We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff and Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Staff and Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girls and I booked this Hotel for Essence Festival weekend and as soon as we pulled up and walked in we were greeted with the most warm welcome by Amy (who is freakin awesome btw). This hotel has the perfect price, is in the most perfect location and has the the friendliest staff. Beautiful hotel and our room was wonderful. Whenever I visit the Big Easy I will be sure to book here and only here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the St. James! Essence Festival is one of our favorite weekends and we strive to be your home away from home while you're traveling. Amy is one of our greatest commodities and was very pleased to read your review. We can't wait until next year!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    118
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
53
111
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Throughly enjoyed my stay at the St. James. I had booked a Queen room and was upgraded to a King at check-in, which was nice. I got a good deal on the room at Expedia, and hotel exceeded my expectations. It's a small, boutique hotel, so there are not a lot of amenties like a bar or restaurant in the hotel, but there is a great breakfast place (The Ruby Slipper) nearby and it is close to both the French Quarter and Warehouse District which made it the perfect jumping off point for us to explore New Orleans. Amy and Danielle at the front desk were wonderful -- giving us lots of great suggestions on places to go and, especially, places eat and drink! All of the staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was comfy. Oh, and I enjoyed the cucumber water in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I am elated to read your review! It is our goal to exceed every guest's expectations and we take pleasure in doing so. Your positive comments make performing our services that much more enjoyable! We look forward to ensuring continued satisfaction on your next visit to New Orleans!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Came to NOLA to celebrate my 30th birthday - and stayed at the St. James. Price was exceptional, rooms nicely appointed (enjoyed the iPhone alarm clock) and the staff was extremely knowledgeable and nice. They provided great recommendations on things to do, where to eat, etc. location was great...out of the quarter and way from the noise, but close enough to walk to everything or catch the streetcar. Only "downside" our room on the third floor was TINY - but we were prepared for that, knowing the property to be historic. I understand there are larger rooms available.

We enjoyed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are thrilled you found our hotel to be a "Gem"! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel for a recent music festival (Essence). The location and customer service was great. Danielle, Amy, and several other employees worked hard to keep us satisfied. However, the rooms and overall condition of the hotel leaves too much to be desired. We will not be returning. But if location and smiling, friendly faces is your only requirement, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review our your recent stay!

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just wanted to let you know that I love the hotel we stayed at. Love the old architecture and décor The location was perfect, right in the middle of downtown, within walking distance to everything. The service was exceptional. Staff very friendly, helpful and in formable of the area and place to visit, eat etc. I Love Amy, Danielle, David etc. Everybody Made us feel at home and part of the family. You guys rock and I miss you. Made some friends for life. I hope I can visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We miss you too!! I am delighted you had such a pleasurable experience! I'll will be sure to pass on your sentiments to my entire staff. It is always wonderful to receive positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a girls weekend this past weekend and we were helped by a professional and friendly staff. Tori and Ryan both helped us when we had some inital hiccups. They initially put us in a wrong room and when we went back to tell them it would not work, it was quickly fixed. The rooms were comfortable, but at 1am we undid the sofa bed only to find a dirty sheet and crumbs. Apparently the sofabed was not cleaned. I went out to the front desk and was given clean sheets to put on the bed. We just decided to fold the sofabed up and put the sheets directly on the sofa cushions. Our door handle the bathroom kept falling off. We mentioned it to the staff one morning and still was not fixed when we came back at almost 3pm. I finally brought them the handle and it was put on right away after that. Like I said, there were a few hiccups, but I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again. The location was perfect and was within walking distance to most anything you needed. And there was 24/7 in out privileges with the valet. The rooms seemed to be remodeled with new bedding and furniture. Perhaps next time, there will be breakfast - since that is what we read on the sign "coming soon"-- I only wished it was last weekend soon! The pool (if you want to call it that) was small - reminded me of a kiddie pool but about four feet. We decided not to use it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, General Manager at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I appreciate the feedback and will consult my department heads about the issues you encountered. It's great to hear the staff was friendly and we look forward to future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Tori was the guy at the front desk that helped us the most! He was super friendly and was helpful enough to ask what we are interested in and if we had any plans so he could make some suggestions of things for us to do while we were there! The hotel was a lot nicer on the inside then the outside, so don't be afraid when you first pull up because I was a little. Not that it's terribly run down just didn't look quite as nice as the photos. The vallet was nice, you have to give them about 20 minutes to get your car back to the hotel so just call ahead, they did tell us this at check in! We walked everywhere from the hotel and overall had an amazing trip! I would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Director of Sales at St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to leave such a nice response. Tori is our rock star at the front desk and I am happy to see he was friendly and helpful for you. I will absolutely share this review with him and the entire staff.


Thanks again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.