We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we were with friends who had stayed there before..greeted by friendly staff, any time passing by front desk they were always smiling & helpful..the room was a bit snug but very clean & love having a refrigerator & microwave..the bottom of the tub was very slick & it wasn't just in our room..we were able to walk back & forth to the French quarter & not need a cab..loved the continental breakfast delivered to the room & right at the appointed time!! I do think the price was a bit high & that might keep us from staying there again..but overall, had a great time with friends..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    118
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
53
111
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to confess I was not quite as charmed with this hotel as other reviewers.

It is central, an easy walk to the French Quarter and the St Charles, Canal and Riverfront streetcar lines. The staff is friendly. Someone failed to tell us that the hotel is under renovation making the lobby cramped and dusty.

We asked for a quiet room. Our room was 423 at the back of the hotel. The room with a king sized bed was quiet but very small. Jammed into this small space was a huge flat screen, coffee maker, a fridge, microwave, a small desk and table. There was also a free to use wall safe. The room showed signs of age. There was worn paint around door knobs and signs of grime on commonly used surfaces. The bathroom was plain and the water pressure was low. Most concerning was a green growth on the outside of the window (see images).

The continental breakfast consisted of one croissant each, a small jar of jam and butter and a beverage. We stayed four days and our coffee was consistently luke warm. Luckily there is a popular breakfast place, The Ruby Slipper two blocks away. The hotel only supplies paper or plastic cups in the rooms and when we requested champagne flutes to celebrate our anniversary, we were told they didn't have any. We then asked for wine glasses but were told they only had breakfast ware like coffee cups and juice glasses.

I might expect less from a budget two star hotel but Trip Advisor rates the St. James as a three and a half star which decidedly, this hotel is not.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is a great historic find. Yes historic, so prepare yourself for smaller rooms, smaller showers and everything that comes with a historic building. The staff was AMAZING! Front desk was super friendly, gave us the history of the place and we even had a staff member show us around. Hotel is a little bit of a walk from the French quarter but we used pedi cabs after a long night to make it back. Mother's Restaurant is just around the block and The Ruby Slipper (restaurant) is down the street - both excellent places to try. Would absolutely recommend.

Room Tip: There are some rooms without windows so if that is an issue, make sure to state it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a nice old hotel! Room was very nice and clean. Love the high ceiling and the tall windows. Nice to sit in the courtyard, very quiet and secluded. Except for the dump truck that came at 5:30AM and the water pressure was the only downside. Staff was excellent and very friendly. Complimentary breakfast of croissant, orange juice and coffee was a nice touch. Everything and every place in walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel for the price. Love New Orleans!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is such a neat hotel - charming New Orleans, wood floors, high ceilings, courtyards, complimentary coffee with croissants delivered to your room each morning, near all the action, but tucked away on a quiet block of Magazine - its a real gem! A wonderful trip for me and my husbands 25th!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a Thanksgiving vacation from 11/26 - 30. Our room was super clean and large. Housed in a former coffee exchange property, it held the gracious past with the current perspective. Each morning, we had croissants, butter and jam delivered to our room along with cafe au laid and orange juice on a silver tray. It was a nice way to start the day with southern hospitality. Location is great as it is quiet from the "turmoil" of Canal St., but directly across from the French Quarter. The staff was very accommodating and we loved our view of the court yard/patio. We slept well - a high priority of visitors/vacationeers.

Room Tip: We liked that our room faced the interior patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is close to the Port of New Orleans, and thus caters to travelers who arrive early in the morning from Caribbean cruises, but are planning to stay in the city a few more days. That was exactly my situation, and I got lucky when I found the St. James!
The floor plan of the hotel is meandering; I walked through a pretty courtyard to get to my room, which was in an adjoining building. The architecture of the hotel is *so* beautiful!
My room was very spacious, even with a king-sized bed. The bathroom was so pretty -- black-and-white turn- of- the- century tile floors, and big enough to dance in!
Breakfast of croissants, jam and juice was a nice touch.
As mentioned by other guests, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful about recommending good restaurants and excursions.
Rates were reasonable, compared to larger national chains, and the location is convenient.
Housekeeping was not stellar -- but on the other hand, the hotel was probably cleaner than my house is ;o)
I would happily stay here again when I'm in the city!

Room Tip: My room, in the "back building" was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.