We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amy, Rebecca and the team make this place a shining star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Amy, Rebecca and the team make this place a shining star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took the kids to Nawlins for Spring Break. This hotel was great! Well located with grocery stores, restaurants, the casino, Riverwalk, Canal Street cable cars, ferry and French Q. all in quick reach.

When we first arrived, they were swamped with people checking in... but Rebecca and Amy ran the desk like a well tuned machine, still with personality and personal service. We wanted a swamp tour and Rebecca researched everyone that evening, all the options, negotiated height requirements for one of my kids with an operator... wow. And then booked what we wanted. When my wife had concerns about the time, Rebecca didn't even flinch and offered to change it.

Our room was small for us, but reasonable at $109/ night and considering we booked at the last minute. By the evening though the A/C didn't cool properly. They immediately sent someone to look at. We left and came back late. They called to update me on the progress. The hotel was completely full. When it was clear they couldn't resolve until morning, yet they somehow worked out how to move us to another room. That room was a suite and it was sweet. It was much larger and very comfortable for 5 people. In the future I will book this room.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Housekeepers, security, maintenance. They quickly offered extras towels, gave us more soaps, coffee, sheets for the sofa bed. Slipped a note under the door to check that everything was satisfactory. Definitely was!

We could comfortably let our eldest babysit while we checked out the casino and felt very safe. This hotel team knew us and our kids. They kept an eye out.

Concerned at first this may be off the beaten path for French Q., etc., but definitely not. It was a perfect location with the right balance of access, resources, and family friendly area.

The owners of this establishment should be very proud of the top notch, dedicated people they have running it. Rebecca seemed to work around the clock. Amy was a fun, engaging professional who handled it all with ease and charm. The two night staff at the desk were equally awesome. Thanks for a great time. We'll come back.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a great suite or keep it lean and enjoy an efficient, affordable two bed r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    118
    27
    15
    7
See reviews for
53
111
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diboll, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The St James Hotel is in a great location. We never used our vehicle once we got there. The valet is 30 per day. We stayed in room 401 on the 4th floor. The beds are super comfy. The hotel is in an old building so don't expect it to be new. It is the perfect New Orleans style hotel. This was our first trip to New Orleans but won't be our last. We will stay at the St James Hotel again. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Between your two feet and streetcars you can get anywhere you want to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Greeted in this magnificent lobby by a wonderfully kind and knowledgeable Rebecca, we sipped lemon water while she checked us in, told us about the THREE courtyards filled with plants and seating. Rebecca asked us well placed questions to figure out our needs and changed our reservations on the spot to better suit us. She took time with us to make us comfortable and answer questions about New Orleans and how to get around. We were amazed at
The Caribbean and Creole touches from the heights of New Orleanean elegance. The service was excellent, we were greeted coming and going as if we were family. The charm and ambiance of New Orleans' exquisite hospitality is all alive and well here. I will definitely make this my only stay in New Orleans. By the way- do eat one dinner at their restaurant The Chophouse. Oh, by the way, the French doors opening from the room to a courtyard and looking at palms and a fountain clinched it.
Barb from Maine.

Room Tip: First floor has sweet courtyard space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The good: location is an easy walk to Bourbon Street in a quieter location; the beds are extremely comfortable; free wi fi & ac work great in the room; the towels are soft; the bathroom is a good size with hot water; tv has lots of channels; mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and safe in the room; coffee/water in lobby. The bad: our room looked over the side alley where the garbage truck came in the middle of each night and woke us up; Booking.com advertises an outdoor pool which looks more like a mid sized fountain with some kind of debri in it; no maid service one day (maybe because we stayed late in our room or maybe because the review from "Afsaneh N" resulted in the maid being fired after complaining about dirty towels...what a princess!). The Excellent: the front desk staff were very nice. A BIG THANK YOU to Rebecca for her extreme attentiveness ordering us an airport taxi, having dessert delivered to us from the Chophouse Restaurant, bringing towels to our room, offering great advice and giving us a later check out. She has a very professional and pleasant disposition creating a welcome environment at this quaint hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located near the garbage truck pick up zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a great little place! Great location within a few minutes walk of restaurants and nightlife galore. Charming and very well furnished with super comfy bed and bedding. We had a little snafu with the valet company but all was taken care of in a very professional and courteous manner. I would have no trouble staying here again. Amy at the front desk was just a joy to work with and suggested some terrific places to eat and visit!

Room Tip: The courtyards echo so if someone is talking, the sound WILL drift up to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place! The staff, the room, everything was flawless! There was a girl named Rebecca at the front desk, she was incredibly polite and very accommodating! When we first arrived she was warning a woman with kids about the nudity on bourbon st. I really felt like they were more than willing to take the extra step to make everybody's stay as pleasant as possible! I'm most certain that if anybody had a bad experience here then they did not get to speak with Rebecca. She really made the trip easy and pleasant!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Winner, The St. James Hotel is one of New Orleans' finest luxury boutique hotels. New Orleans' Creole-Caribbean influence has never been more alive thanks to its recent restoration completed in 2013. Located in the Banks Arcade, a 19th century landmark once the center of the Caribbean sugar and coffee trade, each of our 86 guestrooms celebrates this intimate connection with elegant West Indies decor and complete with rooftop terraces and charming courtyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.