We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
25% off 2 night Stay
Ranked #33 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. By far the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. The doormen where kind and cheerful. The front desk was knowledgeable about the area. The coffee shop down stairs was nice also. The room was small but comfy. My only negative would be the stiff towels and absent in room coffee pot.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Mrs. McGuire,
Thank you for your delightful comments regarding our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. Please know that we are listening to feedback like yours and will have in-room coffee makers coming next year with the completion of our hotel-wide renovation. Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the city of New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    818
    257
    87
    65
See reviews for
328
1,193
83
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I would have been happy with this room if I had paid $100 less for it. My husband and I took a quick weekend trip to New Orleans and chose this room based on recommends and photos. But our room was nothing like the room pictured (on Expedia) and our experience wasn't like some of these other reviews. This is a Holiday Inn quality room. It's fine. Bed, TV, crappy shower. Nothing bad happened. No problems. It was everything you'd expect from an average chain, but not what we expected and paid more for. We thought we were getting a balcony, but didn't. It looks like there are nice rooms in this hotel...we just didn't get to stay in one.

That said, the location was great if you want to be on Bourbon Street (and we did).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
First, we want to thank you for your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Thank you for taking the time to bring these observations to our attention. Please know that an exciting hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year and will touch each room from top to bottom. With that said we are certain your next visit will be one that your expectations are exceeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Everything was great this time except for some kind of miscommunication between Irvin Mayfields Jazz Lounge and the front desk? I purchased a living social voucher that included a credit to the jazz lounge, and a VIP table. It said to call the extension and make reservations, otherwise seating could not be guaranteed. I had called from home a few days prior and was told that we did not need reservations. Anyway, I called down from the room a couple times and no one answered. I finally walked downstairs and had to hunt someone down to ask. The cocktail waitress that I asked said that they did not take reservations. I showed her the voucher and asked why it said to make a reservation if they did not take reservations. She got flustered and tried to find her manager, but could not find her, so she just left me standing there. Eventually another girl came up and I asked her if she was the manager. She said no, but she used to host so she could help me. I explained the situation and she said that she would reserve one of the vip tables for us. We ended up getting done with dinner fairly quickly, so we came back earlier than expected and I could not find the girl who had helped me. I spoke with who I think was the manager, and she didn't even listen to me when I told her we had reserved a vip table and showed her the voucher, she just sat us at a little table in the middle of the room. Eventually the girl who had reserved my table spotted me, and moved us to our reserved table. It was just bizarre that no one except her seemed to know or care what was going on. Also strange that I was told originally that they did not take reservations, when there were clearly "reserved" signs on a few of the tables. Other than that fiasco, the stay was lovely!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Stacey, we are glad that our Living Social deal gave you the opportunity to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans. We are very sorry for the miscommunication regarding our reservation process in the Jazz Playhouse, and we have brought your issue to the attention of our management team who are working with the staff to ensure this policy is clearer in the future. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our fifth stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans, and, as usual, it fulfilled our expectations of a lovely place. The only problem was that our room was humid, but considering the outside temp and the age of the hotel, it was an expected problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Susan, we greatly appreciate your taking the time to let us know of your lovely stay. We are excited to share with you that a hotel-wide renovation is planned for 2015 and will address each room from top to bottom, including the A/C. We truly value your patronage, and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Overall, my stay was pretty good and I would definitely recommend the hotel to everyone. The Manager on Duty (Mr Long if I did not remember it wrong) on Friday was very helpful.

However, the phone answering skill of the concierge should be improved. I called the hotel on Wednesday trying to have my sister's name added on to my reservation so she could check in for me. Instead of being transferred to the front desk, I was transferred to reservation central. They added 1 more adult to my reservation and somehow changed my rate plan from Travel Pass Reward to Best Available. I had to call back the day after to have that changed. I then called the hotel trying to see how much an authorization for incidentals would be; I got transferred again and instead of to the front desk, straight to reservation. I hung up and called the hotel back again. I asked the lady who answered the phone if this is the front desk; she finally transferred me to where I should have been transferred from the first time before my rate plan got changed. Another note is before transferring me, she never never informed me she would transferred me. After I told her what I wanted, she transferred. She did not even say "My pleasure to connect you", "Let me connect you to who and who to help you", etc. All i know was right after I finished telling her what I want, I got transferred to Reservation. That was when I was not the guest at the hotel yet. That gave me a doubt how my stay would turn out after this kind of service ...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
We are pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I apologize for any inconvenience experienced during your reservation process. Please be assured, it was an isolated incident and not indicative of the manner in which we intend to operate our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel was perfect for a night in New Orleans. Right on bourbon street, clean, quiet, friendly, and very nice, it was refreshing to be able to walk in and out and be in the heart of the French quarter just by going through the doors, or escape the fray of bourbon st. in the comfort of your room or at the poolside bar.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Jake, thank you for your comments on our hospitable service team and relaxing ambiance. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Excellent location and great service. The water pressure could have been better but bathroom was ideal. The hotel is right in the middle of the action. I had the balcony view (Bourbon Street) which I wouldn't not recommend if you are looking for R&R. The streets get busy and loud at night. The city never sleeps; that being said, that is another interesting part that I enjoyed. Something was always going on during all hours of the night no matter the day of the week. I will definitely stay here again and aside from the noise; I would definitely do the balcony view again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Latonya, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. Please know that an exciting hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year and will touch each room from top to bottom, including the plumbing. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#7 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,326 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,589 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt French Quarter
Hyatt French Quarter
#15 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 25 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.