We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!! Wonderful Location, Fine Accomodations....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #57 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Myrtle Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!! Wonderful Location, Fine Accomodations....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My Partner and I chose this hotel because of its great reviews, convenient location, and affordability. We were not disappointed. Poolside room with balcony was clean, nice, and well appointed. All employees very knowledgeable and helpful, from the guys who carted all our baggage, parked the car, to the check in clerk. We were there for a Celebration of Life Event/Getaway and could not have had a better time. If you want good value, great location, and great service, the Hotel St. Marie would be the place.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    454
    491
    162
    80
    37
See reviews for
153
478
59
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here October 3 - 6, 2010, for a business trade show. Just about all the hotels in the city were booked by the time I made my reservation here. I read the reviews on here and the hotel was rated 22 out of 154 hotels in New Orleans so I figured it would be pretty good, especially for $100.00 per night. Seemed like a good value. Plus the pictures looked good.

Great location, right off Bourbon Street; close to everything in the French Quarter. Hotel is very inviting on the outside with a very nice & attractive lobby. Got in the elevator to go up to the rooms and got off on the 3rd floor; halls very appealing. Then got to the room and Whoa! What a let down compared to everything else. A little dated for my taste. Old furniture. Old TV. Old wall paper pealing off the walls in the bathroom. How about an update! And fast. They still use real keys to get in the door instead of the swiped cards. What do you expect for $100.00, though?

Overall, very average room. Front desk clerks weren't that friendly. Maids and maintenance people very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

After staying in many of new orleans large impersonal hotels ... it was a treat to find the st marie..in New Orleans.. Great location romantic pool free breakfast.. and a staff that is geared to helping the traveling public find their way around new orleans.. you can have the big stuffy hotels with all the glter.. I'll take the st marie.. and its lovely alure.. Others could learn from their hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We chose this hotel based on feedback from Trip Advisor. We wanted a hotel with old world charm and a great location- which this hotel had....however, the price was inflated because we were here the weekend of the football game. The staff was not helpful. We asked multiple times for recommendations and got poor feedback. The housekeeping staff left dirty glasses in our room every day. The room was muaty smelling. There was a bag of trash- cigs and an ashtray- 0n top of our TV stand. The staff said sorry but nothing else was done to alleviate the issue- cost reduction, etc.....The balcony was shared with the room next to us. It was not clear when I made reservations. I wanted our own balcony or would have requested such. I was very disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I loved the old city hotel ambviance. The hotel is one and half blocks off of Bourbon Street but is very quiet and full of old world charm. The maid service are the nicest people ever who go far out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. I received a wonderful rate from booking through Amtrak.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We needed to get out of town, so I looked for a hotel with a good rate. Stayed at one of her sister hotels with absolutly no issues and wanted to see what this place was like. Doesn't hurt that the rates were the best I could find in the FQ for the location.

The staff were all beyond nice and helpful, honestly some of the best I have ever experienced. The courtyard/pool was beautiful, and the lobby beat the hell out of the sister hotel. They checked us in way early which was yet another bonus for the hotel. I booked us a courtyard view balcony, and it was awesome. The balcony was a little small, but it was still really, really cool. We were far enough over and up to where we got a great view of the FQ.

The room needs a lot of help. Mold in the bathroom, sheets were beyond worn, towels were so worn it had holes in one, a/c leaked(yet worked almost too good, which is never a bad thing in NO), toilet seat looked like someone had been chewing on it, and the fabric was coming off the chairs, as well as the door handle to the balcony was coming off.

Raise the rates a tad and clean/update the rooms and you will have an amazing hotel. But as is, I wouldn't recommend to my parents and would warn my friends about the room, yet remind them the location is amazing, the staff is amazing and it can be had for an unbelievable price if they are more budget minded and won't be worrying about the room all that much.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

As this was our first trip to New Orleans and the French Quarter, we were not sure where to stay. The Hotel St. Marie turned out to be perfect. The price was reasonable, condition of the hotel and room excellent and the location excellent as well.
Being less than a block from Bourbon Street and centrally located made it easy to come and go.
All the staff were helpful and professional. Everything we asked for was provided.
The light continental breakfast is a nice way to start the day. The peaceful and refreshing pool a great way to unwind. The room was quiet and secure. The A/C worked great. Lighting was a bit low, but nothing untolerable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.