We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prince Conti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 Weekday Rates
Ranked #35 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Manitoba
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This is an older property, small, but well kept rooms. That is part of its charm! The staff is wonderful and accommodating. Room rates are very reasonable. It is in a perfect location, close to Bourbon street, but far enough away to get away from the noise at night. We were very pleased with this choice.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    477
    110
    47
    35
See reviews for
136
472
60
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were convinced that we had made a good choice. The staff was outstanding from top to bottom (genuinely friendly and helpful). Our room was nice, clean & comfortable. Could have used a fridge, but no big deal.
On-site Bombay Club was special though a bit pricey but what the heck, it was nice to get away from the hustle/bustle of Bourbon St. Breakfast at the on-site cafe was OK but I prefer grits with my eggs, rather than potatoes. My wife (a New Yorker) says "hold the grits".
We agree with most reviewers about the hotel location; i.e. central & convenient to everything.
This hotel will certainly be our first choice in every future visit.

A&E of Bellaire, TX

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel and both times I LOVED IT! First off I really have to give props to CINDY at the front desk. She was a real pleasure ! Anything I asked for ( and i do have a habit of asking a lot of questions when i first check in) she had no problem helping me with. Everything from my check in .... questions during my stay .... and check out. I was also real impressed and touched when I called the hotel after I returned home and she knew exactly who I was and where I was from .... really nice :)

Hotel is no doubt a 'hidden gem' Location is perfect! Right around the corner from Boubon Street and within walking distance to a lot of the 'hot spots' in the city. The rooms and interior of the hotel are beautiful! The only challenge I had with my room was that there were really not enough outlits to charge or run things .... but then again I picked a 'petite room' to save $$ this time ..

I had the misfortune of getting in town a day late due to a snow storm in New York, but everybody I worked with at RESERVATIONS did everything they could to make up for it .... I actually added an additional day to the end of my trip to make up for the day lost and Barbara was real helpful. (I have to say I had communication with BARBARA several times before my arrival and she was great)

Second time I stood here and will not be my last ! HIGHLY RECOMMEND :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

First time in New Orleans, and had a good time. The hotel is older, but clean and the staff is very friendly. We were there when they were working on the elevator, seems this a problem for them, but we did not mind going up the stairs as it helped to work off the food we had all day. The main lobby had computer access to all of the airlines, so when could do online check in and print out our tickets there. It's location was great, just off of Bourbon street and not far to Frenchman Market. The cafe food was fresh and very good. The staff in the cafe was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Prince Conti during Mardi Gras, which is a hard time for any staff in New Orleans to accommodate so many visitors. But the staff of the Prince Conti provided amazing service: everyone from the room cleaning service to the front desk, from the Mardi Gras special security to the kitchen and waitstaff in the Cafe Conti across the carriageway. We would highly recommend the Prince Conti (and all Valentino properties, as they are obviously well managed and employ happy staff). Rooms were clean, spacious, had vending and ice available, and the food at the nearby Cafe Conti was a first rate local experience every morning for breakfast and tea. Good location 1 block off the heart of Bourbon traffic but without the noise from the street. Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Culturally located in the French Quarter, we enjoyed the free wifi in our modest and pleasant room and used the free printer in the lobby. I misunderstood reservation sites which publicise "laundry facilities" as there are no guest use laundry facilities at this property but we were directed to and used the laundry a good walk away - around $10 and 2 hours later our laundry had been washed, dried and folded for collection, yey! We found the best rate online direct with Prince Conti and when it reduced closer to our arrival, an email enquiry secured us an even cheaper rate. We ate breakfast in the cafe once, thereafter deciding choice and value for money could be found on surrounding blocks. However, we frequented the bar twice for cocktails, one of those times enjoying live music as well - the cocktail menu is EXTENSIVE. Everything we knew about New Orleans was summed up in the French Quarter and while it took the first day to get used to the sleaze, the disturbing smells, the roadworks everywhere and to actually feel safe, to have stayed anywhere else would hve been 1/10 the experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a great place - folks were really wonderful. Its older, so its a little smaller room, and older looking- but comfortable bed, and quiet nights sleep. When we were there the main elevator was down, so the bellhop took us up the service elevator - great guy. They have valet parking which you will need (additional cost). Its steps from Burbon St. but far enough that the noise is low.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Conti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.