We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Indiana en Provence
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was dubious with the location being right on Bourbon street, but it was *perfect!* Very nice property, expert staff, nice rooms, and outstanding restaurants. Bonus? The pool was a perfect place to get away from the crowds and heat every afternoon. Walkable to everywhere and an oasis in the middle of the French quarter action. We had a really enjoyable stay. However, be prepared: the elevators are very, very slow, so take the stairs or just get into the slower, more relaxed flavor of the Big Easy.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a "quiet room" away from the Bourbon Street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to share this feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience, despite how busy the city was for the special event that weekend. On your next visit, you might consider arriving on a Sunday and staying midweek for a quieter, relaxing experience in the French Quarter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    643
    198
    68
    54
See reviews for
282
957
69
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our first leisure trip to New Orleans. Selecting a hotel in an unknown destination is a gamble. We selected Royal Sonesta based on booking.com and Trip Advisor reviews. The location was perfect and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for deciding to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans on your first visit to the Crescent City and for taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location to everything. Staff was so nice. The room was a little small for me but overall great!
Hot shower with good water pressure. Clean!!! The bed was very comfortable. That was a must since we stayed a week. The A/C was tough enough to keep me cool after hot walks in the quarter. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Cassandra, thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We’re excited to tell you that a hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year and will touch each room from top to bottom, including new A/C units. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We celebrated my 50th birthday there and I have to say the hotel was the best! There were six of us The location was perfect, we could walk anywhere and the canal street car line was a few blocks away, a great way to see all of NOLA!. I have stayed at other hotels in NOLA and will always return to the Sonesta for sure! The hotel staff were exceptional and the hotel was just a little "piece of heaven" You cannot go wrong with the R club and the pool area was an added bonus! Thank you to the hotel staff again for a great birthday!! I am planning another trip soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Theresa, we are honored that you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and took the time to share this delightful feedback. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have met your expectations for such a special occasion. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

In Nola for business and was very surprised that this was a selection under corporate travel board French quarter walking distance to everything and yet easy access to Highway 10 for client meetings. The staff here is very friendly and welcoming and after seeing you once greets you by name...only thing they could improve is having ready access to coffee you have to go downstairs and buy it in the little café :( The bellman the valets the door greeter and the front desk as well as housekeeping have all been very gracious one of the wonderful things about coming to New Orleans is the culture of service looking forward to using this hotel is my homebase for repeat business trips

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Londa, thank you for always choosing to stay at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans and taking the time to share this valuable feedback as a business traveler. Please know that we are listening to feedback like yours and will have in-room coffee makers coming next year with the completion of our hotel-wide renovation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent a few days in NOLA celebrating our son's 21st birthday. We had one Bourbon balcony room and one balcony over the pool. Was a little disappointed with the balcony over Bourbon. It was so narrow I could barely cross my legs when sitting out there having my morning coffee (which we had to purchase down in the little coffee shop in the lobby...no coffee makers in the rooms). No awning so when a pretty bad storm blew in our carpet got soaked! Other than that we had a great time. Every employee from front desk, reservations, maintenance were amazing. The Desire restaurant had friendly oyster shuckers serving nice, big oysters. Overall, a great introduction to NOLA for my son and all his friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are honored that you chose to celebrate your son’s 21st birthday with us and took the time to share this delightful feedback. The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is pleased to have met your expectations for such a special occasion. Please know that we are listening to feedback like yours and will have in-room coffee makers coming next year with the completion of our hotel-wide renovation, which will include new carpet. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We got a really good deal on Priceline for our weekend getaway with our kids. We had just a basic 2 doubles room with a view of the pool. Beds were very comfy and you can't beat the location. The only negatives I have is that for the normal price of their rooms the carpet in our room was very dirty. Within 5 min of my kids taking their shoes off their white socks were black on the bottom which means the carpet hasn't been cleaned good at all. The other negative is that you can't use the luggage cart to bring your own luggage up. It can only be handled by the bell men which are super friendly but then you feel forced to tip them. I'd much rather carry my own luggage. For the $100 a night deal I got I really can't complain but if had paid their normal rate I wouldn't have been so enthused. The hotel lobby I must say is pretty amazing. Well renovated!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Manager at Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Jimmy and Regina, thank you for taking the time to bring these observations to our attention. Please know that an exciting hotel-wide renovation is planned for next year and will touch each room from top to bottom, including new carpet. We hope you that you will give us another try after the renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.