We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't look like much from the outside, but was nice inside.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Didn't look like much from the outside, but was nice inside.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here October, 2014. The staff is super friendly, courteous and goes out of their way to be helpful. We especially enjoyed Ariel at the front desk, she was great. Our room was lovely, large and the bed was super comfortable. They deliver coffee and croissants to your room every morning. The hotel location was very close to the French Quarter (10 minute walk) and there is a great breakfast/lunch place just on the corner. If I had to look for things that I wish were there, I would say that I wish they had a hot tub and a real pool.
But, those things aside, I would wholeheartedly recommend The St. James as a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms NOT near the street side will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    105
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
97
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

we booked through AARP site, not expecting a great room because of such reduced price; we were very surprised. We enjoy European influenced boutique hotels and St James met all criteria. Our room and bed were very comfortable, the breakfast served at your door each more and the well informed front desk as well as friendly, was a mark of a a typically higher priced hotel. We hope to visit again soon to enjoy the food that Ariel recommended.

Only negative is to allow at least 30 minutes for car retrieval in mid-week. The hotel has limited area at front of hotel for parking or drop offs, but with the one-way street in front of the hotel traffic always worked with us maneuvering in and out of the traffic. Very safe area because of Chophouse being next door a valet was always out front that kept the area feeling safe.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snaith, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

difficult to drop off as busy street outside but once you have entered to foyer peace and tranquility abound. the front of house staff we exceptional friendly and very helpful in assisting us book various trips.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first visit to New Orleans was for JazzFest. We decided to stay at St. James and really enjoyed it. The rooms had a great atmosphere and we loved boutique feeling of the hotel. We really enjoyed the coffee and croissants in the mornings and the central, yet quiet location of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was close to the trolleys and in walking distance to the French Quarter. The rooms were clean and beds were really comfy. The staff was friendly and helpful. Lots of great. Restaurants in the area. We will definitely stay here during our trips to New Orleans. We even walked to the Superdome for a Saints game.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I give this hotel 2 1/2 out of 5 stars. The best thing about the hotel is the Staff, very helpful and friendly. Ariel at the front desk was such a sweetheart and made my day every time i was her, AND SHE CAN SANG! The staff is the only reason I'd ever consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved our stay!! This is a wonderful older hotel that offers the comforts and personal attention not usually found. The beds are awesome and we loved our breakfast in the courtyard. The staff was extremely accommodating and the manager on duty when we had to leave at 5:45am to catch the train even helped load our luggage. The only downside to our stay was that our room was in the hallway near the elevator and we were disturbed several nights by people coming in from their partying. Will definitely go back if I ever get the chance.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in room 116 if possible. Nice room but noise level can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.