We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowed by great service and compassionate employees” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brent House Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brent House Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Brent House Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1512 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70121   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Biloxi, Mississippi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wowed by great service and compassionate employees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I had to stay here for 3 nights due to an extensive surgery and procedure scheduled for my husband. The rooms were exceptionally clean. I was treated with overwhelming kindness and compassion by the staff and front desk; they upheld my desire for privacy and their late check out policy helped me tremendously. The staff was also quick to help me book a room at the last minute when we needed it again a week later. On another note, the hotel/hospital is close to the Garden District , Audubon Zoo, and some great restaurants (5-10 minute drive, depending on traffic). The French Quarter is about a 15 minute drive, as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
21
6
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I traveled to New Orleans during early May for a medical consultation at Ochsner Clinic. We chose the Brent House Hotel because it is adjacent to the Ochsner Clinic. Our experience with the Brent House facility and their staff certainly deserves a feedback of "outstanding". This review process was initiated by our family, and not hotel staff or management.

Excellence began with a cell phone call to the front desk while we were traveling near New Orleans, and looking for directions to the hotel. The hotel desk associate, Karin, provided easy to follow travel directions. Upon arrival, she immediately secured a luggage cart and walked to curbside to assure we were adequately accommodated for luggage handling. This level of highly personalized attention was greatly helpful and appreciated.

Excellence continued with a newly renovated room and superb housekeeping services. The room climate control was excellent, the room was always quiet, and was convenient to an elevator. Occasional calls from our room to the front desk were promptly and courteously answered. Dining facilities were conveniently available in the adjoining Clinic, and the food was both healthy and delicious. With a secure parking building adjoining the hotel, we were able to conveniently leave to enjoy the world-famous culinary world of the "Big Easy", New Orleans of course. Our personal safety and security were never a concern while staying at this facility. Some of the "first names" of associates who provided us with services includes "Betty", "Tina", "Rafael", and "Karin". At checkout, we were also fortunate to meet the Hotel manager, "Ms. Freeze", who was quite impressive with her "manage by walking around" style hotel management. Her professionalism was clearly reflected in the hotel staff which she manages.

I am a retired manager for a fortune 100 company. My opinions are based on a full lifetime of travel experiences that involved national and international travel.

Room Tip: Call ahead and establish criteria for your stay. The newly renovated rooms were an excellent choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Would not have booked this location except for the fact that we booked late and it was the only reasonably priced hotel we could find. Hotel itself is very nice, but the location leaves much to be desired...there is literally nothing close by except a subway and a few dingy bars. Hotel is connected to the hospital, so it's great for people visiting sick relatives, but other than that, try to find something closer to downtown.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere unless there to visit people at the hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel has a hallway you walk past connecting it to the medical centre. Unfortunately we booked this without realizing that. When you park in the parking garage you cannot avoid seeing patients. If you are only on holiday I would not recommend staying here. The hotel was neat and tidy, the staff were polite but not overly helpful. There was only one thin blanket on the bed which was not warm enough for me, the guests next door were exceptionally noisy. My husband was less phased by the hospital aspect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel staff was nice and rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The housekeeping staff was very friendly. The hotel is part of a hospital and so it is unavoidable to run into families of patients in the corridors or in the garage, which a bit spooky. There is not much in the neighborhood but the streetcar is not too far away. There is a fitness room which is mostly frequented by the hospital staff. The parking is free.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked the Brent House after having no other option due to the NBA All Star game and Mardi-Gras. Its an average hotel but quite a distance away from the French Quarter etc. I must say that we didn't expect much but we're quite surprised. We checked in later than anticipated due to winter storm issues and we greeted warmly by a friendly front-end staff. They arranged to have food delivered to our room from the restaurant next door even after the place closed. The rooms are average but there is a very nice solarium complete with a water fountain. Overall, this hotel is fine with all the amenities a traveler would want. Unfortunately it's location is what keeps it from being a real gem. Unless of course you find yourself in the hospital next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

First of all, if you are looking at the website and think this hotel is only 6 miles out of the french quarter, it is a world away...it will take at least 30 minutes to get to the french quarter once you find your way out. Next, if you are thinking there will be a sign to tell you where the hotel is ... you won't. Just pull into the front drive of Ochsner medical center (yes, it is IN the hospital) and pull all the way until you think you have to leave, then you will see the hotel entrance and name of the hotel. Once you have registered (should you still choose to stay), get back in your car (they do have parking - hospital garage parking) and drive back out to the back of the hospital and walk into the hospital. Looking for signs? Good luck. Once you enter the hospital, turn left and find the elevator bank. TAke it down to the first floor and then turn right, follow the hallway around until you find the next bank of elevators to take you to your room. Definitely get a remodeled room. The halls for the rooms are like " the Shining" movie, just long halls with doors. THe remodeled room was small but had nice furniture and decorating but it hadn't totally been renovated... like the 1970's thermostat. Below 60 was air conditioning, above 60 was furnace hot and the ventilation grate was vintage 1970 also. THe closet and bathroom doors hadn't been repaired/painted and just kind of swung there (they were folding doors - even for the tiny bathroom). Bathroom was ... tiny. The window that looked over the "atrium" also looked over the other medical center windows... hopefully no one sick looking out. THe atrium at night was not lit... kind of scary and the atrium is just like an opening between the 3 medical buildings and hotel.. with chairs and tables. Can't imagine just relaxing in there. And for food, the restaurant was closed for remodeling so nothing to eat when we got there unless you hit the hospital vending machines. Breakfast - hospital cafeteria or coffee pavilion in hospital lobby. No place to relax and have an adult beverage unless you packed it yourself and drank in the weird and dark atrium. Conference center - which I stayed here just for the conference - you must leave the hotel and go back to the hospital and go up one floor. So you will spend a bit of your time co mingling with hospital clientele. HOspital cafeteria... standard cafeteria food... slop on a line. I was supposed to stay there 2 nights but checked out after 1 ...just too weird and creepy. No atmosphere. If you are going because it is close to the quarter, find another place with some atmosphere that isn't a hospital.

Room Tip: Remodeled rooms on lower floors.... rather face the street than the hospital
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brent House Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brent House Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1512 Jefferson Highway, New Orleans, LA 70121
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brent House Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brent House Hotel is adjacent to Ochsner Clinic Foundation and is located midway between New Orleans Airport and downtown New Orleans, approx 5 miles. The Brent House has 137 rooms and suites that surround a beautiful 6 story Atrium featuring tropical foliage and fountains. Spacious rooms face the interior Atrium or view the city and pool. All rooms are furnished with in-room refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, flat-screen TV's, and internet access. Guests also enjoy access to our 2 restaurants, gourmet coffee shop, heated outdoor pool and hot tub, gift shop, barber shop and beauty salon, 24 hour gym, and FREE covered parking. The Brent House Conference Center offers 3,000 square feet of flexible meeting space accommodating functions and banquets of 10 to 300 persons. Ask about upgrading to one of our newly renovated Preferred rooms when making your reservation or at Check-In. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brent House Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brent House Hotel And Conference Center
Brent House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brent House Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.