We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$89 Weekday Rates
Ranked #57 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GRand Rapids MI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stumbled on this hotel after our travel plans changed and we end up in NOLA a day early. They had a beautiful room at a great price. The room was clean and bright, the bed was comfortable and the staff was lovely. We enjoyed it so much we canceled our reservations at another hotel and stayed for 3 days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    515
    169
    83
    39
See reviews for
162
503
62
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Boutique quiet hotel located 25 steps off the heart of bourbon street. The rooms are great for the price. A few updates would be nice such as new mattresses and blankets. They have a fantastic coffee shop. We stayed here before and will stay here again and again. We come to Nola once a year and this is Our Place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Hotel St. Marie is one of three Valentino family owned hotels in the French Quarter. It is located about half a block north of Bourbon Street, which makes it accessible to the action, but far enough away to sleep quietly. These hotels are all very reasonably priced for New Orleans, but very low for the French Quarter (normally under $100 including parking & taxes). These hotels are very well-maintained & nicely furnished. This property provides a very nice complimentary breakfast. The staff at all hotels is great.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have good views. Try to get one on facing St. Marie Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, this is a good place to stay for the money. Very convenient to the French Quarter. We had a room with a balcony overlooking Toulouse St, and the view was great. The rooms were large, and had everything we needed. However, the rooms need a little more attention to detail In a couple of places, the wallpaper was peeling off, and it was obvious that no one had vacuumed under the furniture in a while. But overall, the room was clean. One major deal breaker is the fact that the only vending area is on the first floor. A plus is a private parking lot with a valet, and parking does not cost extra for hotel guests I will be willing to stay here again, because it is a great bargain for the location, and life is full of trade-offs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were two couples from Canada and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Hotel Ste. MArie. We had balcony rooms facing the street side with our rooms adjoining and our balcony was also adjoining which was fantastic for cocktails and people watching. The staff are very warm and accomodating. The rooms are what you would expect from an older hotel, but this is exactly the type of hotel you want to stay in while you are in New Orleans. Lots of character and the BEST location...just one block off Bourbon Street.....and you can walk everywhere from here. We only had two issues the first being that the in-room wi-fi connection never worked for our entire stay. I reported it, but nothing ever came of it. And of course, as previously mentioned in other reviews, the dreaded 3:00am daily garbage pick-up is very noisy if you have street side rooms. There is also lots of construction going on in the French Quarter at this time so there is also additional construction noise. Suggest asking for inside courtyard rooms if you want more peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Suggest courtyard balcony rooms if you do not want to be awakened at 3:00am for extremely loud daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you want to experience the "real" French Quarter then this a great hotel for you. Although the room was rather musty we figured it was to be expected with a hotel this old. Lots of character throughout, and even a walk out balcony. Ours faced a side street so there wasn't much to see except the little convenience store on the other side of the street, but it was still fun to be outside and look around. The room was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable. Being just a block off Bourbon St made it quick to walk to, but also kept us far enough away from the noise to not be bothered while in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely looking character hotel in the heart of the French quarter. Only one block from Bourbon Street, so you could leave the chaos and madness only a half minute walk away and retreat to a quiet peaceful location if required.
The rooms were probably not too far away from needing a bit of a refurb (starting with the carpets), but they were clean and in keeping with the atmosphere and character of the hotel.
We did eat breakfast at the hotel, but it was a fairly expensive experience so didn't bother on our 2nd morning.
Point to note, that the lovely little bar at the front of the hotel was a very relaxing friendly place to meet up prior to going out for an evening meal and also when we got back later in the evening. The hotel was small and friendly enough that our teenage girls were happy enough to go back to the room to watch TV, to allow a bit of social time among other adult guests. We made some good friends across the two night stay. Victoria, the bar-tender was first class and a credit to the hotel.
Would recommend at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.