We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY SEXY HOTEL IN MIDDLE OF THE CITY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“VERY SEXY HOTEL IN MIDDLE OF THE CITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I had the opportunity to go to Mardis Gras. We were in the absolute middle of everything and the Hotel was just amazing. Machelle was awesome she gave great recommedations like the chop house and ghost tours. Westley is great bell man hes the type of young man you can trust with everything, courteous and they both exude that fantastic southern charm. I would love to return.

Room Tip: ask for a middle room because they pick up trash at 4 a.m
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    128
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
59
122
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location and proximity to tourist areas. Rooms need some TLC as there are cracked plugs, lights and fans that don't work and missing items. Some staff were great and helpful (with dinner selections) while others couldn't seem to care less. Stayed for a week and by Day 5 had asked 7 times at the front desk if we could get our room made sometime between 10 am and 2 pm daily. Had this happen once, while the other times we were told that they would get to it "some time" or that it might get done. Every time it was not done, housekeeping had no idea about our request. There was also lots of noise as they are doing renovations. Would not stay here again as you could get better service for a better price elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Simply a great staff! Machiel, Cheryl, Greg and the others did an outstanding job of making us feel welcome and at home. They were very warm and genuine. We have stayed at fancier hotels in the French quarter but the staff at the St James surpassed the four and five star hotels.

Room Tip: Room 403 had an extra personality. Seriously Suri would light up and start talking while in the airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for a conference nearby this week. The price is much cheaper than all the conference-rate hotels nearby. The hotel is located close enough to both the conference center and the French quarter. There are several restaurants, CVS, and a Rouse market grocery store within walking distance. The room is quite spacious, and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel offers free breakfast (a croissant and your own choice of beverage) delivered to the room every morning.
The staff members are all very courteous and prompt with our requests, which made our stay very easy. The front desk lady kindly allowed us to stay in the lobby for several hours and then call a taxi for us, when our flights are cancelled due to snow weather in the northeast. Overall I'd very much recommend this hotel and will stay here again the next time we come to New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The outward appearance needs a lot of love as does the inside. However, the front staff and room care service was terrific! Our room with a balcony was a big disappointment, the view was far from fetching. The beds were comfortable and the hallways were quiet, both of these were important to me. I would stay here again as it is centrally located to all there is to do.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay during Mardi gras. The room was perfect, We were able to check in much earlier than expected, thanks to Michelle at the front desk. She even arranged for us to have coffee and croissants delivered to our room upon check-in. The man who delivered them was filled with useful information, and I appreciated him taking the time to answer our questions. Check out with Cheryl on our last morning was perfect. She helped get our bags organized and into storage. When we came back to grab our luggage and cab, the driver was a no-show. What made our stay over the top perfect, was the fact that Michelle, along with the hotel security gal were actively out on the street trying to find a ride to the airport. This could have been a disaster since we were leaving during one of the biggest parades of the week. The caring staff really saved the day. I will stay here again on our next trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: Our corner king room was perfect (211). I loved having the extra windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time at the hotel the staff was great made sure my luggage was taking care even after I checked out of the room and couldnt get to my car they made my stay quite easy in the big easy would stay there again next time I'm in New Orleans

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.