We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four and a half stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $109
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Columbia, Md
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Four and a half stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2005

Just returned from a stay at the St. Marie last week and overall it was just fine. I had a balconey room that was very large, very clean, bathroom was fine and certainly large enough. Staff was amiable and helpful with suggestions and booking tours. Noise was never an issue and the bed was comfortable. The only minor thing was I couldn't adjust the flow on the shower head, but they fixed that and believe me it was no big deal. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it highly, especially if you prefer larger rooms. Unfortunately I didn't try their restaraunt, Hillarys, but I did eat breakfast a few times in their Bistro and that was nice and very convenient since it opens at 7:00am. I enjoyed some wonderful meals at Peristyle, always a favorite. Dickie Brennans Steakhouse was wonderful too and the service was impeccable and if you're looking for very large shrimp at VERY reasonable prices try the casual Deanies Seafood on Iberville. I know some people will disagree with this, but I really enjoy the Jazz Brunch at the Court of Two Sisters. It also helped that the weather was absolutely gorgeous the whole time I was there which made the Court of Two Sisters more appealing to sit outside.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    559
    183
    86
    46
See reviews for
183
542
64
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2005

Hotel St. Marie in New Orleans, LA

Along with four of our friends, we recently stayed at the St. Marie Hotel for several days following our cruise. My husband and I had been there about eight years ago and remembered how charming it was, so chose it again for our friends.

The location is so great that we were able to enjoy the fun of Bourbon Street without being disturbed by undo noise. Our rooms shared the large balcony overlooking the courtyard. It was a great place for the six of us to meet before dinner, as well as have breakfast. The rooms were lovely and rate reasonable.

To top it off, the staff was exceptional, very friendly, courteous and helpful. Jerry and John at the reception desk were outstanding.

We are happy to recommend this hotel to all our friends and look forward to staying at the St. Marie again.

Sincerely, Ted and Helen

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2005

4 of us, my 25 yr old brother, 84 yr old granny, my wife and I (in our early 30's) stayed here for 4 nights in December(4-8th). The hotel is in a perfect location, 1/2 block off of Bourbon St. Very close to the action and noise and fun but we could still sleep at night. There are numerous bars, shops and restaurants within walking distance (even for granny), and the French Market/Riverfront area is about 4 blocks away. There is plenty to do while you are here, if you can't find something then there is something wrong with you. Our room was very clean and a good size and everything worked properly. The staff was great (we had an incedent with my brother, too much booze and messy sheets at around midnight, and the staff was right there with new sheets 2 mins after we called. They took the bad ones with no problem or complaints.) On our next trip to NO we will hope to stay here again. No complaints at all. If you get the chance, go to The Cat's Meow (1 block down Bourbon) for some hilarious karaoke.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2005

Hosted a regional conference at the Hotel St. Marie. Attendees came from all over the southeast region of the country. The attendees had nothing but praise for the hotel and hotel staff. The location of the hotel particularly impressed those attending the conference. It is convenient to everything one loves about New Orleans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

The Hotel St. Marie has great charm. Each room is a little different. If you're looking for something unique and not a cookie cutter chain hotel, this is the place. It's truly a taste of the old French Quarter.

We recently held a conference at the St. Marie and everything went as planned. The setups were done correctly each day and the staff was great! They couldn't have been any friendlier or accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel St. Marie for 4 nights last week. 2/20-2/24/2005. The hotel was so nice! The front desk clerk, Tasha, was so helpful and greeted us when we came in and went out. Everyone was very personable! Our room was wonderful, clean and the balcony really added to the ambiance of the whole French Quarter experience. Thanks for a wonderful time and we will recommend your hotel to our friends. I can't wait to return and stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2005

I manage corporate events for FedEx and select hotels around the globe. I know hotels! When I need to “get away” from corporate life and get some "New Orleans," the Hotel St. Marie is my choice. One block to the quarter and central to everything, St. Marie should be your home in New Orleans. Hotel St. Marie has wonderful amenities, Old South charm and is small enough to provide personal service. The rooms are great, reasonably priced, a good value for your personal travel dollars. Their breakfast is the best and most reasonably priced in the quarter. Don’t miss the Bloody Mary’s.
The staff KNOWS you’re at the hotel and are the kindest in the Quarter. Where else do you hug the front desk clerk, bellman and valet goodbye!
Hotel St. Marie is my personal choice for New Orleans; it’s like going home again and again. Make it yours. Book early. The secret is out.

Mary Harvey Gurley
Manager, Local Market and Event Management
FedEx Corporation

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.