a few to the super dome. Thats about all it had going for it. We checked in, no real issues there. Everything was paid in advanced, which also didn't allow us to do anything about it, and the city was sold out. We get to the room, 5th floor. It smelled smokey and musky. It was a non smoking room. The room was larger than I thought, but everything in it looked dated. The bathroom had a pocket door, which didn't open/close, and no way to lock it. The security lock on the door was only held in by 1 screw, the other 3 were missing. Not very secure in my opinion. There was a mini fridge and microwave. Our room was equip with 3 towels, and we had 4 adults. A trip to the front desk yielded no results. They were out. We tried calling the front desk first, but no answers upon multiple times. I found a housekeeper on another floor, and asked her. We had some communication issues, but she did bring us a towel....well, actually a bath mat, but it was better than nothing. We did not ask for cleaning of the room; however one day they did make the beds, and take the dirty towels, however they did not give us clean towels. Bugs; this place had some. My guess is there were at least 4 we saw, 1 per guest....not too bad; or is it 4 too many? The fitted sheets didn't stay on the bed; and we had trouble getting them back on the bed. We did not like the pillows, but I don't even like the pillows at my house. The elevator didn't feel safe, every time you hit the 3rd floor it shook. The business center was closed, but a computer in the lobby allowed for boarding pass printing, the toner was almost out, but that happens to hotel. The transportation the hotel called for us was not the best choice. We got a caravan with broken doors, while nicer hotels all had nicer suv services. the rate is the same, i wish they would have called the better ones. They did have a free breakfast, however they lock it down right at closing time, and they did not have any food worth eating, just some fruit and coffee, muffins and bagels. You can no bring food back to your room; I like to eat and relax, not in a cafeteria type setting.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OkeefePlaza, Front Office Manager at O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear former guest,

The 5th floor is a smoking floor. When booking a reservation online with an internet company the room type is guaranteed but prefer for a smoking or non-smoking room is not guaranteed. When arriving at the hotel, if a non smoking room becomes available the front desk attendant can change the reservation to a non smoking room.

The maintenance department is working on the bathroom door issues. In addition, Pest control as been contacted for routine maintenance.

The housekeeping staff is undergoing additional training on providing the accurate amount of towels to each room and the cleanness of each room.

The business center is being upgraded. The computer in the lobby has been our only source of computer access. We do offer free wireless internet. The new business center will have more computers, printers, a fax machine and a USB outlet for iphones.

We do not have a shuttle, the desk attendant contacts different taxi companies when a guest inquires. We do not have control over what vehicle each company provides. We do apologize for your inconvenience; we hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Keefe Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Keefe Plaza Hotel

Address: 334 O'Keefe Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Keefe Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The O'Keefe Plaza Hotel in New Orleans was constructed in 1999 in the downtown area in a prime location. The six story hotel has 129 spacious rooms, ground level parking (limited), outdoor swimming pool, meeting room, fitness center and vending on each floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your O'Keefe Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Keefe Plaza Hotel
Hotel o Keefe Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Keefe Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.