We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Royal Sonesta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Select Package
Ranked #21 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Royal Sonesta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Sonesta during Essence Music Festival. The hotel is centrally located on Bourbon Street and is approximately a 20 minute drive from the airport ($33 for two people in a cab or $20 per person on the shuttle) and about a 15 minute walk from both the Convention Center and the Superdome. The staff was extremely polite and professional and we had no issues during our stay. I suggest asking for a room that faces the back of the hotel or else you’ll be hearing the Bourbon Street crowd throughout your stay – after a certain hour, you have to flash your key to enter the hotel. They have a restaurant on the lobby level called R'Evolution and we had both breakfast and lunch/dinner – both meals were extremely good and the drinks were strong. They also have a PJ’s coffee shop in the lobby – while convenient, it was extremely overpriced and we found ourselves walking the 2 blocks to the CVS on Canal for certain items. As for the guestrooms, they were large and well appointed but the furniture was a little dated. The bathrooms were completely renovated and there were hotel robes for use during our stay. The bed was comfortable and there were large, flat screen TVs in every room. My stay at the Royal Sonesta was comfortable and I’d recommend it if you don’t mind the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,236
    623
    195
    67
    54
See reviews for
272
934
65
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

When we arrived in anew Orleans we did not realise there was a festival on it was manic outside.
Although busy inside it was calm, clean and the service was excellent. We had asked for a quiet room which was what we got. The room was spacious and comfortable.the pillows were so comfortable we could have taken them home. The bed was large and also very comfortable. You would not know how busy it was outside until you ventured out of the hotel. The jazz in the play house was excellent..
I would recommended this hotel to any one who is staying in New Orleans but check for festivals as the front rooms of the hotel are right where the action is.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is right on Bourbon Street there are rooms at the back although no view you get peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here while attending a show at the convention center. The large business hotels on Canal are fine, but staying here cuts a few blocks off of the sometimes shady walk from the French Quarter to your hotel at the end of the night.

We had rooms on the club floor and did not hear any street noise whatsoever. The complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour were done nicely and the lounge was never crowded.

The public areas were very nice in the hotel and the doormen and security guard really keep Bourbon street outside. It was nice always having a cab ready for us outside as well.

The only disappointment was the restaurant located on the corner of the hotel. It was very average bordering on a tourist trap and the service was slow and distracted.

Aside from this we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited in mid-May and felt our hotel had both good and bad qualities.

We did get the opportunity to stay on the 3rd floor which had a view of the courtyard and the pool. Several staff members had mentioned that it was the only floor that had been renovated. We were greeted by great staff (doorman and valet) and they actually did a much better job for recommendations than the grumpy man at the concierge desk who we gave up on after two attempts for assistance.

Negatives first: We did not enjoy the "great location" on Bourbon Street. My husband was actually punched in the arm by a vagrant that was wandering around inside the hotel lobby, begging for money. This was early in the evening (around 5:30 pm) and it proved that the security was quite light. Even in the later part of the evening, anyone could have access to the elevators leading up to rooms. I would not recommend the location for families since it was very close to strip clubs and even in the afternoon, there were almost naked women in most of their door fronts trying to get patrons inside...... Perhaps there are less raunchy parts of Bourbon to stay on?? Better yet, perhaps our next visit will be one or two blocks off the main drag. Not a prude but I really hated that street. Guess I'm not 21 anymore!

Room was small but comfortable, especially for the short amount of time we stayed in the room.
Housekeeping seemed understaffed or way behind and we actually did not get our room cleaned one day because they didn't get there till quite late and we were already back from our day filled with activities.

Positives: Thought Mayfield's was great and it certainly was convenient. Pool was nice but a bit overcrowded on the weekend. Hotel was close to 2 excellent restaurants; GW Fins and Redfish Grill. We went to GW Fins twice (if interested, make reservations at least a month in advance...very popular) .

Things we did: Took an almost all day walking tour with Tree Tree. Great day and met some wonderful people. He does provide walking sticks that convert to chairs which was nice. It was a garden district tour, followed by a memorable lunch at Commanders Palace where our group was treated like royalty. Also did a nice walking tour with another agent that was focused on music. Went down to Frenchmen Street and loved the clubs down there.... much better scene than Bourbon. If you do decide to stay on Bourbon, try Fritzels! Great small club for music. We also did the Preservation Hall and would recommend ordering the VIP tickets in advance on their website. It allows you to avoid the line outside that people queue up for an hour or so before each show, as well as provides reserved seats (only 8 seats per night) Well worth the $30 each we spent. PS> Ignore the people standing in line, telling you that you have to queue. VIP tickets allow you in first, most people didn't seem to know that you could order on line... it was a bit awkward since some of the people in line seemed mad.

Room Tip: Request renovated floor and ask for a corner unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Reasonable price , very nice hotel right on bourbon street. Got the whole New Orleans experience right there at the hotel ; jazz club, courtyard, art , old architecture, doormen in fancy outfit .Bourbon street right outside the front door, which could be a bad thing if you want peace and quiet because they party all night right outside in the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okla.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

2nd time @ Royal Sonesta June 2-5 2013. Had a great time and hotel was great as the first time.
Jazz Club in Hotel was great and relaxing. Great staff that treats you like you come every weekend. Nice relaxing pool, free wifi at the pool and in all areas. $35. cab ride for 2 adults to the Royay from the Airport. Perfect relaxing trip.

Room Tip: $35 from airpost Cab, Cafe Bigniet right across the street for bignets and coffee in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful people and hotel!!! When we first walked in there was this huge floral arrangement in the lobby. **There is a restaurant/ bar in the lobby.** The room service was wonderful and arrived in a decent time. **The location was perfect walking distant to the casino to the left and down town bars to the right!! ***Bedroom and Bathroom were very clean. ***There is a coffee shop also in the Lobby. Stayed in March and it was VERY COLD. But that didn't stop us from going out and enjoying NO.
Now it is a little costly but no different than going to Myrtle Beach hotels.

Room Tip: There are not many floors so the view is the same if you stay on the front side may be more music vo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.