We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $87
Ranked #59 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friends and I didn't know what to expect when we came off of the highway and drove down Toulouse St. The tiny streets packed with people were hard to navigate so we pulled over and ducked into the Hotel St. Marie. The woman at the desk gave us a great price, it helps if you say you came from the tourist center.
We got a room with two double beds facing the courtyard. The room is normal size with AC and a little balcony with French doors, through which you can hear the fountain in the courtyard. There is no tv and no mini fridge, but the ice machine isn't far. It is a beautiful little hotel with lovely staff and it's a two second walk to Bourbon St.
It's perfect if you're looking for something with New Orleans charm for a good price and the basics. The parking is valet and about $20 per day, which is steep but you won't really find better. We didn't have any problems with the service or anything on our room not working.
The location is great, close to the party but just far enough that you won't hear it if you're trying to sleep instead. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    593
    193
    88
    46
See reviews for
209
581
65
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my first to NOLA and I had no idea what to expect. This Hotel was perfect! Old Southern styling, very friendly staff and a room with a french doors and a small balcony. When booking our trip I mentioned to a friend that I wanted a historic style hotel close to the French quarter and Bourbon street. She suggested the Hotel St. Marie and I am so glad she did. This hotel was within walking distance of Bourbon Street, Jackson Square, French Market, Canal Street and Frenchman Street.

The room was large and comfortable. We had a king sized bed, courtyard view room. The room was clean and the furnishings were exactly what I expected for a historic hotel. The only compaint I would have is the television. It was in a very large armoire and when you opend the doors you find an old 19" television which was hard to see when lying in the bed across the room.

All in all this hotel was lovely in the perfect location and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Coming from Toronto, Canada, for a business conference, Hotel St.Marie was a pleasant change after spending our first four nights in a large corporate overpriced hotel on Canal St. The service was actually better at Hotel St. Marie.

It was like taking a step back in time with a very romantic atmosphere and a neighborhood steeped in history.

I would definately recommend this place and will absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a courtside room or room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is our second trip to stay here. The hotel is a little worn and really needs some attention. The rooms are still need and clean, but the mattress is not the best. I will probably look for another place to stay the next time I come. The price is still good, but maybe I can find another with a good price. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've been going to this hotel for the last 7 years for the JazzFest's second weekend in early May. Its a nice hotel with a great staff. The bar re-opened finally after Katrina. I can remember if the restaurant is open for dinner, but they did have breakfast service. It's just off Bourbon Street and if your courtside, you won't hear Bourbon Street late at night. Easy walk to most atttractions in the Quarter.

Room Tip: ask for courtside w/balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming,GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My only complaint was the 4:00 PM check in time. We arraived at 2:00 PM and was told it would be 4:00 PM and if it was earlier they would call us. We went back at 3:00 PM and waited in the lobby until 4:00 PM they waited until 4:00 PM exactly to check us in. I can't believe they didn't have a room any earlier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I came across this hotel through a friend. It is in the heart of the French Quarter and you are 25 steps away from Bourbon St! Valet parking, fantastic, friendly Staff and that French Quarter feel.
Very clean, I would advise this hotel to any one of my friends.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard is fab!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#57 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#14 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.