We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #62 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Enjoyed a recent stay at the Hotel St. Marie for a four-day conference. The best thing about the hotel is the location for sure, only a half-block from Bourbon Street on Toulouse, and one of the better blocks on Bourbon at that, with Pat O'Brien's Bar and Courtyard, Fat Tuesday's Daiquiris, etc. The location around the hotel isn't overly loud like some of the hotels directly on Bourbon, which is a plus. Or you can just book a courtyard room and avoid the street noise common in the French Quarter at all hours of the night. A good base of operations, only a few blocks from Royal Street shops and antique stores, and a few more blocks to the heart of it all, Jackson Square. If you are an architecture buff, you will enjoy walking Dauphine Street directly behind the hotel. Very nice. The room I booked was a courtyard balcony, and it was unexpectedly large with king bed, two end tables, desk/chair, dresser/tv, round table with two side chairs, and large bathroom. The only negative thing about the room was the small'ish window/french door to the balcony with heavy curtains, which made the room very dark. It did come with five lamps, though, so you could light it up, albeit with unnatural light. The free wifi was a plus compared to large chain hotels. The courtyard area is nice, maybe a little small, with a small pool that wouldn't hold too many people. But lots of tables, and lots of smokers taking advantage of their balconies. Better than in the rooms I guess. The restaurant and bar in this hotel are a real find--Vacherie. We absolutely loved our breakfast every day. For $10 we got two eggs, potatoes, ham, and one of the best biscuits baked in the south, and I've had a few to compare. We also had a very good dinner here one evening, with a great appetizer--yam chips. The hotel bar has happy hour specials and comfortable booth seating. A quiet respite from Bourbon Street with a convenient restroom. I was quite pleased with the hotel staff who helped us call a bunch of taxis which showed up within a few minutes. The check-in folks were very courteous throughout the entire stay, as were the breakfast wait staff. We only ran into one surly waitress at dinner, but everyone else was as nice as can be. Others have commented that this hotel is aging, and yes it shows some chips of paint and older carpet and even some moldy smells common in the tropical south. But I observed three different maintenance workers while I was at the hotel, not counting maids, and they were wiping down chair rails, polishing the brass in the elevator, and cleaning the front windows, and that's just what I saw. I never saw any signs of insect activity in the hotel, so I think the manager runs a pretty tight ship. The maids could be a little more generous with shampoo, never replacing the bottle once in five days, but otherwise the room was clean. I would easily stay at this location again, particularly if I could score the $89 per night rate we enjoyed in March 2013. Quite a bargain, I think. Skip the unfriendly Sheraton and Marriott on distant Canal Street and enjoy the real French Quarter--stay at the Hotel St. Marie. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    529
    172
    84
    41
See reviews for
167
515
62
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Staff was very helpful and polite. Needs a bit of refurbishing in hallways, but room was beautiful. Location is awesome. Parking is $30 per day, but the parking attendant was so nice, we didn't mind paying!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

As others have mentioned, the hotel is really showing signs of aging. However, things can age and still be clean. That is not the case here. The headboard had layers of dust as did the baseboards and slats in the bathroom door. The long hairs still attached to the hair dryer didn't help make a good impression either. A few more housekeepers may help) If you are allergic to dust, do not stay here

I wouldn't recommend staying in the French Quarter if you are travelling with small children, but would suggest a hotel on the edge. This is a party place and seeing people passed out on the sidewalk, or being ill even before 3 pm, might be upsetting for them

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have stayed multiple times at the Hotel St. Marie and its sister property Prince Conti. The location is spot on, right in the middle of the French Quarter. The hotel itself is slightly older and a little quaint.

This time around we were put in a room with a few issues. We went to the front desk and requested a swap. Jenn was Awesome and was receptive and was able to move us within the day.

They have a new bar bar as well with a great staff.

With such service, I would go back and recommend folks to check it out.

Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Hotel St. Marie came recommended to me by a friend who stays there every year. It's an older hotel, and as per the other reviews, the rooms are showing their age. You will find the odd thing not working or just a little beyond its lifespan. It's not a bad place at all though - it's a 3.5.

We stayed on the top floor, which was great. We also had a inside balcony with chairs and table. Also great. The onsite cafe and restaurant were really good and staff were generally helpful. Our room was close to the elevator. The soundproofing from room to room is very, very good.

What wasn't so great - this is the French Quarter so the late night party people coming back had to walk by our room door all night long and we heard every conversation and sound from them from midnight through 5 am. And the beds were really soft and old. If we stay here next time, I'll request a room at the end of the hallway and away from the elevator. The balcony was great so if you can, get one. The fresh air alone is worth it. It was an interesting mix at this hotel - we saw everyone from older ladies, men in tuxedos, young men out for a good weekend and families. This was a couples trip for us. I don't know that I would stay here with my family (teens) next time or seek out something a little further away from Bourbon. I didn't regret the choice though this time.

Room Tip: Book away from the elevator (unless you like to hear the late night party people discuss their girly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Older hotel with good value and service and great location in French 1/4 and near the sights - Bourbon Street, Royal Street, the Cathedral, Cafe du Monde etc.; however is showing its age - walls need painting, plaster showing wear marks, windows showing signs of excessive moisture, and what must be the slowest elevator in the Universe...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

8 of us traveled to New Orleans to spend St Patricks Day weekend. The hotel is in the perfect location close to Bourbon Street but far enough away to get some peace and quiet. We booked three rooms. One with a courtyard balcony, two with street balconies. The rooms are old (it's the French Quarter) but they are well maintained for the amount of traffice they receive. The hotel staff was friendly without being in your face. The not so nice reviews had me a little nervous in regards to the noise, cleanliness, friendliness, etc.! This is The French Quarter!!! If you want quiet and new than don't stay there. It is beautiful, fun, historic, and within walking distance of almost anything you want to do. We ate at both restaurants and used the parking facility. Yes, the doors are loud if you slam them - try shutting them easier!! I would stay again and I would recommend to anyone wanting to visit. Keep it up guys! We had a great time.

Room Tip: I strongly suggest a courtyard balcony. Rooms are quieter. Dauphine Street seemed to get a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.