We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% Off Winter Escape
Ranked #24 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good and bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel for two nights. It being my first time in New Orleans, and wanting to splurge a bit, I reserved a split level suite. I arrived at the hotel early, around 10AM, and my room was already available, which was great. The front desk clerk was so nice and check in was quick and pleasant. The suite, though, was pretty depressing. It was just too old and worn...the carpet was absolutely disgusting and thread bare in places. I went back to the front desk and explained I was not happy with the room. (I travel extensively and have stayed in so many hotels and inns the world over. In no way was the room I was given remotely worth the $450 or so per night.) I asked to be downgraded to a basic double room with french doors overlooking the pool. This room was less than half the price and I was much happier with it. The carpet was still the old and dirty looking, but the rest of the room was pleasant and the view of the pool deck was lovely. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. Maid service was excellent. Plenty of fresh towels. It was good value for the money and a quiet, serene spot right in the middle of the French Quarter. The most outstanding quality of this hotel is the employees. Each and every person I came into contact with was the nicest they could be. This is one of the reasons I ended up giving this hotel four stars. That along with the location and the fabulous Sunday brunch. Although I will now be traveling to New Orleans quite often, as my daughter will be attending college there for the next four years, I probably won't stay here again as I like the extra room a suite provides. I am willing to pay more for this, but I expect the accomodation to be worth the money. On the other hand, the basic pool view room was alot less expensive and is a great value for the location, the wonderful pool area, and the nicest empolyees i have ever come across in a hotel. One final thought, they do not have the flat screen tv's the website advertises. I asked about this and was told a few of the rooms have them, but most do not.

  • Liked — the poeple
  • Disliked — filty old carpet....unable to provide a nice suite
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,343
    688
    218
    72
    56
See reviews for
292
1,011
75
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kerens,Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Other than the fire alarm going off at 330 AM on Saturday (UGH!), our entire expereince the Royal Sonesta was terrific. Our room was on the 4th floor, facing the pool. I loved how we could go right out the balcony door and down to the pool bar.

The room itself was clean and comfortable- great king bed. Good size bathrrom- nothing fancy but pleasant.

Check-in was incredibly smooth despite how busy they were. And check out was even better since they kept our bags while we went out for lunch, then brought the bags down to the car.

I would like to give special kudos to parking. Yes, I know $30 valet seems crazy but that is the way it is in big cities. We stayed at the Monteleone last year and, as much as I love that hotel, the RS has them beat hands down on the ease of dropping off and picking up the car. Very easy, very pleasant, very organized.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

From the moment we checked into this hotel, we were treated like special guests. We arrived earlier than check-in - around 11:30 a.m. Our rooms were ready. We asked to have our rooms close to each other and it was no problem. The only complaint I had I about the room itself was that the shower was only so-so. But the location was excellent.

Another review mentioned Malcolm and he is wonderful. This is also one of the few hotels that I saw cabs lined up at - so if you wanted to travel out of the quarter you very easily could.

On the second day, a group of young highschoolers moved onto our hall and proceeded to spend the day and night (at least when we were there) running around, screaming and slamming doors. We spoke to Darin at the front desk and asked if we could move to possibly a balcony room (fingers were crossed!!!) We were moved into a parlor suite with a balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking Bourbon St! A parlor suite does not have a bed, but it has a pull out sofa bed, and then they come in and make for you with a real mattress and turn down service. There is also a wet bar and tile throughout. They are twice as big as the regular rooms. It was amazing!!!!

We called down to roomservice for some plastic cups as you can't take glass or cans on the balconies, and they brought us up a sleeve free of charge! And anytime we called housekeeping they came right away.

Check out was a breeze. They also checked our baggage for us while we wandered around the quarter, waiting for our flight. We were handed into our cab on Sunday evening with the same friendly smiles that greeted us on Thursday, bidding us to come visit them again!

I will definitely stay at the Royal Sonesta again. I would recommend it to anyone. I will say this - hotel staff are not psychic. If you feel you need something fixed, be specific. Ask for what you want. Chances are you will get it. I found that especially at the Royal Sonesta that they will do what they can to make things right.

Definitely ask Malcolm if you have any questions about the city. The concierge desk is amazingly helpful and patient too. I just can't say enough nice things!!!!

  • Liked — Location, amazing staff, balconies
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

I stayed at the Royal Sonesta for two nights for a Bachelorette Party. On Saturday afternoon I mistakenly left my wedding rings on the bathroom counter after applying sunscreen. Two hours later, when I returned from lunch, my wedding band was there but my diamond engagement ring was gone. The cleaning staff had just, five minutes prior to our return, finished cleaning our room. We spoke with hotel security who came up and took notes and eventually we called the police. The worst part was that the hotel staff seemed not to think this was an incident worth their time. One of the assistant managers even yelled at us to return to our room while we waited for the police in the hallway. The hotel manager on duty when we checked out characterized it as an accident and not a theft. How is it possible that an accident occurred with just one of two rings? We even had them take the piping under the sink apart to look for the ring with no luck. When I came to this site to write this review, I notice a similar one from 2005. I wish I had read that review before I went on my trip. My experience seemed exactly the same. I got the feeling the hotel was just hoping I would stop calling or would leave town and forget that this occurred. They also did not apologize, even for yelling at us and treating us like we were insane to be accusing the cleaning staff. You tell me, when the hotel can tell us only our key cards and the maid's had accessed our room, who else were we to blame/accuse? I will never stay at a Sonesta hotel again. My experience was so bad. If you stay here, use the safe in the room and don't forget to take all of your valuables with you. If you have a problem expect the hotel staff to be rude, accusatory, and incompetent.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

My experience with Royal Sonesta is of a quality four-star hotel right in the middle of the action on Barboun Street. My "Regular" room had the level of comfort I would expect from a four-star accommodation, with comfortable bed, quality linens, clean bathroom, good (though not great) shower, safebox and minibar. My room overlooked an inner courtyard so the Barboun Street noice did not reach me at all. The pool, on a nice inner terrace, afforded good relax during wake hours, though it got very crowded during certain peak hours. Service at the reception desk was fast and efficient. Concierge provided good advices. Covered parking was extra at $30 per day. All in all, good value for money if looking for a quality accommodation in the French Quarter. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta on Bourbon street. This was our first trip to New Orleans...what an experience...anybody who is hesitating to go and visit..don't heistate and go and have a good time...the hotel is very nice, the pool-very refreshing from the heat, the staff are nice, the location is the best,walking distance to everything. The rooms were clean, and the lobby was huge. I would defintely stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to anyone.....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for four nights in July. We had chosen New Orleans for our anniversary and decided on the Royal Sonesta based on reviews from TripAdvisor. The hotel was beautiful. Lots of fountains, marble and beautiful flowers and plants. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful during our stay. The room was very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and the poolside food & drink service. The hotel is right in the heart of the French Quarter and walking everywhere was easy.

  • Liked — pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.