We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Conti Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prince Conti Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Conti Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$79 Weekday Rates
Ranked #35 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Port Perry, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

After seeing rooms shown on the internet and reading reviews we chose Prince Conti. It was awesome! we've never been to NO before, and wanted to stay in the quarter. Conti is right in the heart, but very quiet. Our room was very large and a pleasant surprise.This was truly amazing value for the money. The no hassle valet parking was fast & efficient. Our only disappointment was that the breakfast bistro very poor selection of breakfast items(sticky buns) & no orange juice.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff, location, price
  • Disliked — The breakfast offered in the bistro
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    477
    110
    47
    35
See reviews for
136
472
60
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed at the Prince Conti for 7 nights in February. This was my third trip to NOLA and although this probably was the best location, it was not the best hotel. The price was good especially when they gave a Triple A discount (CAA for us Canadians). It is just one block down from Bourbon Street - close to the action but not right on top of it - and walking to all parts of the French Quarter from the hotel was a breeze. The room itself was fine - nothing special but NOLA is not about staying in your room! The bathroom was tiny and had only one very small shelf to hold toiletry items which didn't work very well for 2 people. The hotel itself was clean but housekeeping seemed to have trouble getting things right - one day our room was not cleaned until after 4:00 when we had left at 9:00 in the morning. They also forgot to empty the coffee grounds from the coffee maker and leave fresh coffee, and we had to ask for more soap and shampoo. We also requested additional pillows from one of the housekeepers in the hall; she never did return. We asked again the next day and were told that they didn't have any extras. One of the best things about the hotel was the French Quarter Deli that we discovered just a few doors down the street. They had excellent food, and their takeout menu said they were open until 4:00 a.m. most nights and they would deliver to local hotels. We didn't try out the delivery service but we did get takeout a couple of times and it was excellent!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Housekeeping problems
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

My husband and I recently went to New Orleans for our first wedding anniversary. Several friends went went us, but we were the only ones from our group to stay at Prince Conti. We lucked out! Compared to their hotel, Prince Conti was a dream come true. Although our room did not have elevator access, we had the entire third floor all to our selves.

Due to it's location, the hotel has the convenience of Bourbon Street - it's less than a block away from the entrance - but does not get any of the noise. We slept like babies each night. The room was spacious, clean, huge bathroom, plenty of hot water and the decor made us feel like we were in New Orleans.

The hotel does offer a free breakfast, but we never made it! It's about a twenty minute, $30 cab ride to/from the airport for two people. Right off Bourbon Street, Prince Conti is close to pretty much everything, and about a 10 minute walk to the water front.

I'm not quite sure how this hotel would be for children/families. We didn't see any coming or going, but New Orleans/Bourbon Street isn't necessarily a family vacation kind of ciity!

Our friends were jealous when they saw the size of our room compared to their little shoeboxes and Prince Conti has already made the list for next year's trip!

  • Liked — The convenient location and the quiet rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing, really.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Good deal in New Orleans. ($89/night on the weekend). A block off Bourbon Street so convenient yet not noisy. The room was fine - very similar to photo on web site. Roomy enough, clean, up-to-date-bath and a great king sized bed. Desk clerks were helpful with recommendatiuons for food. Breakfast OK - just coffee, juice and so-so rolls. How about a pitcher of water.

  • Liked — Location, decor
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed here for one night - on St. Patrick's Day - and had a nice stay. The room was a little dark (as were the hallways) but it was clean and comfortable. Internet connection worked fine. The room had no view to speak of which may have been a plus because we didn't hear any of the street noise from Bourbon Street.

The free breakfast was awful. Not typical of New Orleans. The location of the hotel is excellent and the price is well below typical accommodations in the French Quarter.

  • Liked — Location and price, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Breakfast, dingy hallways
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Excellent hotel. Staff was very friendly and made excellent recommendations for places to go and eat.

I would recommend two things -

1. Ask for a room not on Conti street. It is quite loud in the rooms facing Conti. Also, the bathroom windows cover the entire bathroom and are not covered by anything other than a sheer. During the day, it's no problem; nightime is a different story. The rooms not facing Conti don't have this problem.

The staff was very accomodating when we asked to move to one of the back rooms.

2. Book in advance - we were able to save a lot by doing this.

This will be the place we stay when we go to the Quarter which is at least once a year.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Background:
My wife and visit New Orleans 1-2 times/year. We enjoy staying at different hotels and getting different perspectives of the city we love so much. But it looks like our "hotel-hopping days" are over now that we have stayed at the Prince Conti Hotel.

Research:
Before each trip I do an exhaustive search for the perfect hotel stay. This year, after much review of online websites such asTripAdvisor, we decided to stay at the Prince Conti.

People:
Over the stay we intereacted with various housekeeping staff, receptionists and even the manager, all of which were pleasant and helpful. The manager went out of his way to ensure that our vacation was a special one. To get a fresh perspecitve one day a man was checking out and I asked him what he thought of the hotel. He stated that he loves the hotel and that this is the only hotel he stays at, and he's here on business a couple days each week. The manager is keen on repeat business and obviously knows the way to have people coming back time and time again.

Location:
The location of the Prince Conti is truly fantastic. It's less than a block from Bourbon St. and walking distance to absolutely everything in the quarter.

Accomodations:
We found our room to be very clean and comfortable. The only thing I have to warn you about is that the hotel does not have hundreds of rooms like the big hotel chains (Sheraton, Hilton, etc..) so book early or you might miss out on this New Orleans hidden gem. Also, I would recommend that you treat yourself and get one of the bigger rooms. They are a bit more expensive, but still quite affordable in comparison to other hotels in the quarter or downtown. AAA discount should save you a few $$$.

The Big Question:
As for staying at the hotel again... the answer is YES.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Variety of food for continental breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prince Conti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Conti Hotel

Address: 830 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Conti Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate French Quarter Hotel housed in building dating from the early 1900s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Prince Conti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Conti New Orleans
Hotel Prince Conti

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Conti Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.