We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, but needs attention to detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Marie to your Saves list
Hotel St. Marie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $87
Ranked #61 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Mobile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great potential, but needs attention to detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Overall, this is a good place to stay for the money. Very convenient to the French Quarter. We had a room with a balcony overlooking Toulouse St, and the view was great. The rooms were large, and had everything we needed. However, the rooms need a little more attention to detail In a couple of places, the wallpaper was peeling off, and it was obvious that no one had vacuumed under the furniture in a while. But overall, the room was clean. One major deal breaker is the fact that the only vending area is on the first floor. A plus is a private parking lot with a valet, and parking does not cost extra for hotel guests I will be willing to stay here again, because it is a great bargain for the location, and life is full of trade-offs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    585
    186
    87
    46
See reviews for
199
567
64
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were two couples from Canada and thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Hotel Ste. MArie. We had balcony rooms facing the street side with our rooms adjoining and our balcony was also adjoining which was fantastic for cocktails and people watching. The staff are very warm and accomodating. The rooms are what you would expect from an older hotel, but this is exactly the type of hotel you want to stay in while you are in New Orleans. Lots of character and the BEST location...just one block off Bourbon Street.....and you can walk everywhere from here. We only had two issues the first being that the in-room wi-fi connection never worked for our entire stay. I reported it, but nothing ever came of it. And of course, as previously mentioned in other reviews, the dreaded 3:00am daily garbage pick-up is very noisy if you have street side rooms. There is also lots of construction going on in the French Quarter at this time so there is also additional construction noise. Suggest asking for inside courtyard rooms if you want more peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Suggest courtyard balcony rooms if you do not want to be awakened at 3:00am for extremely loud daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you want to experience the "real" French Quarter then this a great hotel for you. Although the room was rather musty we figured it was to be expected with a hotel this old. Lots of character throughout, and even a walk out balcony. Ours faced a side street so there wasn't much to see except the little convenience store on the other side of the street, but it was still fun to be outside and look around. The room was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable. Being just a block off Bourbon St made it quick to walk to, but also kept us far enough away from the noise to not be bothered while in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely looking character hotel in the heart of the French quarter. Only one block from Bourbon Street, so you could leave the chaos and madness only a half minute walk away and retreat to a quiet peaceful location if required.
The rooms were probably not too far away from needing a bit of a refurb (starting with the carpets), but they were clean and in keeping with the atmosphere and character of the hotel.
We did eat breakfast at the hotel, but it was a fairly expensive experience so didn't bother on our 2nd morning.
Point to note, that the lovely little bar at the front of the hotel was a very relaxing friendly place to meet up prior to going out for an evening meal and also when we got back later in the evening. The hotel was small and friendly enough that our teenage girls were happy enough to go back to the room to watch TV, to allow a bit of social time among other adult guests. We made some good friends across the two night stay. Victoria, the bar-tender was first class and a credit to the hotel.
Would recommend at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were booked into the Maison Dupuy Hotel for our October holiday until the hurricane hit and their roof collapsed. We called the Hotel St Marie, just down the street, and they were able to accommodate us. Although they were unable to give us balcony rooms, with only 2 weeks notice, we were very happy to still have rooms. On a negative note, one of the rooms in our party had a wet carpet and a musty smell. However, once we made this known, that party was moved to another room. The view is not great from this hotel, particularily from the higher floors, but the rooms are cleaned well. Some of the rooms are rather small, but this is an older building and that is apparent in the narrow halls, only one elevator, etc. If you are looking to stay in a brand new hotel, than this hotel is not for you. However, if you are looking to stay somewhere that has some character, than you will enjoy this hotel. There were minor inconveniences, but for the most part, we were pleased with our stay. The in-hotel restaurant is very good. We had breakfast here several mornings. The bar in the hotel is very quaint and a nice meeting place. The courtyard is small but nice. The front desk staff tries very hard to please.

Room Tip: The hotel is very close to Bourbon street (2 minute walk) but the rooms are very quiet. However, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for walking extensively around New Orleans, but with a special focus on the French Quarter/Vieux Carre, the French Market and the Mississippi. It is on Toulouse Street, which crosses Bourbon Street at its next junction. Externally, this is just the sort of hotel you want in this town, with an iron balcony running around the first floor. It has a later 'classical French' top, with rooms in the roof. I had room 506, ideally situated on a corner of the internal courtyard, with a balcony plenty big enough for two or more people. The courtyard has a pool, a fountain, and a terrace from the breakfast room. My room had two queen sized beds, a small dressing room, with coffee machine, safe, and ample hanging space. The bathroom was of adequate size, with a bath and shower, and always plenty of hot water.My brother and nephew had room 404, which was very similar, but on the side of the courtyard. Considering how close it is to Bourbon Street, my room was remarkably quiet at night - but it wasn't on the street side, of course. There is a bar and an attractive little dear-ish restaurant. Slight flaws? A VERY slow elevator and quite slow service in the quite expensive breakfast room. Hotel carpark rather expensive, too - but you are in central NOLA, after all. I shall certainly make this my HQ if/when I go back to NOLA. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. I loved it all - and the gorgeous October weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our 6th trip to NOLA, always staying at a different location, usually between a 3-4 star property. By far, for the price, this was the best. The hotel is ideally located in the center of Vieux Carre. We had a balcany room overlooking the picturesque courtyard. It was a corner room so quite spacious and clean. The only complaints we had are that the area beneath the TV had enough dust to grow spuds and 2 chairs on the balcony would hav made us more comfortable. We didn't think to ask for another chair. Overall, the property is well-maintained. The bar and restaurant have great food and some variety that other restaurants don't have. You can only eat so much fried food! Staff was very helpful. We enjoyed cocktails in the courtyard and used the deli often. Also the Toulouse grocery is right around the corned. We will definitely select this property again.

Room Tip: You can request a balcony room overlooking the courtyard. We had a room w/2 dbl beds on the top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
French Quarter
Prince Conti Hotel
Prince Conti Hotel
#57 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Marie

Address: 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Marie 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel situated 1/2 block off Bourbon Street & 5 minutes from central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St. Marie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marie Hotel
Saint Marie Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.