We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Auburn, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you want to stay right in the midst of the action, stay here. Located right on Bourbon Street, you are within walking distance of all the "musts" of the French Quarter. This hotel is elegant and beautifully decorated. The rooms are comfortable and clean. At least once in your life, you should stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    688
    218
    72
    56
See reviews for
292
1,010
75
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked a room on the inner courtyard with a view of and access to the pool. Very happy with the room. It was spacious, clean, quiet and had everything we needed. The King bed was very comfy and air conditioning worked like a charm. Loved the direct access to the pool and pool bar! Hotel is a beautiful example of the spanish architecture for which the city is known and service was excellent - southern hospitality at its finest. We got breakfast from the coffee shop one morning and ate in the courtyard surrounded by tropical plants and a surprise collection of orchids. Our only regret was that we couldn't get into restaurant Revolution - we hadn't made reservations- and the jazz lounge was always full. However, hotel is located within easy walking distance to just about anywhere you want to go and you will want to walk the Quarter to experience all of its delights. The French quarter is very diverse and has areas of interest for everyone. For those who want to travel farther afield, the streetcar/bus lines are only a couple of blocks away on Canal and cabs are always outside the hotel front entrance. Of special note - there is a computer in the front lobby specifically designated for printing your boarding passes. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel located on Bourbon Street. I read other reviews about the noise off the Bourbon Street and it being a problem for some. Our room overlooked Bourbon St. and the neither one of us were affected by us. The front desk even warned us when we checked in just in case we wanted to change. It is less than a 10 minute walk to anywhere you want to go. It is perfect for the fact you can get up in the morning go do your thing come back rest up and go out agian that day and it does not take up time out of trip going back and forth. Could not be more pleased will stay here agian as a 1st choice. The only draw back is that there a couple of Nude Bars across the street so that could be hard to explain if you have kids and they ask.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper ask for a room with the Garden/pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have two dogs, one med. and one small. The staff was so wonderful, service was great, and everything was no problem. The room was beautiful, the balcony view was of the The Musical Legends Park across the street with the live music starting around noon until midnight!!! Loved It!!! This was a wonderful experience, especially with two dogs, it helps so much when the staff is the wonderful.

Room Tip: Bourbon Street Balcony is where it's at!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa Ontario
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to a travel show and were told that Bourbon Street was very raunchy so we were a bit afraid but this is where I wanted to stay and of course, as always, checked reviews for this hotel. Most of the reviews said to pick a room away from the ground level as it can be quite noisy as Bourbon Street closes at 6:00 p.m. to cars. At registration, I mentioned this and she put us on the 5th floor and told us, if this was not satisfactory check with the desk and we will be located somewhere else. The room was just fine. All we heard were people coming back to their rooms which were acceptable. The room was very nice and quite roomy for us. We would go for breakfast and then when we got back it was cleaned already.
Bourbon Street closes down at 6:00 p.m. so no cars. I took a peak out after 10:00 p.m. and it was just full of people. Lights flashing everything. Music is heard in all directions.
We ate/drank at all the restaurants in this hotel----Desire, R’evolution, Irvin Mayfield’s Jazz Playhouse, Le Booze and PJ’s Coffee Café.
We truly had a great time in New Orleans. This hotel is in a great location. Just two blocks from Canal Street and getting around was easy so glad things are getting back to normal for this wonderful city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was disappointed with my stay at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in New Orleans. Let me start off by saying the Staff was great! Courteous and helpful. The accommodations not so much. The door to room stuck difficult opening and closing it with out slamming or shoving it. The bathroom door would not close properly either. The pillows and bed were too soft and mushy. The cable was horrible the TV would just stall out as we were watching different channels and programs during our stay. And we did appreciate how quiet it was in our room, but were very disappointed by the view of an alley and brick wall. The parking was too expensive..40 a day...36 for overnight guest...but no advance warning of this additional expense.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the ambiance of Bourbon St ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here last August for my birthday in a room we booked on Priceline. Apparently there's rooms set aside specifically for Priceline, Hotwire, and other bidding/budget sites and those rooms definitely reflect the amount you pay. It's really not worth it, unless you just need location, to bother with those rooms. There was only one bed, the window was above our head, etc.

Immediately we went downstairs to see what we could change. We upgraded the room to an R-Club level for an additional $75, which gave us access to the R-Club Lounge (free drinks and hors d'oeurves at any time!). They have a nice little balcony and an iMac for your use.

The room itself was much better, the bed was nice, but my favorite thing was the Bvlgari bath products. They're an upgrade from what you get in a normal room (pretty sure it's good stuff in those rooms, too), but they smelled phenomenal.

I am a little annoyed that we paid to park, though - apparently free parking was included in the R-Club deal, but no one bothered to tell us, not even as we were purchasing it. We parked really far out of the way as well (in August, this kind of matters here!)...other than that, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#17 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.