We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient New Orleans location with great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bookmark
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient New Orleans location with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very convenient location, easy walking distance to French Quarter attractions. Quiet location, older building with character, which is my preference over a large chain hotel. Front desk staff extremely helpful, especially since I'm not familiar with the city. I got good recommendations for restaurants, galleries, antiques. ...I stayed in a standard room 2nd floor - surprisingly large, with good amenities - fridge, microwave, toiletries. Room was very clean, good housekeeping. Free wi-fi worked well for me, a nice perk. Free continental breakfast delivered to my room was also a great perk, I like starting the day with good coffee! I didn't drive in, took the train (Amtrak is a very quick cab ride away), so no feedback about parking. Pretty little patio area between the buildings. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Wren1031,

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We love knowing we provided supreme customer service to a guest as that is a continuous goal of every member of our staff.

We look forward to future stays and the opportunity to live up to your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    111
    26
    15
    7
See reviews for
52
105
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked the hotel through Choice Privileges. It was conveniently located, walking distance to the street car or just about anything else the city has to offer. Our room was located on the second floor, but had difficulty with the internet connect. The next morning, just a mention of the problem and Amy offered to upgrade us to a suite which wasn't ready (there might be a shortage of a housekeeping staff?) When we returned from the clubs after midnight, we moved to the suite which was delightful and much appreciated. The desk staff was so knowledgeable and helpful and went the extra yard on everything. Amy, Danielle and Tori were "knights in shining armor" for the four nights. We'll certainly book St. James next time, which might be just a few months away. One can't stay away from the NOLA charm for very long. It was especially entertaining as part of "American Heist" movie was being filmed right on Magazine and Natchez, so two floats were brought in to replicate Mardi Gras, and a car was blown up!!
P & K

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Paul and Kathy B,

My staff was delighted to hear they were your "knights in shining armor" throughout your stay! We are so happy that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and the uniqueness we have to offer. Now don't stay away from the NOLA charm too long and we'll see you in a few months!!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Let me start by saying we paid a lot more for this hotel than it's worth...but we did stay there during the Essence Music Festival so we paid less than most other area hotels during that week. It's cute, quaint, and the front desk staff is super friendly. They originally sent us to a room that already had a resident, which yielded a very embarrassing first impression. They quickly replaced our room stating they were sending us somewhere bigger/nicer, but it wasn't. Our room wasn't bad, but they didn't have to lie. I suspect it was just a way to keep from giving us a discount. They also didn't have a bell hop to assist with the bags, so we did it ourselves. During our stay there was no breakfast served either. FYI, there is a small parking lot right at the end of the block. If you're not going to drive a lot and you're lucky enough to seize a space, it's cheaper per day than valet...with that said, the valet is cheaper per day than any of the other larger garages in town. We didn't drive at all during our stay which is the best part of this hotel! We were able to walk to the Super dome, the convention center, tons of great restaurants, and even Bourbon street. The sheets were clean, the pillows & bedding were new, the towels were soft, and they gave great directions and even provided maps. The hotel is older, and it's apparent, but it's also clear that they're making improvements as they go. It has character & it's not some massive chain that I could stay in on any trip to anywhere. It was a part of our wonderful New Orleans experience. All and all, if you're going to experience the city and not the hotel accommodations, this is the perfect spot to be close to it all and get a good night's (or sunrise) sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
K_Blessed,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback in our constant efforts to improve the hotel. I am happy to write that we are now serving breakfast and have made several updates to the property since your stay. We are thankful for the recommendation and would love the opportunity to make a better impression next time you visit New Orleans!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was a great quite hotel within walking distance of almost anything you want to do in New Orleans. The Hospitality was impectable, upon arrival we were bumped up to a sweet because it was available and we were first time guests to the city. The concierge was very polite and helpful and pointed us in the right direction every step of the way. The room was great not huge but very quaint with good amenities. The bed was very comfortable and a very nice size TV. There was an office area as well as a back porch that of all things was the only disapointment (It was not well kept up) I will be staying here on my next stay to the great city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Golfingman72,

We are very happy to hear that your first visit to New Orleans was a success and we could be a part of it! I appreciate your feedback about the porch as we are currently renovating them. New Orleans and the St. James team await your return to our unique city!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed for a night in New Orleans and decided to choose the St. James. We got a really great rate and didn't expect to get amazing service, but we were wrong. Amy checked us in and she was very informative and our children loved her! At check out, Danielle was so funny, sweet, and made sure we enjoyed everything about our stay. These two ladies embody that southern hospitality that we have always heard of. The hotel was very close to the aquarium and the French Quarter, which was great for a family of four! The next time we are in New Orleans, the St. James will be our number one choice! To Amy and Danielle, keep up the wonderful work!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
EmmC_2,

The St. James family was ecstatic to receive your review! We do our best to provide southern hospitality everyday and it is wonderful to hear we are getting it right! Amy, Danielle and the rest of our staff can't wait for your next visit to NOLA!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I travel to New Orleans often, but the St. James is one hotel that we definitely adore. The location is perfect; only three blocks from the French Quarter and a short streetcar ride to the Garden District. The staff is phenomenal! Danielle, Amy, and Tori are the definition of southern hospitality! They were so knowledgeable of the area and gave us great recommendations on where to eat, drink, and where to enjoy a taste of the local perspective. The room was fantastic! We were upgraded to a suite at check-in, and it was definitely one of the highlights of our stay. Needless to say, we will definitely be staying here from now on and we will be telling all of our friends and family about the St. James!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! My staff will be delighted to know we gave you that touch of southern hospitality that we strive for everyday. We sincerely appreciate the recommendation to friends and family and can't wait to provide them with excellent customer service as well!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel. Was. amazing I really enjoyed myself Amy ross. And Dannelle were. Great they directed us to the best. Places to eat. And. party. I had a great experience a.nd I will return the people in this city really make you feel at home

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are so happy that you loved our city! Amy and Danielle were thrilled to hear that they enhanced your stay and we all look forward to your return!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.