We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For French Quarter, so far my best experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% off two nights
Ranked #32 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For French Quarter, so far my best experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

The front desk and lobby staff (when there) are all very happy and strive hard to make sure you have what you need. (Sometimes after hours it was hard to find anyone)

Typical rooms are a bit smaller than shown on website, and because this is an historic hotel, it lacks many expected business traveler amenities. -- no in room coffee, no fridge, no free wifi.

Room was clean and well made up, but they have a policy to save water based on where you leave towels. Staff just replaced everything - nothing hurts worse than having a policy that your staff don't follow.

The hotel can be a bit noisy when the bars close - from midnight to 3 am, as bourbon street revelers return to roost.

I would have been much happier had some of the staff also been more polite. In PJ's the only place to get coffee in the morning, the lady got my order wrong twice and then complained to her co worker - like I couldn't hear - that she hated customers who changed their orders.... that one event left me frustrated. ( I ordered cafe Au lait, and got mocha something then cappuccino .. this is not rocket science) -- don't make the customer to blame for your incompetence.

Overall, for the FQ, I have stayed at 2 other hotels, and this would be the one I return to - albeit not necessarily for business as it is not up to "modern" standards. For a trip to NO, this is a great location and a good hotel, close to everything you need to be close to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMD083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Great location. Allocated a room on arrival on Bourbon St. But gave us a quieter room at the back upon request. Staff could not do enough for you, very jovial doorman.
Would have been great to have coffee and tea making facilities in room. Had to get dressed to use PJ's in lobby or use room service.
Very comfortable beds and spacious bathroom.
Enjoyable night in the Irvine Mayfield bar listening to jazz.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bleakhouseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad to see that you found the location ideal, your guest room quiet and comfortable, and the staff accommodating and friendly. Please note that we do have in-room coffee and coffee makers available upon request. However, we realize we have not communicated that to our guest as clearly as we should. A small sign is being printed for all of the guest rooms, it will be placed on the bathroom counter where the coffee pot would be. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the Royal Sonesta New Orleans.

Dg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed the weekend of the NFC Championship game (Who Dat!) and could not have been more pleased. Yeah you will get some noise from Bourbon Street at times but what do you expect for its location during a major event. Deluxe rooms provide plenty of space with an ample sized bathroom and nice modern touches in decor. My only negative drawback is the fact rooms have HD LCD TV's yet not HDTV channels to chose from. The video quality isn't very good at all. Hey but who visits N.O. to stay in the room.

First class dining experience in Begue's for Sunday Brunch. Out of this world fresh food selections. Also really liked the addition of PJ's Coffee Shop in the Lobby now. All the staff we encountered was very friendly and courteous.

Look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluedog_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
What a fantastic weekend you picked to experience the French Quarter. We are glad you found the accommodations at the Royal Sonesta to be spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Just as important we are proud that you mentioned our friendly and courteous staff. We love to share these comments with them. Regarding the HDTV channels, we expect to have HDTV available in all guest rooms by early Summer. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Great hotel, great location, on Bourbon St. Right in the heart of the French Quarters !!!

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joemac621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, February 17, 2010
We are so glad that you agree with us that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans affords guests one of, if not THE best location in the city. While it is ideal for special events like Mardi Gras it is convenient for business travel as well. The hotel is less than 3 short blocks from the Central Business district. You get the best of everything. Thanks again for posting this wonderful comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with great staff, comfortable rooms, and within walking distance of everything in the french quarter. Thank you for making my first visit to New Orleans so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacasoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments with us. We love passing these along to our staff. Hearing positive statements like this from guests make them feel so good about themselves and the job they do. Thanks again for choosing the Royal Sonesta New Orleans. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We got a GREAT deal at the Welcome Center for a room at Royal Sonesta. I visit NOLA often and usually stay at a different hotel, but the rate we got for RS was to difficult to pass up. I was very happy we chose RS. We got a basic room, but it was great. We had a nice view of the courtyard, and the room was a good size. The room and bathroom was very nice. The decor was a strange combination of old school NOLA and modern design, but nothing bad, just not quiet right. Other then that the room was great. The service was very good. Room service excellent. They don't have 24 hour room service but many restaurants in the area will deliver to your room. The location is perfect if you plan to spend your nights on Bourbon. It was very nice to be able to come back and forth to the room. We were there during a VERY cold weekend, so it was perfect to be able to go back to the hotel and warm up.

The only down side to RS is waking UP on Bourbon Street. Seeing Bourbon street first thing in the morning isn't my first choice. So if you are not into staying up late and doing Bourbon, then this may not be the hotel for you.

One more thing we find different at RS is their late check out policy. We wanted a late check out and they told us we could NOT request it until 7 am of the day you want to check out. I ALWAYS request a late check out, and this is the first hotel I have stayed at the has this policy. It was not helpful IMO to have to wake up at 7am, ask for a late check out and then go back to bed. So we just stayed up till 7am, made our request, then went to bed;)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moline, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I highly recommend going to this Hotel on Friday nights between 8 PM & 2 AM for Irving Maysfield's performance at the Jazz playhouse. Great jazz , very sexy, and a great Burlesque show between midnight & 2 AM. The evening was a highlight of our New Orleans visit for myself and wife. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveMoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta New Orleans, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful remarks regarding the Irvin Mayfield Jazz Playhouse. One of our objectives when we partnered with Mr. Mayfield was to preserve and support one of the cities greatest assets, authentic New Orleans Jazz. We all agreed on two things, one was there would be no cover charge, keeping it accessible to all, and the other was that the Club be "hot and sexy", but still tasteful...based on your comments it sounds like we succeeded. We are happy to share with you the news that Irvin Myfield and the New Orleans Jazz Orchestra just won a Grammy for their album " Book One".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,077 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,956 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#5 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing