We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Offender ; )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Guest Select Package
Ranked #22 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Repeat Offender ; )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Love this place! I travel to New Orleans annually in July. It is centrally located on Bourbon Street in the middle of all the action, however, once inside the loud craziness of the French Quarter is left on the streets. Rooms are quiet with comfortable beds and frigid air conditioning (which is needed in July). I have stayed in singles, doubles, duplexes and the Governor's suite which is equipped with a huge lounge area and two separate king sized bedrooms, and an extra bathroom. The single and double rooms vary in size depending on where you stay in the hotel- mind you the hotel is HUGE. Overall, the king and double rooms are medium sized. I generally stay in a King sized room around the pool. The rooms around the pool have an additional door which places you outside and within a few feet of the pool. The R club offers an extra touch of luxury. You need a key to get to this floor and they offer free breakfast and lunch daily. The concierge service is amazing- shout out to Russel! The bell men are also willing to help you however they can. Down stairs is Desiree restaurant which serves up a mean poor boy ($$) and Revolution- which has been ranked one of the top restaurants in the country ($$$$). The hotel's room service is reasonable as well ($$). I have stayed here fourteen years and counting- I will be back in 2015.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans has consistently met your expectations for every visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your annual visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    647
    200
    68
    55
See reviews for
285
963
71
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our stay in new Orleans. From the pretty decor to the helpful staff. The concierge were very helpful in recommending restaurants, places to visit and advising us on the remainder of our road trip. I think the guy was called russel who we dealt with.
Breakfast in the hotel is yummy and worth paying out for even if just once.
There is a restaurant called Oceania opposite the hotel which is so good we went back for breakfast the following day. The shrimp is very good!
Hotel is in perfect location and is easy walking distance to everything.
We booked a river trip on Natchez Steam boat and swamp tour through the hotel concierge booking service which I highly recommend.

I would not recommend this hotel for families with young children as there are lots of "adult bars" in a very close distance these did not bother us but more reserved families may have an issue.

I would definitely return to this hotel

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Vikki,reading your review really made our day! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback on our hospitable, attentive staff, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel. Great service. Although the area on Bourbon street can be very loud, hectic- the atmosphere at the hotel was very comfortable and I felt safe the whole time I was there. Pool was great but drinks were expensive. Overall great trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We checked in on a Thursday and left Sunday afternoon. I definitely would say that for us 3 nights came and went really quick. I would definitely come back to this hotel again and spend at least 4 nights for sure. The hotel service and experience was nice. I wish we had a better view from the our window which we weren't really able to look down as it was higher then us to only see above at the buildings. A balcony would have been nice too but we should have asked for it. Otherwise great location on bourbon for all the restaurants and bars left or right. When we first got there we didn't know where to park so we chose the hotel valet parking only to realize its $43 a night. After that we changed it next day since we were tired from the long drive in from San Antonio. There are definitely plenty of options for parking which are literally within 5 mins of walking. We parked in a public garage that was $20 a night. For us everything was within walking distance so we didn't use our car during the stay here. During check out our bill was charged for 3 nights of parking and Curtis the receptionist was Awesome and fixed it immediately. We only got charged for the one day and made it a nice experience. Either way I had the vouchers in the car in case there was an issue with where we did park.

Room Tip: Ask for better view if you need it. You will spend most of your trip outdoors anyway so one less exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Prakash,we greatly appreciate your taking the time out of your day to let us know of your lovely stay and the excellent service you received from Curtis . We truly value your patronage, and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Royal Sonesta creates an oasis of class and distinction in the middle of 'anything goes'. They know how to keep the fun at and above the level you find throughout the Quarter. Highly recommend this venue!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Stephen,reviews like yours are exactly what we strive for! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share this delightful feedback, and we are so pleased that the Royal Sonesta New Orleans was able to meet your expectations. Please revisit us next time you’re in the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

1st time ever at the Royal Sonesta NOLA. Amazing experience. Perfect location on Bourbon street. Hotel is top notch shape, the rooms are newer.. not old New Orleans feeling. Walking distance to everything. Can park your car and never need it again until you check out. Parking is expensive, $39 per day. Stayed on the 3rd floor facing Bourbon St. Nice to be able to look out and people watch, but admittedly was a bit noisy for sleep time... the clubs literally go strong until 3-4 am. Next time probably request "quite side". THe room itself was a bit small.. but considering we didn't spend much time there, it was tolerable. Hotel staff, especially the bell man were extremely helpful and professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mona, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this feedback on all what our property has to offer especially the convenient location close to all the best shopping, restaurants and attractions. . Please know that our management team evaluates our parking rates twice annually to ensure we remain consistent with other covered and secure garages in the area. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here at the Royal Sonesta in August of 2013. The hotel is beautifully appointed. Right in the heart of all the action. Despite that, we had no issues with noise or night time disturbances. The hotel amenities are excellent, the rooms are very nice (if a bit small). The staffing is light though. We waited a long time to speak to the concierge at the service desk. And when we tried to check out, the head bell man tried to do an end around of some kind with a cab down in the parking garage, rather than using the taxi stand out front. Don't be duped on this. Just go to the taxi stand out front. It left a poor taste in our mouth on an otherwise excellent visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shari A, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not better. This is not our normal feedback on the personality of our dedicated team. We appreciate your taking the time to bring these issues to our attention.On your future travels, we hope you will consider one of our Sonesta Collection hotels located throughout the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.