We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having never been to New Orleans, I chose this hotel based on the reviews I read on here. I did not want a high-rise chain hotel but something with charm. My expectations were not 4 star, so I was pleasantly surprised by our nice room with a balcony and the great front desk staff. We were not right on the French Quarter but a few blocks down (easy walking) so it was nice and quiet at night.

My only request is that they clean the showers better. There was mold growing in the cracks of the tile. Other than that, our room was great.

Also, when we arrived we were really hungry but didn't feel like going far and the restaurants next door to the hotel did not have availability for over an hour, so we were told to visit "Mother's" restaurant down the street. It was exactly what we wanted. Southern flair but quick and easy. So if you stay at the St. James definitely try Mothers for some great quick food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    112
    26
    15
    7
See reviews for
52
105
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The reviews I had read previously influenced my decision in choosing the St James. The reviews spoke of the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff and the charm of the hotel. I liked the location and I was able to land a very reasonable price for my mid-week stay.
My overall impression is that the hotel is not quite ready for prime time. Whe I made my reservation I had requested a quiet room and reminded the clerk at check in of this request, Her solution was to place me in a room on the second floor facing the street. My window was about 15 feet from the passing traffic, and in New Orleans, the street traffic doesn't subside. It goes all night. I'm curious as to what they consider a noisy room.
The room was spacious and reasonably clean, although it had an unfinished feel to it. For instance, there was not toilet paper holder. The toilet paper was simply sitting on the back of the toilet. The was no soap dish. There was no channel directory for the TV. These were all minor inconveniences, but indicative of an overall lack of attention to detail. I had requested a wake up call, but it never came.
So I can't say the experience was terrific at the St James.
I will say that the location is convenient. It is only a 6 to 7 minute walk to the French Quarter. Also, if you check and re-check various booking sites you can get a room for a bargain price. So, it's a balancing between the bargain price and the various small shortcomings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I very very rarely write reviews online. But my experience at the St. James last night really warrants a review to alert potential travelers that the pictures online are not what you get. Apologies for the long review, but I did want to highlight the ok, the good, and the very bad.

I booked the St. James for three nights because I was in town for a conference. I got to the hotel late (8pm) Wednesday night after a tough travel day and was really looking forward to showering and climbing into a clean bed. I was apprehensive as soon as I arrived.

The lobby is small and fairly beaten up. It also smelled a bit mildewed, but it is New Orleans- so sometimes that can't be helped. Check-in was a breeze with Ashley and I was soon on my way to the room.

To get there, I had to go through the inner courtyard - which is used as a smokers spot - and you can certainly tell. After quickly moving to the back building, I pushed the elevator button and it sounded like the wall was going to come down with the elevator. Yikes!

The hallways were dingy and all doors desperately need a paint job. But the most disappointing was the room. I opened up the door as I listened to the girls screaming next door and ... Uh oh. The walls were dirty, the lampshades were crooked and all furniture looked very very worn. But the worst was when I took my shoes off. As I walked to peek into the bathroom, I noticed many many stains on the rug and several holes and then my foot stuck to something on the rug. Ick. I looked down and my feet were filthy - I'd been in the room maybe 2 minutes.

The bathroom was also disappointing - the tub was filthy with the remnants of old dirty feet trying to be washed off and all fixtures were dull with age. The mirror was hanging crooked on the wall and all towels were that dingy white that white towels get after 1,000's of washes. And the toilet had been plunged so many times there were stains in the bowl.

And the bed- there were stains all over the decorative pillows and when I pulled back the sheets, there were stains that housekeeping had hidden near the foot of the bed. Oh - and the air conditioning was at best half-working. That was it for me. As tired as I was, I knew I wouldn't be able sleep in this room.

The one bright spot (and the reason for the two points) in my experience at the St. James was Ashley at the front desk. When I went to cancel my reservation for the next two nights, she was extremely gracious, apologized profusely, and switched me to another room for the night (which had a slightly cleaner floor and a working air conditioner). She also took care of canceling everything. She was extremely professional and management should reward her for her great customer service.

In the end, while I realize the St. James is only a 3.5 star hotel, even motel 6's are clean! And they don't charge upwards of $350/night. The St. James is tired and in desperate need of a renovation, new linens and DEEP carpet cleaning. Maybe then it will live up to its 3.5 star name.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Monday night. We got into town pretty early (about 10am) and they let us check in early which was awesome and valet parking was only $33 for all night until 4pm the next day which is a great price for the city and the price of the room was extremely reasonable and for the price you can't ask for a better location. A short walk to bourbon st and everything else from canal or Decatur st and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. This was a pretty nice and quiet hotel, that's not too say that we were.. but all in all we truly enjoyed our stay and will most likely stay here on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights after working in/around the gulf coast and it was the perfect spot to explore New Orleans from. Walking distance to the French Quarter, without the noise of the French Quarter, the building itself is beautiful, it's decor straight from the West Indies. The price was very reasonable and considering how little time I actually spent in my room, I was happy I didn't overspend at the W down the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When traveling to NOLA I was not looking for the typical loud, party, New Orleans experience. I like history and architecture. This hotel was a great find. The building was built in 1833 and has gone through many incarnations over the years. The staff is very nice and helpful. We had an issue with the shower the first morning and it was fixed while we were out for the day. The breakfast brought to the door is great since I can never drag myself out of bed early enough for the standard hotel lobby breakfast. The room was clean and had great character. Floors are a little slanted (built 1833), exposed beam ceiling, section of exposed brick wall and cute, private balcony. A welcome change from the boring cookie cutter hotel room. Safe area close to shops, restaurants, and the trolley but away from the loud noise and craziness. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

After researching hotels near or on Poydras close to the New Orleans Arena, this hotel seemed to be the one we should try. The main selling point for me was the numerous posts pointing out the excellent staff by name. When reviewers remember the names of staff, you should really pay attention, because that means that the staff was exceptional or poor. In the case of St. James Hotel, the staff was described as extremely helpful.
When we arrived, the staff was indeed helpful, pleasant, and accommodating, making this stay even more special for us!

The king suite is spacious and very inviting. The decor and flooring looks great, and the welcome note and snacks certainly set a great tone for how our stay would be!

And finally, to be awakened to breakfast in bed, of complimentary croissants, coffee, and juice, certainly helped put the fifth star in an already pleasantly unforgettable stay.

Thanks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.