We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Decent Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Prince Conti Hotel to your Saves list
Prince Conti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weekday Rates from $99
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Great Location, Decent Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My two best friends and I met in New Orleans over Easter weekend to celebrate our joint 40th birthdays--I had no idea how difficult it would be finding rooms with two queen beds instead of two doubles, but Prince Conti was one of the few places that had availability for such a room.

I was the first of our party to arrive, and while the room wasn't ready when I arrived at 12:45, they did rush to clean it so that I was able to check in around 2:00, a full two hours ahead of official check-in time, which I appreciated. I walked the Quarter and found a small cafe to while away the time until the room was ready.

They upgraded us to a suite, which we very much appreciated, and the extra space gave our room a good bit of added value. We were all comfortable in the room, but there were some issues: shabby upholstery with rips and tears on the sofa bed in the sitting room, large stains on the carpet in the sitting room, a fairly thick layer of dust on the surface of the mantel and one side table, and a mildewed/moldy a/c vent in the sitting room.

Other minor issues: the water pressure in the shower was terrible and the water temperature inconsistent. It never went from scalding to freezing, but I'd say that the water temperature varied a good ten degrees (Fahrenheit) while showering. Also, on our last day we requested and were given a late check out, but our keys stopped working at 11:00. When we traipsed back down to the lobby to have the keys reissued, they still didn't work when we went back upstairs to finish packing, so housekeeping had to call the front desk and get permission to let us into our room.

Which is not to say that these issues took away from our stay--they really didn't. But nor were we expecting to find that lack of upkeep in a hotel with Prince Conti's rating. Thus I'm giving our stay only 3 stars.

We had pretty limited interaction with staff, as we'd been to the city many times before and essentially knew our way around, but all of the encounters we had were pleasant enough with the exception of one rather curt person in housekeeping who knocked on our door at 9:30 one morning wondering when we'd vacate the room so she could clean it. As it happened, we were all awake, but it seems to me that 9:30 is a little early on a Saturday morning in the French Quarter for housekeeping to start knocking on doors.

There are two things that were quite commendable for our stay, however, and those were very comfortable beds and a fantastic location in the Quarter. We were a nice stroll away from almost all of the places we wanted to see, ranging from the Quarter to the CBD. And since we were upgraded to a suite, I'd say that we received an excellent value for what we paid. If we hadn't been upgraded, I'd say that the value for Friday & Saturday nights would have been considerably less since we were paying holiday weekend prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    537
    124
    49
    38
See reviews for
154
528
64
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights on our round trip Chicago - San Franciso - New Orleans - Chicago. The location is right in the middle of the French Quarter and a short walk from the riverfront. We booked a double bed suite and it was very comfortable with a separate lounge and bedroom. It was good value approximately $145 per night including tax-the room is more expensive at weekends. Although our room overlooked Conti St and was close to Famous Door there was little noise at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlochen, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Prince Conti Hotel and while it is an older hotel it certainly has it's charms. The rooms weren't huge but the very high ceilings made it seem quaint and romantic. When I mentioned that we were celebrating our 20th anniversary, the hotel sent up a bottle of champagne, which was the perfect way to start our trip to the Big Easy.

The hotel is very convenient to the streetcar, only a short walk to the french market and literally half a block from Bourbon Street which is great if you're there to party on Bourbon however since the hotel is so old the walls are very thin and you can hear quite a bit so for families it may be a bit loud. My only complaint was regarding the young ladies who were drunk and screaming through the hallways at 4:30 in the morning but you almost need to expect it when you're a block away from the biggest party in the south. We appreciated the proximity as we did enjoy Bourbon street, maybe a bit too much which made it great that we could so easily walk back.

The walls are thin and you do hear a lot but it was all worth it. The staff went above and beyond for us, and even though the room could use a little work (door to the amoire fell off almost hitting us and the faucet dripped a bit) it was a very charming place to spend in the Big Easy. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Right across the street is a little german restaurant that has the best omelette I've ever had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are locals, but had family coming in from out of town for Easter and planned to spend the day in the Quarter. I made a reservation at the Prince Conti so we could be near the Easter parade routes! Location was perfect and the rate was extremely reasonable; rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. We checked out at 3:30 a.m. for an early flight and the front desk was very nice and cheerful for that hour of the day. Would highly recommend this property and will definitely return when I want a getaway in my own city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Peachtree, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

At $89 per night, The Prince Conti is a good value. Our room is large, clean, and comfortable and the staff is friendly. We are staying in room 373 and it is quiet, even though it's only one block off Bourbon St.

I would definitely stay here again, if I return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Upon arriving, we drove into a cute little covered driveway. Valet met us promptly but the valet was not the nicest person, had a little attitude. We checked in a little early without incident. When we arrived to our room, it smelt of smoke but the housekeepers took care of it right away and they were very nice. This is a very small hotel but is cute. Old TVs in the rooms but who stays in their rooms to watch TV? The walls are super thin and the housekeepers can get loud in the morning but it wasn't unbearable. The front desk brought me and my new hubby some champagne to toast to our new marriage, which was really nice of them. It is a block away from Bourbon St but you wouldn't have any idea because it is so quiet. Excellent location and cute hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend and I stayed here last night and were absolutely delighted with everything from the very large room, amazing location and very friendly staff. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a safe, comfortable place.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Conti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.