We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For French Quarter, so far my best experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
French Quarter Fling
Ranked #21 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For French Quarter, so far my best experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

The front desk and lobby staff (when there) are all very happy and strive hard to make sure you have what you need. (Sometimes after hours it was hard to find anyone)

Typical rooms are a bit smaller than shown on website, and because this is an historic hotel, it lacks many expected business traveler amenities. -- no in room coffee, no fridge, no free wifi.

Room was clean and well made up, but they have a policy to save water based on where you leave towels. Staff just replaced everything - nothing hurts worse than having a policy that your staff don't follow.

The hotel can be a bit noisy when the bars close - from midnight to 3 am, as bourbon street revelers return to roost.

I would have been much happier had some of the staff also been more polite. In PJ's the only place to get coffee in the morning, the lady got my order wrong twice and then complained to her co worker - like I couldn't hear - that she hated customers who changed their orders.... that one event left me frustrated. ( I ordered cafe Au lait, and got mocha something then cappuccino .. this is not rocket science) -- don't make the customer to blame for your incompetence.

Overall, for the FQ, I have stayed at 2 other hotels, and this would be the one I return to - albeit not necessarily for business as it is not up to "modern" standards. For a trip to NO, this is a great location and a good hotel, close to everything you need to be close to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,196
    616
    188
    65
    54
See reviews for
265
908
63
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Great location. Allocated a room on arrival on Bourbon St. But gave us a quieter room at the back upon request. Staff could not do enough for you, very jovial doorman.
Would have been great to have coffee and tea making facilities in room. Had to get dressed to use PJ's in lobby or use room service.
Very comfortable beds and spacious bathroom.
Enjoyable night in the Irvine Mayfield bar listening to jazz.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad to see that you found the location ideal, your guest room quiet and comfortable, and the staff accommodating and friendly. Please note that we do have in-room coffee and coffee makers available upon request. However, we realize we have not communicated that to our guest as clearly as we should. A small sign is being printed for all of the guest rooms, it will be placed on the bathroom counter where the coffee pot would be. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the Royal Sonesta New Orleans.

Dg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

Stayed the weekend of the NFC Championship game (Who Dat!) and could not have been more pleased. Yeah you will get some noise from Bourbon Street at times but what do you expect for its location during a major event. Deluxe rooms provide plenty of space with an ample sized bathroom and nice modern touches in decor. My only negative drawback is the fact rooms have HD LCD TV's yet not HDTV channels to chose from. The video quality isn't very good at all. Hey but who visits N.O. to stay in the room.

First class dining experience in Begue's for Sunday Brunch. Out of this world fresh food selections. Also really liked the addition of PJ's Coffee Shop in the Lobby now. All the staff we encountered was very friendly and courteous.

Look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
What a fantastic weekend you picked to experience the French Quarter. We are glad you found the accommodations at the Royal Sonesta to be spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Just as important we are proud that you mentioned our friendly and courteous staff. We love to share these comments with them. Regarding the HDTV channels, we expect to have HDTV available in all guest rooms by early Summer. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownfield, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Great hotel, great location, on Bourbon St. Right in the heart of the French Quarters !!!

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 17, 2010
We are so glad that you agree with us that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans affords guests one of, if not THE best location in the city. While it is ideal for special events like Mardi Gras it is convenient for business travel as well. The hotel is less than 3 short blocks from the Central Business district. You get the best of everything. Thanks again for posting this wonderful comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel with great staff, comfortable rooms, and within walking distance of everything in the french quarter. Thank you for making my first visit to New Orleans so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Thank you for sharing these wonderful comments with us. We love passing these along to our staff. Hearing positive statements like this from guests make them feel so good about themselves and the job they do. Thanks again for choosing the Royal Sonesta New Orleans. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We got a GREAT deal at the Welcome Center for a room at Royal Sonesta. I visit NOLA often and usually stay at a different hotel, but the rate we got for RS was to difficult to pass up. I was very happy we chose RS. We got a basic room, but it was great. We had a nice view of the courtyard, and the room was a good size. The room and bathroom was very nice. The decor was a strange combination of old school NOLA and modern design, but nothing bad, just not quiet right. Other then that the room was great. The service was very good. Room service excellent. They don't have 24 hour room service but many restaurants in the area will deliver to your room. The location is perfect if you plan to spend your nights on Bourbon. It was very nice to be able to come back and forth to the room. We were there during a VERY cold weekend, so it was perfect to be able to go back to the hotel and warm up.

The only down side to RS is waking UP on Bourbon Street. Seeing Bourbon street first thing in the morning isn't my first choice. So if you are not into staying up late and doing Bourbon, then this may not be the hotel for you.

One more thing we find different at RS is their late check out policy. We wanted a late check out and they told us we could NOT request it until 7 am of the day you want to check out. I ALWAYS request a late check out, and this is the first hotel I have stayed at the has this policy. It was not helpful IMO to have to wake up at 7am, ask for a late check out and then go back to bed. So we just stayed up till 7am, made our request, then went to bed;)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moline, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I highly recommend going to this Hotel on Friday nights between 8 PM & 2 AM for Irving Maysfield's performance at the Jazz playhouse. Great jazz , very sexy, and a great Burlesque show between midnight & 2 AM. The evening was a highlight of our New Orleans visit for myself and wife. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGDDG, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful remarks regarding the Irvin Mayfield Jazz Playhouse. One of our objectives when we partnered with Mr. Mayfield was to preserve and support one of the cities greatest assets, authentic New Orleans Jazz. We all agreed on two things, one was there would be no cover charge, keeping it accessible to all, and the other was that the Club be "hot and sexy", but still tasteful...based on your comments it sounds like we succeeded. We are happy to share with you the news that Irvin Myfield and the New Orleans Jazz Orchestra just won a Grammy for their album " Book One".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.