We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+, Perfect Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Guest Select Package
Ranked #16 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Port O'Connor, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A+, Perfect Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

This was a great 3 night trip to the Quarter. First time at the Royal Sonesta. My wife and I loved the location, walking distance to about anything you want to see. The room was excellent. Service was excellent. Pool was excellent. My only recommendation is that you request a room that doesn't overlook Bourbon Street because the party goes until pretty late. We were on Bienville Street and didn't have a problem. Parking is $30 per night with unlimited "In and out". That's a bargain in the Quarter and the parking is in the lower level of the property. Can't say enough about the Royal Sonesta.

  • Liked — Location, Room, Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,079
    565
    168
    54
    49
See reviews for
241
809
57
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

The Royal Sonesta is a beautiful property with plenty of Old New Orleans architecture and decoration. The dining room is richly and beautifully appointed. The service (at the front desk, in the restaurants,concierge and the doorman) was warm and helpful. Only ate breakfast but it was tasty. There was a jazz lounge where folks were drinking and seemed to have a nice time. The rooms are of average size but comfortable. It was a pretty luxe experience for the $99 price per night for a room with 2 double beds (we were there for a wedding so the rate may have been reduced due to that). UNFORTUNATELY I don' t think I will ever stay here again because of the noise factor. Perhaps its just been too long since I stayed on Bourbon Street but between the noise from the bars on the street and other hotel guests slamming doors and shouting in the halls, it didn't make for a particularly peaceful stay in the evenings. That is a shame because I really enjoyed the hotel itself. Too bad it isn't off "the strip..." its much too good for such common nuisances...

  • Liked — Service and decor in resaurant and reception area
  • Disliked — Location ... Bourbon St was too noisy.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2007

beautiful hotel on bourbon street. request a room overlooking the pool because it will be quiet. if you get a room on the bourbon street side, you might not get much sleep depending on how much you had to drink that night. get an early morning bloody mary as an eye opener in the lobby or try the coffee drinks. no problems with the rooms at all.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

Stay here for 8 nights and for the most part it was very enjoyable except for a few monir things that added up. For about 3-4 days the hot water was only luke warm, one day I went out and took off the privacy sign and by 3pm the room was not made up, had to call housekeeping and when I returned at 4pm, it still was not done, had to put in an angry second call to have the room done ASAP. Also one monring I had the privacy sign on and housekeeping still knocked on my door, lucky I was not sleeping.
The location cannot be beat and service/staff is still very good.

  • Liked — Service and proximity to Bourbon Street
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

My fiance' and I just returned for a wonderful 4 night stay at Royal Sonesta. We both really enjoyed the hotel. The location can't be beat.

We had a king bed room that overlooked Bienville Ave. But we could see bit of Bourbon from our window. You could also hear the bands from the bar on the corner, but it didn't bother us at all. The room was kind of small, but we are spoiled after our stay at Chateau Sonesta during Mardi Gras 2006 where we had a huge room overlooking Canal.

There was lots of drawer and closet space. Love the drawers in the bathroom. Also loved that they give you a bottle of bubble bath, however the bathtub isn't really deep enough to enjoy that.

The room safe was very big. I was able to put my laptop in it as well as several other things. You program it to open with a code that you come up with.

The website states that rooms have a flat panel TV. I notice comments from other reviewers that they had one. Our room did not have one. Not a big deal, but I don't think they should advertise that all rooms have them if they don't.

The courtyard area is beautiful. I kind of wish we had gotten one of the rooms with the french doors that open up to the pool area, or the balcony above. I went to the pool on the Saturday that we were there and it was packed. Many towels left on chairs and I wasn't sure if they were actually in use or if the chairs had been vacated for hours and no one ever picked the towels up. During the week though, the pool was a lot less crowded and very relaxing.

We didn't utilize any of the restaurants in the hotel, so can't comment on them.

The staff was very friendly. Check-in was a breeze. And we checked out through the tv and you can even set it up to have them email you the receipt.

We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The courtyard/pool
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2007

Arrival at the Royal Sonesta
After grabbing a cab at MSY, I was deposited at the underground parking garage entrance to the hotel. I gave up waiting for someone to assist me with my 3 bags and finally had to lug them up the stairs
to the main lobby.

The front desk clerk found my eservation right away and checked me in
to a courtyard-view room, which she said were quieter and nicer than the ones facing Bourbon Street.

Arriving at a busy time, I had to wait about 10 minutes to get a bellman to take my bags. The room was a bit dated. Not antiqued, but dated.

The good about the room: nice view of pretty courtyard, large in-room
safe.

The not-so-good. Features missing for a "4-star" hotel: No flat screen TV; absence of luxury linens - sheets felt like 50/50 cotton/poly, no bath robe. no coffee maker, tiny desk.

Also,each night I was awakened several times (1 am, 2 am) by loud revelers in the halls - request a room away from the elevator to try to avoid this.

Big Problem in the Big Easy - After dinner the 1st nite of my stay, I
returned to the RS and my key didn't work. Long story short, a Truman
Capote lookalike who was at the front desk, said he didn't have me in
the system, didn't show my reservations and said they didn't have any
rooms. It took nearly 45 minutes, with this RS employee belittling me, suggesting I was staying elsewhere, forgot, etc, to finally get back into my room.

This was my 5th stay at the Royal Sonesta, and I won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoOntCanada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

My husband and I just completed our 20th Easter stay at the beautiful Royal Sonesta hotel, and as always we had a lovely memorable time! I do not think one could ask for more in a hotel..when one walks into the lobby directly off Bourbon street you are greeted with a feeling and sense of calm and tranquility.
It never fails to make us want to exhale...oh to be back in wonderful New Orleans and the Royal Sonesta. The location is fabulous, right on busy Bourbon street, but as mentioned once inside the doors an oasis of calm flows over you.
Have you ever seen a prettier court yard with all of the trees and shrubs in bloom?
We have dined over the years at Begues and have always found the food to be of a very high calibre, with good attentive wait staff,
the Easter Brunch must be mentioned with high marks , with a great variety of food with a focus on local seafood..ie freshly shucked oysters crayfish and the like with all you can consume champagne and of course a wonderful painist playing all of your requests.
The Mystic Den ( Thursday-Saturday) features the Richie Molten Trio...smooth jazz sounds until the wee hours.
The rooms are really nicely laid out and the decor lovely , the pool area on the third floor is surrounded by flowering trees. and plants...the pool bar is a nice place to sit and absorb the feeling of the hotel.
The staff of course have changed in the last 20 years ( retired, moved on etc) but always make us feel as if we have been greatly missed and that we are returning home.
What more can I say, we really do "know what it means to miss New Orleans and the Royal Sonesta Hotel"...we are already planning our 2008 visit!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel
New Orleans Sonesta
Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.