We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a tiny attic room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $109
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a tiny attic room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The hotel has a nice lobby. The staff gave us a different room since we arrived earlier than the check in time. It wasn't a great favor. The room we were given on the fifth floor was tiny with low ceilings. Thank God we are not both particularly large as we would be bumping into each other. It was nothing special to write about. Location was good in the french quarters close to Bourbon St. However, we would not return again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    559
    183
    86
    46
See reviews for
184
542
64
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

located about two blocks off of bourbon street this hotel was awesome for the price. $100 a night for a king size bed with a balcony and courtyard view. location was great if you want to be close to bourbon street and we didn't hear any noise whatsoever at night when we were trying to sleep. clean and courteous service. everything was pretty much in walking distance and the area seemed very safe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay for one night mid-week. I couldn't get over how affordable Hotel St. Marie was. I was worried the cheap mid-week price meant it would be cheap inside but it wasn't at all. Beautiful hotel. Very pretty courtyard. Hotel staff was super friendly.

Our room was sort of small but not the smallest I've ever been in New Orleans. The room had everything we needed. Loved the valet parking. I've stayed at the hotel across the street where I had to back myself out of a tiny, dark, TIGHT parking garage. It was so nice to just hand the keys over to someone else.

We'll be back for sure! Especially after seeing all the brand new beds being installed that day. Looked comfy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waveland, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great service and rooms. Brand new queen size mattresses. Comfortable accessories. We had room service for breakfast, Fast hot breakfast at reasonable prices.

Close to everything. 1/2 block off of Bourbon Street. The staff were exceptionally helpful. I have been there before but for some reason this time seemed better. A great getaway ti relax, Because if the bad weather we stayed in the rooms most of the time..
I caught up on lots of reading..

I would have stayed an extra day but the rooms were full for Friday night.

Room Tip: There was not a fitness center as far as I know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great location in the French Quarter...easy access to all restaurants, bars, shopping and sight-seeing. This hotel was very good. Our room was small but we were really only there to sleep. Next time I would have requested a room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. The restaurant connected to this hotel, Vacherie, is incredible!!!! It's worth staying at the hotel just to go next door to eat at every meal. All in all, I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is really nice and the staff is very friendly! The only thing that was lacking when we stayed (August 2012) were a few of the modern conveniences, like plugs for your phone close to the bed. The TV was a bit dated too (as in not a flat screen HDTV), though that may have been replaced by now. The bathroom was clean and the beds were comfortable. The lobby and courtyard are gorgeous. The location is excellent! I'd probably stay here again. I wish I had taken more pictures.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our first trip to New Orleans and choosing a hotel was not an easy choice. After reading the reviews for the Hotel St. Marie, I decided this was where we should stay. I'm so happy with my decision! The hotel is beautiful and the staff was wonderful. The Vacherie bar was a great place to hang out and unwind at the end of an evening on Bourbon St. Our room faced the courtyard so our room was very quiet and the view was lovely. The next time we visit this city, I won't even think about staying anywhere else but at the Hotel St. Marie.

Room Tip: Two restaurants to try for breakfast are, the Rivers Edge on Decatur St. for the Ragin Cajun omlet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.