We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for WW2 museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. James Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #41 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for WW2 museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel is 2 houses with a pleasant courtyard between them, but there's no central dining room. A complimentary breakfast is served in the room which sounds good however the timing of delivery of the food was erratic, twice more than 20 minutes after the time we'd requested, once earlier. There was no table in the room so we ate our croissant ( no more than1 per person the notice said) sitting on the bed. Room was fine, small but beds were comfortable and clean. Bathroom was tiny. Lift was out of service one morning but repaired by evening. Wifi was slow but free. Best thing about the hotel is the location, between the WW 2 museum and the French Quarter a short walk to each

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    100
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
51
93
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here this past 4th of July weekend for Essence Festival and they met and exceeded all of our expectations. The location is great, near the convention center, Harrah's, bourbon st and other attractions. The valet service is a great option at a good price. Even with all the activity and added crowds the festival brought every single employee we encountered was very pleasent and helpful. The room was nice, a little small but the mini fridge and microwave were an added bonus. We are already planning a return trip and will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our first time in this hotel. It is located in a perfect spot. Quick walking distance in a nice area to Mothers restaurant, Harrahs casino, streetcar, Aquarium, Insectarium, nice bars and restaurants.

Staff was friendly and asked several times how our stay was and if there was anything they could do to help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had booked a multi-centre holiday and needed to book at least one night in a hotel for the best airfare - so we decided that we would book this hotel as part of our overall package. It had been a long journey, London to New York then change planes for the trip to New Orleans. When we arrived we were both hot and tired and as there was no bar in the hotel we felt a bit let down. We were told there was a complimentary continental breakfast delivered to our room. We had no great expectation for that either.
HOW WRONG CAN ONE BE?
As it turned out, the breakfast was excellent. We have holidayed in France many times and the croissants were as good as any we have had in France. The orange juice was also excellent. They have an outside patio area and we were told we could order breakfast to be delivered there - which we did every subsequent day. A great start to the morning.
The hotel is really well located for the French Quarter - an easy walk in the evening.
The staff on reception were really helpful and friendly and offered a lot of help in terms of getting around and parking our car - when we had collected our hire car after a few days.
I am sure there may be flashier and more expensive hotels in New Orleans, but if I were to return I would have no hesitation in returning to the St James Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of this hotel can't be beat. You can easily walk to the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, Aquarium, Harrah's and the Riverfront. But you are away from most of the crowds and noise of these busy tourist areas when you want to come back to your hotel and unwind.

The front desk will valet your car ($34 after taxes), which is good since it was literally impossible to find any parking within a 3 block radius of the hotel. It can be a little tricky to even find a spot to pull up and unload your bags (if you are not looking carefully and driving slowly, you can easily miss the front of the hotel). Once my car was parked, however, I did not need it until checkout.

The hotel and rooms are very nicely decorated and the small size of the hotel feels a bit like a hotel in London or Paris. My room on the top floor had ceilings with exposed timbers and french doors that lead to a nice rooftop balcony. There are two small courtyards with outdoor seating to relax and enjoy a drink or morning coffee. The hotel had all the character and charm I was hoping for in a "boutique" hotel in New Orleans.

They do have a very tiny pool. So tiny in fact, the front desk lady used air quotes when she pointed out where the "pool" was. It is a little bigger than a hot tub and kind of looks like you are swimming in a fountain. Still okay if you want to cool off for a moment while sitting outside (or for taking a photo of you "swimming" in a comically tiny pool). I am not much of a pool guy, so the pool did not bother me...if you have kids, they may be disappointed.

The breakfast is not your typical Choice Hotel breakfast, it is simple a fresh croissant and coffee delivered to your room in the morning. It is enough to get you out of bed and down to enjoy a real breakfast at of the local restaurants (the "Ruby Slipper" two blocks down is awesome...but be prepared for a wait in the morning).

All the staff was very friendly and clearly cared about customer service.

I would definitely choose this hotel for future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very classy hotel that is a short walk from dozens of restaurants and attractions. 5th star withheld because of little things - weak coffee served with the hotel breakfast, wifi doesn't work beyond the lobby, etc. overall the st James is a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickman, Nebraska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed at the St. James on our first trip to New Orleans. It's not fancy, but very functional and clean. We had a 3rd floor room which was very quiet. The beds were comfortable--slept great every night! The St. James was within walking distance to everything--great location. The pool is quite small but that was fine--we didn't come to swim. Enjoyed the courtyard for a relaxing place to have a drink. The complimentary morning croissants with butter, jam, and orange juice/coffee/tea were much appreciated. One less meal to buy! The best part was the awesome staff at the St. James. They are so friendly and helpful and will attend to everything to be sure your stay is wonderful. Shout out to Burton and Megan who were just exceptional at all times.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter but the A/C has a little trouble keeping up with the humidity--especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.