We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay on Your Visit to New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Deborah Wilkinson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must Stay on Your Visit to New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We loved the Royal Sonesta. At first our room was booked on the bourbon street side and we immediately changed with no problems. The hotel has many fun things: Desire Restaurant, PJs Coffee and the Jazz Club. Everyone was extremely nice and this was a busy time of the year -- Christmas Day plus 4 days. It was also the coldest time. Great Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you for choosing to spend your Holiday vacation in New Orleans at the Royal Sonesta. We are glad that you enjoyed many hotel amenities we offer. If you come and see us in fall 2011 we will have yet another dining experience for you try. We will be opening our fine dining concept, Restaurant R’evolution, featuring traditional New Orleans cuisine with a contemporary twist. We can’t wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    755
    240
    79
    59
See reviews for
308
1,104
79
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This is the fourth time we have stayed here (starting 20 years ago) so we know what to expect. With is main entrance right on Bourbon Street you have to expect the general craziness of that scene rub off on anything it touches but once you are in the lobby everything calms down nicely.

Pluses: PJ’s coffee is right off the main entrance now-new to us and very nice addition as there are no coffee makers in the rooms.
Convenience to the Quarter, CBD, Warehouse District and not far from the Canal Street Streetcar line.
The Conti Street entrance-smaller and only open to guests access cards after 8 PM gives a nice exit to the quieter Conti. Café Beignet is just up Conti and right on Royal—hit me with that fried dough and powered sugar!

Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse-(in the main lobby) worth waiting in line for. No cover-one drink minimum. We saw the youngest Marsalis kid and his band. Good stuff.

Rooms-we paid a little extra to be off Bourbon Street-worth it! Or pay more for courtyard facing rooms. Unless you are just hammered when you get in you will thank yourself for spending a few extra bucks.

New TVs, refreshed bathroom fixtures. Nothing special but no mold and general yuck you see in a lot of New Orleans’ hotel rooms.

Bed-above average

Water-hot

Maid service was decent but a little spotty. Quibbles.

Cons: The staff is passable. This ain’t the Ritz so don’t expect that level of service. They get you in and out. Nuff said.

We had a leak in our bathroom sink-basically the drain was loose from the bottom of the sink-water ran out onto the floor. I pushed it back on to get us through the night and let the front desk know about it in the morning. You would think I was speaking Martian by the look on his face. He mumbled something about engineering but it was never fixed over the three nights we stayed. No worries we just kept it pushed on.

Dingy halls and lighting

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

Hotel had no spa, and claimed they did. It is centered near and directly across the street from all the "cabaret" topless bars (Ricks Cabaret, Hustler's Barely Legal, etc.) on Bourbon Street. The smell is oppressive and nauseating. The rooms had bedbugs. The rooms smelled stuffy and of day old cigarettes. We have never seen such a harmonic convergence of white trash and filth in one location in our entire life. The best experience was dining at Arnauds and GW Fins, both of which had excellent food and service. To the hotels credit, their staff was extraordinarily nice but that, in and of itself, is insufficient to convince someone to come and stay in New Orleans.

While departing the city (2 days early, I might add) TSA staff members attempted to distract us to steal our expensive watches, wallets & laptop. Singularly, I have never experienced such a "Deliverance" moment in my entire life as I did there. I expected them to tell me "you have a purty mouth" while rifling through my belongings and possessions. It was that bad. I would recommend everyone, who has an ounce of common sense NOT stay at the Royal Sonesta or visit New Orleans, there are far safer and better values for your travel dollar.

I will add photos before the weekend is over. Suffice to say we decided NOT to ring in the New Year in New Orleans at the Royal Sonesta Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
First we would like to address your statement related to bed bugs. We have a proactive, specific procedure as well as a reactive SOP in place in our hotel to address the bed bug challenge which we take very seriously. This topic has been prevalent in the media and guests are sensitive…as they should be. Any reports we have on a room we address immediately and have it treated and cleared by our certified pest control firm which we use locally.

We are not aware of any website or advertisement that states that Royal Sonesta has an on-site spa. However, we do have a contract with a spa services company and can arrange for in-room spa services by appointment.

We were sorry to see you felt that your room cleanliness was not acceptable. We will follow-up on your comments. Please know that this is not a normal comment for our guest stay’s as we have a very dedicated housekeeping director and staff who normally do an excellent job. “

Your statements reflect that you were disappointed in general with your overall experience in New Orleans. Ironically the city has recently received multiple awards from Trip Advisor: Number 1 in the World for Nightlife, in the top 10 for dining, as well as the Travel and Leisure City Award. If you are unwilling to give the Royal Sonesta another chance, at the very least I hope you give our city another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I stayed at Royal Sonesta Hotel in New Orleans for 5 days during a business conference. Any such experience which combines business and some leisure is always a welcome combination. I must say that I enjoyed the stay at the hotel and in New Orleans.
The hotel as many of you already know is situated on Bourbon Street - one of the most visited streets of the french quarter. The USP of this hotel is its location and the heritage status.
Rooms - We were booked on a group; the room which I got was relatively smaller. The amenities and utilities inside the room and bath were average - nothing to complain or to wow for customer! Note that some of the rooms overseeing the Bourbon street are noisier due to the tourists. Some of my colleagues wished to move to quieter rooms after a couple of days of stay.
I liked the heritage - French structure - of the hotel. Also since it is located in the middle of the French Quarter, some of the major attractions are within walkable distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
We all loved your comment…”Any such experience which combines business and some leisure is always a welcome combination” With 20,000 square feet of meeting space, a world class culinary team, and our Bourbon Street location many think of the Royal Sonesta New Orleans as the perfect place for grown-ups to meet and play. The hotel’s “heritage” status as you refer to it helps to create an authentic destination experience as apposed to same hotel difference city that is too common for the business traveler. Thank you for sharing your well constructed comments. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Absolutely loved this hotel...great rooms, superior service. Great location to shopping and restaurants. very efficient bell men working there...very helpful. Would not recommend staying in a room directly on Bourbon St. The noise goes on all night; so if you are not a sound sleeper, be sure to get one of the inside rooms.. My 33 yr. old son loved the night life so it was not an issue for him.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

What made this hotel attractive was the convenience of being on Bourbon Street. The room was small but beautifully decorated- the amenities by itself made this hotel four star quality. However, having a "do not disturb" sign would have been greatly appreciated. After a night/early morning out on Bourbon Street, hubby and I found our sleep being disturbed by not one, not two but atleast three hotel maids knocking on the door before noon between the hours of 8AM and 11AM, when I called to request a sign from the conceirge after the first wake up, it never arrived. Finally when hubby and I were getting dressed to check out of our room another employee knocked on the door requesting to check our mini bar...when I told him we were getting dressed he said it would only take a second. I told him we check out at 12 and that he should come back after then.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stay here if you can! Perfect location! Staff was nice and helpful. will be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.