We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a quiet room unless you plan on staying up all night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Select Package
Ranked #21 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ask for a quiet room unless you plan on staying up all night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we checked in our room faced Bourbon St and at 3pm the whole room shook from the loud music on the street. We asked for a room change to a "quiet" room and we were immediately moved to a nice room on the 4th floor away from the street noise. I can only imagine how our stay might have been had we not changed our room. The room was decent and clean and bed was comfortable. You could still hear hallway noise and loud rude drunk people coming back at all hours into the morning but, hey, who goes to NO expecting something different? The hotel has a decent restaurant for breakfast. We didn't try it for dinner but there was always a crowd. The bar has a nice live jazz band every night. There's a PJs coffee shop for light bite. Nice pool on the 3rd floor but not a great amount of seating.
Location was great in the heart of the French Quarter on Bourbon St. In walking distance to many places so we never took a cab until we headed to the airport. The concierge was helpful with directing us to the Jazz Fest shuttles and other info.
We would stay here again if we return to New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,249
    631
    197
    67
    54
See reviews for
275
944
67
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed two nights, in two parlor rooms. We booked through Priceline and somehow they had a record of our reservation but did not have any rooms for us. They were full except for parlors (very nice sitting rooms without beds). They brought in roll away beds (they were surprisingly comfortable). Our two westies had to walk about 4 blocks to get to any grass to do their business. The staff was helpful and accommodating to our pets. One of our rooms was on Bourbon street and it was loud on Saturday night, the other room was on the inside court yard and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed here for 5 days during Jazz Fest. We couldn't have picked a better location. We went out every night on Bourbon Street and it was SO good to be right near our hotel- especially if we were drinking, or if we had to run up to our room for something, we were RIGHT there. A HUGE plus. The hotel is close to everything, Royal St, Jackson Square, it was perfect. The hotel was beautiful. They have a coffee shop in the hotel- coffee, tea, muffins... the restaurant In the hotel is fantastic. They have the best oysters- The bar/jazz club is nice. They have jazz bands or singers in there. Fri and Sat they stay open really late. The pool is nice as well. We sat outside and had drinks. ( they make good bloody Mary's!) We saw people eating breakfast out by the pool too. The rooms were very clean, bathrooms on the smaller side, but I mostly cared that they were VERY clean... the whole room was spotless ( Im very picky about a clean hotel room) the bed was very comfortable. Our room overlooked Bourbon St. I read other reviews and others said it was noisy to overlook Bourbon. I didnt feel that way at all. Perfectly fine. Not too noisy.... although, we were dead tired after full days at Jazz Fest in the hot sun and going out on Bourbon St at night! The workers at the hotel were great. Everyone so nice. I especially liked Melvin, the security man at the door. So nice. Overall, I would say DEFINATELY stay here. Yes, you can find other places that would be cheaper? But honestly, this was perfect. Well worth it to be close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I recently spent a couple days at the Royal Sonesta New Orleans for a business conference and throughly enjoyed it. The rooms are small (at least mine was), which is to be expected in a hotel of this age. But the room was nicely furnished, very clean and comfortable. You couldn't ask for a better location either, being right on Bourban Street! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed many nights in the Sonesta during the 1970's.
At that time it was by far the best hotel in New Orleans with the best food. The brunch was marvelous.
I stayed mostly on the executive floor facing the patio. This way I never had sleeping problems from the Bourbon Street noise. The service was impeccable and the staff was very friendly and cooperative.
If I ever go back to New Orleans it will be to the Royal Sonbesta.

Room Tip: If the executive floor still exists take a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but visited the Irvin Mayfields Jazz Playhouse several times during my time in New Orleans.
The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer as we were greeted at the hotel door and directed to the Playhouse. Once seated, the wait staff were equally pleasant and courteous. The venue is intimate and classy.
The crab cake appetizer was the best I found and they have a nice selection of beers to enjoy while listening to fantastic music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice place on Bourbon Street. Perfect location, valet parking in the basement. Friendly staff. The room I had was small but well organized. Do not use the hotel breakfast restaurant, slow service and very expensive. Plenty of options are available.
Try to get a room that is not facing Bourbon street if you want to sleep...

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#15 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is an Authentic New Orleans Experience located in the heart of the French Quarter on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 500-room hotel features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.