We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. James Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. James Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #45 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value & location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Monday night. We got into town pretty early (about 10am) and they let us check in early which was awesome and valet parking was only $33 for all night until 4pm the next day which is a great price for the city and the price of the room was extremely reasonable and for the price you can't ask for a better location. A short walk to bourbon st and everything else from canal or Decatur st and the staff was extremely nice and helpful. This was a pretty nice and quiet hotel, that's not too say that we were.. but all in all we truly enjoyed our stay and will most likely stay here on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    92
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
49
86
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights after working in/around the gulf coast and it was the perfect spot to explore New Orleans from. Walking distance to the French Quarter, without the noise of the French Quarter, the building itself is beautiful, it's decor straight from the West Indies. The price was very reasonable and considering how little time I actually spent in my room, I was happy I didn't overspend at the W down the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

When traveling to NOLA I was not looking for the typical loud, party, New Orleans experience. I like history and architecture. This hotel was a great find. The building was built in 1833 and has gone through many incarnations over the years. The staff is very nice and helpful. We had an issue with the shower the first morning and it was fixed while we were out for the day. The breakfast brought to the door is great since I can never drag myself out of bed early enough for the standard hotel lobby breakfast. The room was clean and had great character. Floors are a little slanted (built 1833), exposed beam ceiling, section of exposed brick wall and cute, private balcony. A welcome change from the boring cookie cutter hotel room. Safe area close to shops, restaurants, and the trolley but away from the loud noise and craziness. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

After researching hotels near or on Poydras close to the New Orleans Arena, this hotel seemed to be the one we should try. The main selling point for me was the numerous posts pointing out the excellent staff by name. When reviewers remember the names of staff, you should really pay attention, because that means that the staff was exceptional or poor. In the case of St. James Hotel, the staff was described as extremely helpful.
When we arrived, the staff was indeed helpful, pleasant, and accommodating, making this stay even more special for us!

The king suite is spacious and very inviting. The decor and flooring looks great, and the welcome note and snacks certainly set a great tone for how our stay would be!

And finally, to be awakened to breakfast in bed, of complimentary croissants, coffee, and juice, certainly helped put the fifth star in an already pleasantly unforgettable stay.

Thanks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My first impression of St. James, great location. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and overall, good for one night but one of the reasons why we booked with St. James was because of the free shuttle to the airport listed on the kayak site. When it was time for us to leave, a taxi was waiting for us and we were told that they did not have a free shuttle and that this was a problem encountered in the past. I did not have the time to debate why we should not be held accountable for the payment for the taxi but we had to leave. If this was a situation previously confronted then why are you going through it again, it just gave me the impression that the hotel could care less if the next guest went through the hassle. I believe that the receipt should have been paid by the hotel, the grievance then would have been avoided. You can blame kayak all you want, but kayak is a trusted site and honestly. someone should be checking on what is listed on every middle man site. And FYI - the gym is Not located IN the hotel, its a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Enjoyed our visit at the St James very much! Friendly staff, spacious room, beautiful courtyard, close to everything!! Great service with auto valet, fresh water in lobby, quiet room, best of all coffee and croissants delivered to the room in the morning!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was chosen by my daughter & her boyfriend who decided to visit New Orleans for a long weekend & invited us along. I visit New Orleans about twice a year & wasn't too familiar with this hotel although I had walked & driven by many times I thought it might be too far away from the French Quarter. Boy was I wrong. The hotel is small boutique style, quaint, clean & updated. The rooms are nicely decorated, the bed very comfortable. The staff is awesome, friendly & helpful. The location is a short walk to the Quarter, a few blocks from the World War II museum, around the corner from Mother's, & near several other great restaurants. Ashley & James were the best, very knowledgeable of the area & friendly. All this for a great price. I would stay here again & highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front part of the hotel the first few nights & were moved to another room acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.