We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Amelia, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The service at the St James Hotel is excellent from the reception at the front desk at check in to the morning coffee and croissants delivered by Greg in the morning. Greg has a wonderful demeanor and is a welcoming face to see first thing as you start an exciting day in New Orleans. With St James great location all of the Big Easy is available to explore, take advantage of the suggestions of the staff on when, where and how to get there to make your experience one to remember.
Enjoy your stay and come back often.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    120
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
54
111
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottoville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here 5 days. This is a historical property within walking distance of most areas. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Meghan was most helpful, from calling ahead for us to her great dinner recommendations. A small breakfast was delivered to our room each morning. Elevator was down one day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in town for a conference at the convention center. Very convenient location, within walking distance of the convention center and other New Orleans attractions. Parking was across the street and expensive, but that's to be expected.

The hotel itself is in a couple old buildings, with lots of charm and character. It needs a good cleaning, though. When we arrived, the hallway was cluttered with trash bags, a rollaway bed, and other housekeeping items. The elevator was broken so we trudged up the stairs which were equally filthy. When I opened the door to our room, I left foot prints in the dust. We stayed two nights-on the second morning I went to take a shower and discovered that housekeeping folded our wet towel mat and put it on the side of the shower instead of providing a new clean one. Kind of gross with the humidity.

We had mixed experiences with the hotel staff. The front desk clerk was excellent. He was efficient and very pleasant. On our first night, apparently they were fixing something across the hall at 10:30pm. The staff people were extremely loud and were slamming doors repeatedly.

Overall, it's a nice hotel with a great location in a fun city.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel is 2 houses with a pleasant courtyard between them, but there's no central dining room. A complimentary breakfast is served in the room which sounds good however the timing of delivery of the food was erratic, twice more than 20 minutes after the time we'd requested, once earlier. There was no table in the room so we ate our croissant ( no more than1 per person the notice said) sitting on the bed. Room was fine, small but beds were comfortable and clean. Bathroom was tiny. Lift was out of service one morning but repaired by evening. Wifi was slow but free. Best thing about the hotel is the location, between the WW 2 museum and the French Quarter a short walk to each

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here this past 4th of July weekend for Essence Festival and they met and exceeded all of our expectations. The location is great, near the convention center, Harrah's, bourbon st and other attractions. The valet service is a great option at a good price. Even with all the activity and added crowds the festival brought every single employee we encountered was very pleasent and helpful. The room was nice, a little small but the mini fridge and microwave were an added bonus. We are already planning a return trip and will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our first time in this hotel. It is located in a perfect spot. Quick walking distance in a nice area to Mothers restaurant, Harrahs casino, streetcar, Aquarium, Insectarium, nice bars and restaurants.

Staff was friendly and asked several times how our stay was and if there was anything they could do to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had booked a multi-centre holiday and needed to book at least one night in a hotel for the best airfare - so we decided that we would book this hotel as part of our overall package. It had been a long journey, London to New York then change planes for the trip to New Orleans. When we arrived we were both hot and tired and as there was no bar in the hotel we felt a bit let down. We were told there was a complimentary continental breakfast delivered to our room. We had no great expectation for that either.
HOW WRONG CAN ONE BE?
As it turned out, the breakfast was excellent. We have holidayed in France many times and the croissants were as good as any we have had in France. The orange juice was also excellent. They have an outside patio area and we were told we could order breakfast to be delivered there - which we did every subsequent day. A great start to the morning.
The hotel is really well located for the French Quarter - an easy walk in the evening.
The staff on reception were really helpful and friendly and offered a lot of help in terms of getting around and parking our car - when we had collected our hire car after a few days.
I am sure there may be flashier and more expensive hotels in New Orleans, but if I were to return I would have no hesitation in returning to the St James Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.