We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, nice pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #62 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location, nice pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

we have been to this hotel twice now and find its a good value with a great location. It's walking distance to Jackson Square, Cafe Du Monde, Bourbon Street and more. Travis at the desk is a great help, and we loved having a pool to cool off in.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    530
    172
    84
    41
See reviews for
169
516
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Didnt even have to stay. 3 times on the phone trying to get some info for parking and check-in/out times, still never got info i needed from them. Horrible attitudes. Too many good hotels in this area to waste any more time. Took business else where.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

There was nothing about the Hotel St Marie that wasn't first rate. The staff is friendly, helpful, cheerful, knowledgeable...............can't think of any more adjectives to describe them. Our rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The bathrooms were well stocked with towels, soap, and everything else one might need. It was a great experience and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

You can hardly beat the French Quarter location, genuine NOLA feel, architecture, and friendly staff of the St. Marie. Balconies are a great asset although windows would be a plus. Had some issues with internal noise from staff and toilet that had to be fixed, but staff resolved with smiles.

Room Tip: balcony facing interior courtyard - some pool noise is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

As frequent visitors to The French Quarter, we decided on an impromptu trip. Few hotels were available due to late notice, and we found a very affordable deal at Hotel St. Marie. We usually stay at The Bourbon Orleans which is much more pricey. We weren't looking to spend an arm and a leg this time, so Hotel St. Marie worked. We booked the least expensive room and ended up in the annex past the parking garage. These rooms are not as nice as the ones in the main house and lack the granite bathroom countertops. The lighting in the room was very dim as well. BUT, this is the historic French Quarter and one must remember that buildings are over 200 years old and you're paying for charm and ambiance, not first class resort rooms. That being said, The Hotel St. Marie served our purpose. We were not looking to lounge in the room of a brand new resort all day, we go to New Orleans to enjoy the ambiance, night life, and charm of The Quarter. Most hotels in The French Quarter are worn and old, and this is no exception. But, there is a certain charm to it, and we love and accept it! If you want brand new resorts and cheesy hospitality, don't come to New Orleans. Our older room was far away from everyone and even overlooked a beautiful, deserted courtyard. It was great ambiance. Before our night out, we took a late afternoon dip in the refreshing courtyard pool. While the water was nice and clean, I would suggest that the hotel staff have someone on hand to service and manage the pool area. Many disrespectful guests left their used towels, empty plastic cups, and waste all over the chairs and tables. This is certainly NOT the hotel's fault and I blame the guests for that! But, someone needs to keep that pool/courtyard clean on a Saturday evening. In short, the Hotel St. Marie was exactly what we needed, a place to lay our heads after a long day and night of exploring The French Quarter. It's right in the center of everything and the price was very reasonable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for a bachelorette party. I couldn't have asked for a more convenient location. The hotel is less than a block from Bourbon Street, but we didn't hear much of the Bourbon Street noise from our room (which over looked Toulouse). The staff was extremely friendly and greeted us as we entered and exited the hotel. My only complaint is that one of our rooms smelled like paint.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fulton, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed at the hotel Saint Marie for an girls trip. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Rooms on the street side are kinda noisy. Small balconies. The restaurant Valcherie( I think how it's spelled) is great. 1 block off Bourbon ST.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.