We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price, offers some nice personal touches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and price, offers some nice personal touches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, we are glad we stayed here for a 5 night new orleans vacation (me and my husband).

Concierge/staff: Very friendly, greeted us and offered information when asked. Machiele (pronounced like "Michelle") is a gem, charming and informative. She kept us straight, telling us which streets were safe no matter the hour and which ones to avoid once the sun set.

Rooms: Our first night the hotel was crowded and we had a late check-in. We had asked for a quiet room with a window, as large as possible (info gathered from other TripAdvisor reviews). They could not accomodate this the first night but offered it on the second. Our first room was HUGE, a king room on the front of the hotel (along Magazine St) with two windows facing Magazine St and some nice NOLA architecture. The facilities are in decent shape (nice linens, bed, furniture) but by no means pristine (stain on curtain, crumbling caulking along tub). This was room 301. My husband and I did not find it noisy at all. On our second night, we were moved (with some prompting). Imagine my surprise when our room was roughly 1/2 the size of the original! It was quieter (re: street noise) and did have a window, but was much smaller (room 322). The noise that DID bother us here was the slamming/shutting of other doors on our hallway; it's an older hotel, and other doors closing made quite a noise in our room each time.

Breakfast: This was my favorite personal touch. I am not a morning person and do not like seeing the entire hotel's guests at 0700 for coffee and buffet breakfast. This hotel offers the perfect solution - complimentary room service croissants and jam + coffee/tea/juice, delivered at your request. You fill out your preferences for time slot (30 min slots from 0700-1000) and beverages and hang it on your door handle. Continental breakfast arrived on cue each morning of our stay, sparing my husband from a daily starbucks run.

Parking: This was one concern we had prior to checking in. Valet is available for $29/day. Your car is parked in one of 4 lots in a few block radius of the hotel. You park your car and leave keys with the front desk, who calls the valet to park your car. You must request your car approx 20 min prior to your planned departure for the same reason; you do this by calling the front desk, who radios valet. We found this helpful on the weekend when the area was more congested, but during the week we parked at a Premium Parking lot (directly across Magazine from hotel front door) for $25/day. We had no problems finding a spot here. Saved a few bucks and saved on time/valet tips.

Location: This is the true winner for the St James. Perfect location for access to the FQ without being in the middle of it. We easily walked to the WWII museum. The streetcar access is also easy (highly recommend riding the full length of the St Charles streetcar during the day for a 'tour'), just two blocks from St Charles. Through the hotel's courtyard and sidestreet (Natchez) there was easy access to Tchoupitoulas street (Cochon/butcher, Mothers, August, etc).

If you're looking for a bargain with close proximity to the FQ and friendly service, this is a great option.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    124
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
58
114
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was celebrating with friends at a wedding over the weekend and after the wedding I wont to hang out in the city. Machiel was excellent with giving me a lot of choices and giving me the directions on how to get there. Machiel was great and has convinced me to make my reservations for my New Orleans trips at the St. James Hotel for now on. Thank you so much Machiel, she is a great asset to your company.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an older Hotel that has been remodeled with a more modern look. TV was great, internet was great beds were great. A little noisy, I think because of gap under door. The price was awesome. I purchased an non-refundable not changeable not cancelable room in advance. So the price was about 100.00 with tax through Choice Hotels. It was worth it. It was walking distance from our Cruise port and close to allot of my favorite places to eat. Walking distance to French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very nice. The staff was so friendly. Gregory Patton was very nice and took time to visit with us and answer our questions. Burton the manager and Michelle the front desk staff were also very helpful with suggestions on fun things to do.our room was very comfortable and had a cute little window seat. It had all the amenities you could ask for. Will definately recommend and stay again.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a last minute birthday trip. Service was awesome from the moment we checked in! The front desk staff was always helpful, from recommendations on hotspots to the Manager Burton, hailing me down a cab so that I wouldn't miss my ride home. the property was beautiful and I would definitely make this my hotel of choice when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Several of my sisters and I decided to get together for a long week-end away. We decided on a trip to NOLA and traveled from different parts of the country. The St. James Hotel was chosen as the place to stay due to its location, amenities and positive reviews. We got much more than we ever expected. Check-in was a breeze with Machiel. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious the room was as some of the reviews suggested they were small. The rooms we had were a king on the 4th floor and a double on the 3rd floor, both were clean, quiet and comfortable. We felt the bathroom was also large enough and nicely stocked with amenities. When we were ready to head out Machiel was very helpful in heading us in the right direction and did not hesitate to let us know if she could do anything else for us. All three mornings we stayed our breakfast was delivered at the precise time we had asked. They were delivered and set up by Greg who was also very pleasant and made us feel welcome and special. Then there was Cheryl, we told her what we were interested in doing that day so she made calls and booked our tour for us. We will never forget our time in NOLA and especially the St. James Hotel and staff. We all highly recommend this wonderful establishment.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for the Sugar Bowl because our prefered hotels cost too much. I read the reviews on TA and when I checked in, I asked for: high floor, courtyard, away from elevator, preferably in back building. I got all of those things. In addition, I had booked a room with 2 queens. That took care of the size problem that many people mentioned. We got what we asked for and everything was great. The room was large, comfortable, and quiet. The only problem, as many people have mentioned, was the water pressure. But my wife was recently at a hotel in NY and had the same problem.

But I was most impressed with the front desk staff. There was a black lady working there, and I wish I could remember her name, who was amazing. When we checked out, she was the only one there. But she was patient, and efficient. We weren't leaving till late in the afternoon, so she checked our bags (and later retrieved them) so we could and go to the WW II museum, which itself was amazing. Don't miss it.

The hotel is one 2 short blocks off Canal, and then only 4 blocks to Bourbon Street. We were able to walk everywhere - to Jackson Square - to the convention center - and to the Superdome.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.