We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but worth it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta New Orleans to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% off two nights
Ranked #33 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced but worth it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am a local and booked a room on the Concierge Floor for me and my 16 year old niece and her friend who were visiting from California. Although the room was small, we did enjoy the jacuzzi and wi-fi. The rooms were always clean and the staff very helpful.

One of the beds was not comfortable, although management contacted me after my stay to apologize and assure me that the beds were new and that it was probably the box springs that were bad. Whatever. I've stayed in countless hotels all over the world and at my age, know a bad bed when I sleep in one. I guess at over $300/night, I expected a quality bed, although the duvet, linen and pillows were almost equal to what I have at home.

I have found in my travels that by paying a little extra for the RClub room, I actually save money because breakfast and cocktail hour appetizers are always included on a concierge floor. The wine and liquor at the Sonesta was definitely not top shelf but it was passable. Being from New Orleans, I'm somewhat of a snob about food but was pleasantly surprised that the food was very good.

My main complaint, especially having two 16 year olds with me, was that the pool closed too early. I was told that it closed early because the noise would disturb guests with a pool-side balcony but it make little sense to close the pool at dusk(!) in August, no less. A reasonable hour, such as 9PM should be the cutoff.

In summary, the Sonesta is all about location, location, location but the concierge floor was definitely a plus. I would warn tourists to stay off of Canal Street after dark (and Rampart Street for that matter) and to be careful in the first couple of hundred blocks of Bourbon, where for some reason thugs like to gather late at night. Other than that, if you stay aware and keep on the populated streets, your stay should be safe and fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EileenNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

your staff, especially, Katherine Jolivette, Russell (Concierge) & Jessica, were OUTSTANDING, but they've always been which is why I do all my TV, radio, media interviews from the Royal Sonesta when I'm in town for the Super Bowl or the Final 4 in College Basketbal etc. also I plugged (not that it needs it) the Royal Sonesta in my Super Bowl column in the Sunday, Feb. 3, 2013 Super Bowl Column in the Times Picayune, which I'm sure can be found on it's website: Nola.com.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for the 4th time on January 20, 2013. We drove down for the night since my husband and I were both off of work for the MLK holiday on 1/21. We love staying at this hotel due to the location. It's right in the thick of things being right on Bourbon. Upon check in, we were asked if we would like to upgrade our room to a balcony room, and were offered the option of a Bourbon Street balcony or interior balcony overlooking the pool. Of course we chose Bourbon Street!! The noice level was not bad at all. We were able to sleep just fine. PJs Coffee has some wonderful snacks/sandwiches/breakfast items, and several made to order coffee creations. the beds are awesome and while the hotel itself is a little dated, the cleaniliness and excellent service make up for it. I enjoy seeing the fresh flower arrangements in the lobby. WHen staying here, you truly feel like a guest and that everyone's mission is to help you enjoy your stay. We ate at the Desire for the first time, and had a half shrimp/half oyster po-boy. It was right on par for other restaurants in the quarter. Make sure you stay here on your next trip to NOLA. We'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okla.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Royal was great. Right in the middle of the action. Benies were great right across the street at the outdoor Jazz resturant. The Royal Sonesta was clean and updated for Bourbon street. Nice time walking up to Canal and seeing the parades. Good Jazz bar in the Royal. Will defiastly stay here again. First time to NOLA but wont be the last. Large Coffee brought up from room serv in 10 minutes in the mornings for $20. Great time very nice hotel. They moved us to a Bourbon view when we asked. Noise not too bad as some reviews state. Slept fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a Burbon view and if its too loud ask to move. Hotel is very accomadating
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warmdesertrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a Fantastic Trp to New Orleans - the accomodations at the Royal Sonesta (right in the French Quarter on Bourbon St) were Top Shelf. The entire Staff at the hotel were so very Welcoming, Friendly and Professional during our entire stay. From the time we checked in until we (regretfully) departed, we were treated wonderfully -Laura at the Front Desk was just Great as was Ashley! Dan, Cheri & Kristin in the R Club were Super ! We took full advantage of their great Oyster Bar (Desire), enjoyed a very delicious meal for our anniversary at their upscale resturant (Revolutions) and were delighted by the sensational Jazz singer Germaine Bazzle in the on-site Irvin Mayfield Jazz Playhouse.
Would definitley stay at the Royal Sonesta the next time we go to New Orleans !!

Room Tip: Try the R Club - great value for the rooms, service & convinience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Loved this hotel: great service, comfortable beds, good room layout, great bathroom & conveniently located. Best of all is a whole floor for smoking rooms and a huge balcony for sitting outside with morning coffee...it faced inside rather than Bourbon Street, so was very peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you want to live the life and you can keep up with the action then New Orleans is the place to be! Everything about this City is just amazing, the multiple choices of food,the many varied attractions and the super weather plus the night life.And everyone here is so friendly in what must be the most laid back atmosphere anywhere in the U.S.A. All you need to top it off is the comfort and service of a superb hotel and you will find exactly that at the Royal Sonesta. Situated on Bourbon Street right in the centre of the French Quarter you will find first class professional service in every department.The rooms are comfortable and spacious and many overlook the open air swimming pool and pool bar.There is also a pretty courtyard garden, a good coffee shop,the Oyster Bar restaurant and Le Booze bar where you can sit and watch the world go by while sipping your favourite cocktail.All the staff here genuinely believe the customer is king and will bend over backwards to ensure your holiday is an enjoyable one. There is a saying here that" New Orleans calls you back". It certainly does and you will want to return time and again - and you will want to stay at the Royal Sonesta!

Room Tip: Central rooms overlooking the pool are mostly away from the noise in Bourbon Street at night and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,255 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,075 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,955 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#5 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Address: 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta New Orleans is the most Authentic French Quarter Experience located on world famous Bourbon Street, within steps of world-famous restaurants, antique shops, and premier tourist attractions. A landmark in New Orleans since 1969, its atmosphere reflects a strong European influence and Southern charm, with its elegant marbled lobby, tranquil fountains and sparkling chandeliers. The 483 room hotel including 36 suites features a secluded tropical courtyard, a beautifully landscaped outdoor pool, fitness center and five unique restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Sonesta New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Royal Sonesta
New Orleans Sonesta Hotel
Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing